We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Agate Beach Motel

Booking.comUS$ 205*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Agate Beach Motel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

315 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 313: English reviews
Start your review of Agate Beach Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

What an amazing find!!!1940's style beach motel totally updated. My daughter and I have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Fully equipped individual cottages that have the feel you could stay for a month. Paula in the front office is very gracious and knows patrons by name. Friendly and cozy atmosphere with fire pit and s'mores. Views, smells of the ocean, beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
Reno, Nevada
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We take a trip to the Oregon Coast every Easter, we're slowly working our way up. When I saw that Newport has three lighthouses nearby I started looking for a place there and found Agate Beach Motel. It's an older property that has been upgraded and has absolutely beautiful sweeping views of the ocean. When we arrived we were greeted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NV_Michelle
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Wendy K, Owner at Agate Beach Motel, responded to this review

Oh My! What a nice review. We so appreciate you taking the time and describing Agate Beach Motel in such depth. You should write our descriptive ads. So glad you took in all that is around us and happy the weather was good enough for the beach fire; this time of year is iffy. Please keep us on your list...

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here on our road trip north on the 101. We really enjoyed our stay and we were made to feel really welcome. The rooms were great, really clean and comfortable, with cooking facilities and had lots of space for us and our 2 year old. We had a great day on the beach. There was a stream to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nipper1982
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was very nice they went out of their way to accommodate us for such short notice to stay just one night. The view was spectacular ,we had a great time and drank some rogue beer . Thank you very much

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X5014PHscottb
WallStreet S, Owner at Agate Beach Motel, responded to this review

You are very welcome! Sounds like you hit the high spots of the Agate Beach Motel....so glad everything was good for you. We look forward to your return. Wendy Kelley

Newport, Oregon
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very relaxing with cozy room and beautiful view. Spent a lot of time on the deck staring at the ocean. Great place to kick back. The sparkly electric fireplace with a remote was a nice touch for those cool Oregon nights.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
WallStreet S, Owner at Agate Beach Motel, responded to this review

Great! Isn't that the purpose of the Oregon Coast; relaxation. So glad you enjoyed Agate Beach Motel and we look forward to your return! Wendy Kelley

Muscatine, Iowa, Usa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great rooms! Beautiful beach area. From some of the comments I saw it is pet friendly. The staff is incredibly nice! Has a living room/dinning room area, kitchenette, bath and bedroom...nice deck and chairs to relax on with ocean view.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela K
Wendy K, Owner at Agate Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thank you! We appreciate your review. Wendy Kelley

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived for our stay late at night and while I could hear the ocean, I couldn't see it. The next morning I was absolutely stunned by the incredible view from our room! Service was top-notch as well. They were very accommodating with our late check-in and early check-out. Waking up after our late drive in to having not only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smcain
Wendy K, Owner at Agate Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much!!! Agate Beach Motel is so lucky to have "that" view. I love that it made your morning to see it. We appreciate your review and please join us again soon! Wendy Kelley

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This motel is in a good spot and the rooms are cute enough. The following information isn't necessarily to say don't stay here, but its information I would have loved to know before arriving: 1. We were only about two rooms away from the office, but the internet did not work in the room. I was able to get one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elicia B
Wendy K, Owner at Agate Beach Motel, responded to this review

I'm so sorry your stay wasn't what you expected. I'm not sure what happened regarding your WiFi but it is in use in all rooms. The office has some "fixes" if needed and it usually just needs a reboot. The tile floors are cool; that is the down side. We choose tile because of the cleanability being we accept dogs....

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This motel is one of those where you have to make a choice between location and accommodations. The location is absolutely perfect. Right on the top of the ocean side cliff and close to the lighthouse and other state parks. The motel itself is nice and they try to do as much as possible with it but it's clear that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mljax
Wendy K, Owner at Agate Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Agate Beach Motel. This motel was built in the 40's and we do our best to keep it updated. Tempurpedic hide-a-beds were replaced last year and new windows throughout, this year. I could go on but we do our best to make sure everything is comfortable. The other choice is to tear it down...

Boise, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are now ending our third stay at this awesome little place on the ocean. We will be sad to move down the coast to a new location. This time, we stayed in Unit 4, which is next door to The unit we stayed in in our first visit. This place did not disappoint yet again! I wish we could...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy S
Wendy K, Owner at Agate Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review of Agate Beach Motel Your appreciation of the amenities is our ultimate goal. So happy that you put the kitchens to use. Honestly there are very few restaurants that have the view that is right from your dinning area. Please visit again and plan to stay a few extra days! Wendy Kelley

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
1.8 km away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
3.6 km away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
810 reviews
4.5 km away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.5 km away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
1,280 reviews
5.1 km away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
6.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Agate Beach Motel

Address: 175 NW Gilbert Way, Newport, OR 97365-1315
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Price Range: ₹ 11,303 - ₹ 13,111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Agate Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#2 Family Hotel in Newport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Agate Beach Motel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Agate Beach Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nice. Clean. Comfy ”
X5014PHscottb, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“You can have dogs here with a pet fee. Pets should remain on leash on property, but the pup can be off leash on the beach! I love getting these rooms because I don't have to go out to each for every meal!”
mandys288, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not a bad unit in the whole place, you can't go wrong!”
  • View from deck.
NV_Michelle, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Excellent!!”
sheilak239, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Level the floors and get fan for cooking stove.”
davidcP4773US, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 205* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$ 205
TripAdvisorUS$ 205
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates