Shilo Inns Rose Garden

Shilo Inns Rose Garden

Traveller (49)
Room & Suite (30)
the breakfast area
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#10 of 26 motels in Portland
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value

See why so many travellers make Shilo Inn Rose Garden their motel of choice when visiting Portland. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a refrigerator and air conditioning, and you can stay connected during your stay as Shilo Inn Rose Garden offers guests free wifi.

The motel features 24 hour front desk. Plus, Shilo Inn Rose Garden offers free breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Portland, Shilo Inn Rose Garden is located a short distance from Portland Center Stage at The Armory (1.1 mi) and Pioneer Courthouse Square (1.3 mi).

While visiting Portland, you may want to try some shrimp at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Pok Pok Restaurant, Gracie's, or Red Onion Thai Cuisine.

Portland is also known for some great state parks, including Tryon Creek State Natural Area and John B. Yeon State Scenic Corridor, which are not too far from Shilo Inn Rose Garden.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Shilo Inn Rose Garden as you experience all of the things Portland has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Vending machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family

Location

1506 NE 2nd Ave, Portland, OR 97232-1133
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 75 out of 100
75
Portland Intl Airport
Union Station
15 min
263Reviews3Q+A43Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 44
  • 86
  • 60
  • 42
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Trisha D wrote a review Jun 2023
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent a night here recently. I booked the room without reading previous reviews. I expected a Shiloh in to represent the brand honorably, but was disappointed. The lobby was not accessible, instead you stood outside and took care of the transaction through a window. The hallway was dingy, and upon entering the room found the furniture was dated and scratched. Found the bathroom to be small and towels the size of a postage stamp.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
m.glenn wrote a review Sept 2006
lincoln city oregon
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I just stayed at the Shilo Rose Garden for 3 nights. We have stayed in many hotels in Portland over the years and this ranks high up on satisfaction for many reasons. It is not perfect but a great location and great rate offset the few small things that bothered me. We stayed on the second floor and yes there is no elevator. If that bothers you then stay on the first floor. Our room was 203 which was smaller than I would have liked only because the bed was so large. We had a king bed and it had to be the biggest king bed that I have ever seen. It was firm without being hard as a rock and the sheets were clean and soft. The television was a flat screen and Showtime was the cable movie network along with the usual small smattering of cable basic channels (my pet peeve with most hotels is that they dont give enough televison channels). Free internet in the room was appreciated at the nice desk provided with great lighting. There was a microwave, a nice refrigerator and coffee pot in the room. The bathroom is way too small and almost impossible to use. You cannot close the door without almost stepping into the shower. Bad design. However the shower head is wonderful with good steady hot water even if it is wayyyy too high for someone who is barely over 5 feet tall to adjust. The shower is lined with granite and marble and the ammenities for soap, shower gel, conditioner, shampoo and mouthwash are way above standard issue. USA Today is offered free of charge in the small but servicable lobby. The people behind the desk are amazingly friendly and knowledgible about places to go to and how to get there. Second pet peeve with most hotels and this one as well is the early hour that continental breakfast is over. Before 9 am is just too early for us to be dressed and out of the room most of the time we are on a trip. The breakfast is basic with canned juice (quite good actually) and small muffins and a few cereals. No waffles or places to do toast or bagels so it falls down on the job compared to other hotel chains here. The Shilo Rose Garden is in a tucked away location right next to the Holiday Inn and mapquest was correct in routing us there from our home location. It is very easy to get over the river to downtown from the Shilo. It was extremely quiet and quite comfortable overall. The rate was below $100 a night which is a rarity for Portland. We will stay there again if the rate stays the same.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2006
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rekerdguy wrote a review Oct 2005
Indianapolis, IN
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed six nights in September of 2005. The room was small, but extremely clean and tastefully decorated. The staff was friendly and the location was perfect for us. It's easy access to anywhere in Portland or Vancouver. No charge for high speed internet or parking, either. What's not to like? We'll be back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2005
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
queensusie1227 wrote a review Mar 2022
Medford, Oregon
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Worst hotel i have ever stayed in. Furniture is so scratched walls banged up. Paint foot prints on flooring. Fridge not level. I was afraid it was going to fall out of the cabinet. Tile broken in bathroom by the toilet. Bed squeezed. The check in was very unprofessional. He was wearing sweats and smoking outside. We had to stand outside in the cold to be checked in. We weren't allowed in the lobby. I am praying the bed has no germs.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't stay here if you want clean.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
golfpmac wrote a review May 2021
Spokane, Washington
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose this hotel because of location and we could bring our dog. It was the worst hotel we ever stayed at! The sheets were stained. It is so disgusting and run-down! Getting into the toilet / shower part of the bathroom requires you to straddle the toilet. Just a horrible place!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Don't stay here!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SanDiegoLisa wrote a review Oct 2005
San Diego, CA
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I just returned from a five-night stay at the Shilo Inn - Garden Quarter. We stayed here based on previous reviews and would agree with all the information that was offered. In addition to the complimentary breakfast, parking, cable t.v., high-speed internet connection, friendly staff, etc, there were small touches that we took note of that added to our experience...

Regarding the rooms...a seperate vanity area (with sink) from the (small) enclosed toilet/shower room was great for two people to get ready at the same time. Plastic-wrapped glasses placed in a built-in vanity-area shelf increased the sense of "cleanliness" in room accomodations. And, even a movable peephole cover on the door provided an extra feeling of safety and security once safely tucked away inside for the night. I would absolutely agree about the newly redecorated rooms, including a nicely-sized work station with comfortable chair, and large sofa in the same material.

The rooms on the "traffic side" of the hotel were relatively quiet for a metropolitan city, and any noise was quickly drowned out by turning on the room fan. It was much quietier than I would assume staying directly downtown would be! And, the room doors, well, they are as loud as any hotel when people let them freely slam, but can be closed quietly with minimal effort (sorry...my pet peeve!).

Regarding the staff...we arrived mid-morning on a Saturday and were just hoping to store our bags, since we had not yet rented a car, until we could check in. To our happy surprise, the clerk offerred that they had a room available, one that we had requested, and checked us in right away...at 10:00 am. We brought our things to our room and set off on our day in Portland...it was very nice.

Regarding the location...I must admit when I first "rolled up" to the hotel with my luggage (after taking the MAX from the airport), I was a little concerned about the location of the hotel and what may be inside of this little two-story building, between a high-rise retirement building, a dental building, and next door to a 7-Eleven. But, once I went inside, met the staff, and saw our room, my worries were quickly gone. Over the five nights we were there, we began to feel a part of the neighborhood, taking the MAX to and from town (after a quick five-minute/three-block walk to the station), returning to rest in the late afternoon, and then visiting one of the chain restaurants (Red Robin, Denny's, Burgerville, Starbucks) adjacent to the MAX station if we didn't feel up to going into town or the rain was too heavy to walk the streets of downtown for dinner.

The only semi-negative experience we had was, for some reason, our room keys needed to be reset every day. After being frustrated the first few days, we just incorporated the walk by the front desk for the 20-second reset into our routine each afternoon. We never figured out if we were doing something or if it was just the sesitivity of the hotel system, but nevertheless, it was only a small inconvenience compared to our overall experience.

I would stay here again and recommed it to travelers like us...people who like to be close enough to the sites and public transportation, but also like to feel like a short-term resident of the city for an affordable price, with high value, in a safe and easily accessible location.

Thanks to all the previous reviews and recommendations. It made for a wonderful stay in Portland!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2005
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Danceteamm wrote a review Mar 2015
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the shilo rose garden location for a dance competition my daughter was in. Housekeeping came in to clean the room, and went through our bags. They took all of my daughters team makeup, brushes, eyelashes, as well as my makeup. The hotel did not seem surprised when notified. Warning..do not stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
allison c wrote a review Dec 2014
Joseph, Oregon
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I've stayed in this Portland hotel before. It's excellent location, reasonable rates and comfortable rooms brought me back, this time with husband. I was reading him the reviews on Expedia and a few were complaining of poor customer service and one out and out accused staff of stealing, most other reviews, however, were very positive and she nice my last experience was a good one, we decided to book two nights. The customer service upon check-in was excellent. We spent an uneventful night and left our room the next day with the "Privacy Please" sign out since we did not need any house-cleaning (and because I was slightly skeptical about the theft charges). We got back late in the evening and I was really disappointed to see that indeed someone did snoop through our stuff. When we left in the morning, I placed my toothbrush and toothpaste crosswise on my toiletry bag, even taking a photo of exact placement. Sure enough, when we got back, things had definitely been moved. I think this is horrible!! Nothing was missing, but the thought that someone came in and took a look at our stuff makes me sick. Perhaps this is typical and I'm being naive, but we will not stay here again due to this. We left a tip for the housekeeper, as we always do, but with a note that said we did not appreciate the snooping.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inns Rose Garden
Responded 23 Dec 2014
Dear Allison C, Thank you for your review and for being a valued Shilo guest. I sincerely apologize that your room was checked when you had your privacy sign posted. I have reviewed this with the Executive Housekeeper and she also extends her apology for the inconvenience. Sincerely, G. Sorrels-General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bob W wrote a review Jun 2014
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the 6th time I’ve stayed here. On my previous visits I might have given it as much as 3 stars, but for my most recent visit, no matter how deep I dredge, I can find absolutely nothing positive to say. I made my reservation 9 days in advance and I arrived at 3:30 on a Friday afternoon. J*** and a spacey blonde girl at the front desk told me there were no rooms ready yet, so I sat in the lobby to wait. During my wait, five other people walked into the door and checked in and they were all given their rooms in a timely fashion, three of them were walk-ins without reservations. I got up and walked to the front desk while the 3rd person was checking in and was told to wait because “I’m busy checking in Mr. *****”. After this I was then told again that there were still no rooms ready yet, after they had just checked-in 5 other guests. At around 4:45 I was finally able to complete the check-in so I could get into the room I had reserved.

This is how I would characterize the way the blonde girl and J*** acted toward me: arrogant; self-important; surely; antagonistic; very rude; and absolutely lacking in any type of customer service skills. I will also add that the 5 other guests that were allowed to check-in ahead of me while I was arbitrarily assigned to the penalty box were all anglos and I definitely am not. I would prefer not to think that race played any part in the degrading manner in which I was treated. If I was not feeling ill due to a medical condition that I traveling to Portland for treatment, I would have left well before the blonde girl and the other miscreant could have inflicted this much torment on me. I’ve traveled around the world 3 times and have stayed in every conceivable type of place you could imagine in Asian and European countries, but none of my worst experiences in the grungiest flea-bag places I’ve stayed in from Thailand to England can come close to what I experienced at this Shilo Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inns Rose Garden
Responded 24 Jun 2014
Dear Bob W, Thank you for your review and for being a valued Shilo guest. I sincerely apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations. I also apologize that your room type was not available early for arrival. Check-in time is 4pm and I show that you were registered by 4:18pm. I hope that you will give us a future opportunity to earn your confidence. Sincerely, G. Sorrels-General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
l_teddy10 wrote a review Mar 2017
Roseburg, Oregon
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel has been added to my "never again list". I booked it because it was rated 3/5 and seemed to be a pretty good value for the location. (10 minute walk to the Moda Center). But there wasn't a single thing I liked about the place. It started with check-in. The customer service wasn't too bad checking in. There was one woman and a guy who appeared to be the manager. They were both friendly. However, the lobby is so small that with six adults waiting to check in, we were standing shoulder-to-shoulder, wall-to-wall. The room was pretty out-dated. It had an older TV with poor picture quality. About 15 channels. The furniture also seemed old and somewhat banged up. The carpet was covered in stains of every color. The bed was as comfortable as expected for a cheaper hotel, however our comforter appeared kind of dirty. There was sort of a gray shade to it. The bathroom was so small that it was hard to open the door to get out. If I had another 20 pounds on me, I would have had to stand in the tub. The shower head sucked. The towels were tattered and about one wash away from being completely shredded. There was no hand soap in the room. Just shampoo and facial cleanser. The vending machine on our floor was out of order. The one down stairs had tape over the dollar receiver, so it would only accept change, but there was only one option because the other seven were sold out. The breakfast consisted of English muffins, toast, instant oatmeal, and three options of cereal. However, the milk was empty. We asked the girl at the front desk (who was in the breakfast room 5 minutes earlier) if she could refill it and with an annoyed sigh, she replied "yeah sure". They also had canned orange juice and apple juice and coffee. I wanted a receipt when I checked out, since my card was charged a $50 deposit that I wanted to make sure I got back, so I went back to the girl who hates milk to check-out. Walked up to the counter, but she wouldn't look up from her phone until I said "I'm checking out." She asked "what room number?" I told her and a minute later she handed me a receipt without saying anything. She immediately started thumbing through a Rolodex and I was kinda confused because she hadn't said another word. So I asked "is that it?" She looked up annoyed and just said "yeah". No "here you go" no "thanks for staying with us" not even a "k bye". The only positive thing about this place is it's a short walk to the moda center. But there's plenty of other hotels in the area, so stay away from this one and choose any other option.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mimimary53 asked a question Feb 2015
University Place, Washington24 contributions4 helpful votes
How far is it from the Convention Center?
Answer from Lisa S
Portland, Oregon
It is about a 5-10 minute walk (5 small Portland blocks) or you can take public transit. The streetcar and bus #6 are within easy walking distance and both will drop you off directly at the Convention Center. We look forward to possibly having you stay with us. - Shilo Inns
queensusie1227 wrote a tip Mar 2022
Medford, Oregon102 contributions34 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay here if you want clean."
Read full review
golfpmac wrote a tip May 2021
Spokane, Washington137 contributions40 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay here!"
Read full review
CarterFamilyOregon wrote a tip Jun 2019
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"stay on the 2nd floor. The bottom floor smells like dogs."
Read full review
janet97417 wrote a tip Jun 2019
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"there is only 2 floors we was on the bottom"
Read full review
dick lang wrote a tip Mar 2019
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"only saw one"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Portland area.
PRICE RANGE
₹6,447 - ₹7,954 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
shilo inn portland rose garden hotel portland, portland shilo inn
LOCATION
United StatesOregonPortland
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHILO INNS ROSE GARDEN (Portland) - Motel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Shilo Inns Rose Garden
Which popular attractions are close to Shilo Inns Rose Garden?
Nearby attractions include Moda Center (0.4 km), Rose Quarter (0.4 km), and Irvington/Broadway District (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shilo Inns Rose Garden?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Shilo Inns Rose Garden?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Shilo Inns Rose Garden?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shilo Inns Rose Garden?
Conveniently located restaurants include Creo Chocolate, Burgerville, and MrBeast Burger.
Are pets allowed at Shilo Inns Rose Garden?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Shilo Inns Rose Garden?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Portland Center Stage at The Armory (1.8 km), Old Church (2.7 km), and Japanese American Historical Plaza (1.2 km).
Is Shilo Inns Rose Garden accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Portland HotelsPortland Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PortlandHotels near Shilo Inns Rose Garden
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire