We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
501 Sitka Ave, Newberg, OR 97132-1304
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (33)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (9)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 15/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country, an IHG Hotel
Updated 15/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 5 in Newberg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Stay in the heart of the Willamette Valley The all-new Holiday Inn Express Newberg Wine Country is conveniently located off Hwy 99, in the Willamette Valley. Our perfect location is south of Portland, an hour from the beautiful Oregon Coast and ocean beaches and minutes away from over 80 wineries in the Willamette Valley such as Rex Hill, Elton Vineyards, Rain Dance, and Francis Coppola's Domaine de Broglie. While you're here, you'll want to visit the Evergreen Aviation and Space Museum and home of Howard Hughes' Spruce Goose. You'll also want to take flight on a beautiful balloon experience with Vista Balloon Adventures or relax at the Champoeg State Heritage Park. After a long day of fun at the Portland Zoo, touring the creo Chocolate factory, cruising on the Columbia River Gorge, taking in the sights of the Portland Japanese Gardens or playing in the sand at one of the many ocean beaches, you'll want to relax in our newly renovated accommodations and experience why Yamhill County i
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Water park offsite
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Business Centre with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
143Reviews2Q+A21Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 30
  • 47
  • 29
  • 17
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
TAMAN1951 wrote a review May 2022
Liberty Lake, Washington5813 contributions741 helpful votes
Initial room had an issue but desk staff addressed it for us promptly and it was rectified to our satisfaction. Reasonably comfortable bed and pillows. Nice tv and channel offering. Clean bath. Very spacious room. Exterior is attractive and lots of eating placed nearby. Good rates.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi TAMAN1951, Thank you for writing us about your stay in Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country. We strive to provide an environment of simplicity. I saw your reviewed and was surprised by what you described. I'm sorry that your stay was not satisfactory due to unforeseen issues. I understand your disappointment about these matters. I documented your case and shared it with our local area managers. We took immediate action to avoid this from being an issue in our guest's future stays. I invited you to visit us on your next trip so we can provide you with a new view of our services. Warm regards, Oscar C. Case Manager IHG Service
Read more
mauibeachbums2017 wrote a review May 2021
Gig Harbor, Washington6 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Ali G, night auditor for this property is fantastic! Our first room smelled of smoke and she was empathetic and eager to support. She helped us navigate our options and find a solution. We appreciate and celebrate her service. Ali, thank you for making our stay a great experience!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Annette D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country, an IHG Hotel
Responded 16 Dec 2021
Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words! We are delighted to hear that Allie made your stay wonderful! We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Rayna O wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Do not stay here! **Unresponsive/dishonest manager, Dirty rooms and disorganized staff** I made the mistake of booking a room on a trip down to Newberg to see a friend. I called ahead to let the hotel know I would be arriving late, the front desk assured me everything would be ok. When I arrived that evening, I was sent up to a disgusting room that had obviously been used. I returned to the front desk to let the staff know, and they told me "we got busy and didn't get to it". They also didn't have ANY other clean rooms, so at nearly 1 am I had to scramble to find a room elsewhere. Luckily the front desk attendant felt bad for me and helped call the Best western to get us a room.... I informed the front desk that I did not want to return to Holiday Inn and would like to stay at the Best western for my 2nd night as well, and was told no. I was instructed to return the next day when my room had been cleaned. When I arrived the 2nd day, I was told I would be given a complete refund of the 1st night and I would be given a discount on my 2nd night. That would have been nice, except I already paid, so the manager said she would arrange for my refund. The manager never contacted my booking agency, never called me back and I had to wait on hold for hours to get ahold of agents to coordinate my refund. The booking agency finally called me back and told me that the manager approved the 1st night refund and refused the 2nd discount that I was promised. I am STILL waiting for her to call me back....I wish I never stayed here. I highly doubt I am going to get the remainder of my refund, so please take this as a warning.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country, an IHG Hotel
Responded 25 Apr 2022
Hi raynao2020, Thank you for making us part of your visit. We strive to offer quality service and I understand that your recent experience was not as convenient and seamless as expected. I am sorry for the level of service received. Our team would like to assure you that your thoughts about our service lapses are heard. We would like to gather more details to communicate this with the relevant teams. I sent you a private message and hope you respond soon. Pleasure once again to host your visit and we look forward to having the opportunity to share a more positive experience in the future. All the best, Alice P Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Melinda P wrote a review Feb 2020
Yorba Linda, California535 contributions168 helpful votes
Large rooms and very clean! Recently renovated and definitely the nicest chain hotel in Newberg. Good breakfast with some premade omelets in addition to the regular breakfast items. Friendly receptionists and a lovely eating area. Outdoor pool!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Robert P wrote a review Oct 2019
Wichita Falls, Texas82 contributions55 helpful votes
This Holiday Inn Express is a clean, quiet property. The guest rooms are quite large. While I am not a fan of the room layout, where you walk through the bathroom counter area when you enter the room, as long as you are not expecting company, it works fine. Everything else fulfilled my expectations of the HIE brand and the staff was very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Charles L wrote a review Oct 2019
Port Orchard, Washington47 contributions23 helpful votes
Dirty rooms: Wife had to be moved because of unclean room second room was not much better! Poor customer service-Attitude. Housekeeping needs to improve their quality control.Surprised that holiday inn express was so mismanaged and filthy. 99% of the time they are spotless.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Would not stay here
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country, an IHG Hotel
Responded 25 Oct 2019
Hi Charles L, I'm glad you choose our hotel for your visit to Newberg. Thank you for staying. Our hotel offers efficient and frictionless experiences for guests but I'm sorry that this time we fell short. Great service and cleanliness are what we always put first, but I read our rooms and housekeeping staff made you feel otherwise. I hear your dismay so I notified our management about this for us to take necessary actions to better serve you in the future. We appreciate you leaving feedback about your stay, and I hope you'll consider us again. Rein D Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Mark T wrote a review Oct 2019
DuBois, Pennsylvania846 contributions96 helpful votes
The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The only thing that I didn’t like was the early morning door slamming. The door closers need adjustment. The printer in the business area didn’t work :(.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country, an IHG Hotel
Responded 17 Oct 2019
Hello C6713TXmarkt, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country, OR. We offer brilliant basics and a little more where it matters most. I’m sorry we missed the mark this time. On behalf of the hotel, I'm sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the noise caused by the door and the business center. Not the experience we wanted you to have. We will address these concerns. I have shared your comment to the hotel's management and ownership for review and service improvement. I hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. Sincerely, Orlando Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Jack wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Unprofessional representatives at desk that feel that it is OK to say that when the power goes out, "It is not our fault!" In the world I live, when you provide a service where I pay for a service and you do not fulfill your obligation, you need to be more professional. I completely understand that maybe the power outage was not the responsibility of the hotel, but it is the hotels responsibility to respond in a more professional manor. I travel a lot and was offended by the lack of consideration.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country, an IHG Hotel
Responded 9 Oct 2019
Hi Jezdek, Thank you for your review and for staying with us. I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the power outage and for the poor interaction you had with our staff. I have alerted our management about this and have sent you a private message to obtain additional information about your stay. Again, thanks for staying with us. I look forward to your response and being of further assistance. Sincerely, Connie D Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Flyer741503 wrote a review Sep 2019
2 contributions2 helpful votes
When I booked this place it looked great on the website and the rate was OK. I had a reservation at another hotel that now I regret changing. Checking in was easy. When we arrived at the room it did smell like cigarettes, we called regarding this but the hotel was full so they were unable to relocate us, I had no problem with this. After taking a shower, my friend tried to use the toilet, to her surprise it had urine and pubic hair on the seat, (photo attached). I immediately called the front desk and a gentleman answered, I informed him about the disgusting issue, he responded: "you want me to go clean the toilet?" I said yes, please! it is gross! After 10 minutes he arrived and cleaned it, he apologized for the condition of the bathroom. The next day I mentioned to the front desk lady and she acknowledged the incident, apologized and gave me the name of the Manager, McKenzie. I called 09/4 and talked to Pam, she was not very pleasant on the phone. She took my name and phone number since McKenzie couldn't come to the phone. I have been waiting for her call. I also sent a quality service concern on 09/05, and I am still waiting for the Guest Relations Team to reach me. I have never experienced such a bad service from a well-known hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country, an IHG Hotel
Responded 23 Sep 2019
Hi Flyer741503, Thanks for choosing to stay with us, and, we appreciate the honest review. Providing efficient and frictionless experiences for our guests is our goal, and it is with regret that your experience left a lot to be desired because of the unwelcoming smell of the room, the poor cleanliness of the bathroom, and with how one of our managers assisted you. We'll certainly look into your concerns and reference them as areas of improvement with our entire hotel team. After all, each one of us wants our guests to leave with delightful memories. I've also sent you an email which should now be in your inbox discussing your stay further. Best, Kenneth F Case Manager IHGService.
Read more
Jay F wrote a review Sep 2019
Austin, Texas1076 contributions245 helpful votes
This has become my place to stay in the Willamette when wine tasting. Big, clean rooms. Friendly staff. Mostly better than average breakfast. Good prices. Convenient location. Only downside is the parking lot is small and can get crowded.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$136 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
shilo inn newberg, newberg shilo inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Shilo Inn Suites Newberg - Oregon
LOCATION
United StatesOregonNewberg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
61
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Chehalem Tasting Room (0.9 km), Ninety-Nine West Twin Cinemas & Drive-In Theatres (0.9 km), and Hoover Minthorn House (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Painted Lady, SubTerra Kitchen & Cellar, and Coffee Cottage.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and an outdoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Champoeg State Heritage Park (1.3 km), Hoover Minthorn House (0.8 km), and Newell Pioneer Village (7.8 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.