We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Benson Hotel

Show Prices
#19 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Benson Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,933 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Benson Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,897: English reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Pros: Architecturally very pretty hotel. Rooms comfortable. Bathrooms a little awkward, but clean and well-appointed with towels and toiletries. Our interaction with staff esp. Jennifer in the bar/restaurant area was very pleasant and helpful, as was the concierge service. Cons: Hotel alarm went off three of the four nights we were there. We were told by the desk that they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica B
Macon, Georgia
Reviewed 21 July 2015

If you want to stay in an affordable luxurious hotel in the heart of Portland, the Benson is for you. I have absolutely nothing negative to say about the hotel. The décor is superb, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful, this hotel is like a castle ! The rooms are very clean, their lobby has a fresh cucumber water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smokymtman80
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at The Benson. We are glad that you enjoyed our amenities, central location, and dining options during your recent stay. Thank you for the glowing 5 star review.

Seattle
Reviewed 18 July 2015

After bicycling 206 miles from Seattle to Portland (the one day STP), my husband and I arrived at the hotel tired and sweaty. It was wonderful to be welcomed and assisted by gracious and efficient hotel staff. They anticipated our needs by taking/storing our bike and checking us in promptly (with a room upgrade!). During our two night stay, all...

Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valerie G
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the 5 star review. We are pleased to see that you and your husband received a warm Benson welcome. It is great to see that our team was able to accommodate your bikes. We hope that you will stay with us again soon!

Arizona
Reviewed 16 July 2015

We stayed at the Benson Hotel for 8 nights in June. Our room was on the 10th floor and was very quiet and comfortable. My only complaint was the bathroom. The shower head was placed about 7 feet up and had a wide low drip shower head. It took forever for me to get shampoo rinsed out of my hair!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CO92
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed a quiet and comfortable stay. We are disappointed that you were unhappy with the bathroom but anticipate including those areas in our upcoming renovation. We appreciate your comments. Thank you for choosing The Benson.

Gold River, California
Reviewed 16 July 2015

We had an excellent stay here over the 4th of July weekend. The hotel is a classic; beautifully restored and well maintained. Friendly and professional staff. Tom the Concierge was a terrific help to us. This will now be our go-to hotel in Portland.

Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank normp452
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review

We are thrilled that you enjoyed a holiday weekend stay at The Benson. It is great to see that you found our staff both friendly and professional. Tom is an asset to our team and will be sure to pass the compliments to him. Thank you for the 5 star review.

Scottsdale
Reviewed 16 July 2015

I LOVE the hotel - BUT three of the five nights I stayed there last week I was awakened by the fire alarm between 2am and 4:30am and it continued to blare unabated or with intermittent announcements to "stand by while we determine the cause of the alarm and for next instructions". Really? Once is a surprise, Twice is a...

Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank denisel79
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review

We apologize that the alarms caused a significant disruption during your recent stay. We would welcome an opportunity to discuss your stay in more detail offline. Thank you for your comments..

Abbotsford, Canada
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Stayed here for one night but wish we could have stayed longer. Upon check in I received a complimentary upgrade to a Presidential Suite. This suite was amazing with a separate bedroom, powder room, sitting area and dining area plus a work area. The ensuite has a beautiful soaker tub and double shower. The front desk staff were friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holidaygirlyxx
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the 5 star review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our Presidential Suite and that our friendly staff made your stay more enjoyable.

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Wonderful old hotel that has been beautifully maintained. The staff was very attentive. The lobby bar and restaurant had good food and good service as well. The location is super, within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, bars and many other things. The room was clean and the bed was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bartinmi
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to see that our attentive staff, central downtown location and dining options made your stay more enjoyable

Vancouver
Reviewed 16 July 2015

We were very happy with the service. The location is in the heart of the city centre. Perfect for dining, walking & shopping. Great customer service and they happily offered us a room upgrade when there was a problem with our bathroom sink. This was within 5 mins of checking in.

Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank danielfO5759DW
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are happy to see that our team promptly addressed the issue and that they could provide new accommodations. We appreciate the 5 star review!

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile

We had the opportunity to stay at the Benson this past Spring Break. It was wonderful. I would recommend the Benson Hotel to anyone looking for old Portland charm in the best location. My husband and I love their restaurant El Gaucho and we had dinner there after having drinks in the hotel lobby. Thanks for your attention to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank timbersgal
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad that you and your husband enjoyed your time spent at The Benson and that you found our historic property charming during your spring break stay. Thank you for the 5 star review.

964 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (337)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (90)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (100)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (614)
Viewed
Amenities (64)
Viewed
Classic Room with Queen Bed (50)
Viewed
Deluxe Room with King Bed (49)
Viewed
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds (58)
Viewed
Executive Room (60)
Viewed
Junior Suite (53)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (66)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (66)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
The Hotel (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 138 in Portland
1,298 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 138 in Portland
1,231 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 138 in Portland
1,629 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#26 of 138 in Portland
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3794
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Price Range: ₹ 13,013 - ₹ 23,813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#15 Family Hotel in Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Benson Hotel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Bend, Oregon
over a year ago
Seattle, Washington
over a year ago
Domme, France
16 days ago
Seattle, Washington

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Benson Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I asked for no special location... my room was delightful. I'd trust the team at The Benson!”
 of 5 bubbles 2beans2000, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in 723. Room was comfortable, but the thermostat/fan was horrible. We like air circulating when we sleep and even though the unit had LOW, MED and HIGH for the fan...no matter which setting we had it on, nothing changed. We even set the temperature to 65 degrees and it never really did anything. We called and Maintenance came (very quickly, kudos for that!!) and he did test the temp that was coming out of vent and it was correct. Just no real air was being pushed out. We ended up sleeping withe window open, which was ok, but was quite noisy with city life. Would have preferred window closed and fan working. Everything else was great! Apparently they are upgrading units in rooms and haven't gotten to the 7th floor yet. Heard the 3rd or 4th floor is done.”
 of 5 bubbles 663kristin, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The corner junior suite provided excellent views!”
 of 5 bubbles denningj2014, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Corner rooms are large and comfy.”
 of 5 bubbles LuannMC, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Remodeled rooms are a must”
 of 5 bubbles normanp28, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5