We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Bar Lodge

Merlin, OR 97532
Save
Best prices for your stay
27/8/2017 28/8/2017
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in MerlinSee available hotels in Merlin
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"},"scriptFlags":null}
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2017

I spent one night at this lodge while on a guided river rafting trip. The location is very isolated and cannot be seen from the river. The staff members we met (all ladies) were warm and friendly. An ample meal was provided for dinner and...More

Thank Ld922
Reviewed 18 May 2017

The only way to get to Black Bar is hiking the Rogue River Trail, or rafting down the Rogue River. Although they have a 4 wheel drive road to the lodge, this is a truly remote site. Given the difficult conditions, the staff does a...More

Thank harvey44
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Owner was verbally abusive on the phone. Refused us service because we were a family and according to the owner, that is not appropriate for hiking the rogue. Needless to say, I disagree. I would avoid this lodge.More

1  Thank Jeremy N
Management response:Responded yesterday

These folks wanted to Hike the Trail in the Hottest time of the year with an INFANT in a backpack. They never even stayed with us as we refused to be involved with someone putting a child at risk. This hike annually has very experienced...More

Reviewed 11 August 2016

The owner could not care less about the quality of your experience because he has a monopoly on lodge traffic for the Rogue River. The lodge staff do what they can with the limited resources they are allowed. Bats live in the buildings and will...More

3  Thank RavenMP
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We had an unpleasant and bizarre experience at Black Bar Lodge on a recent self-supported hiking trip. I do not like to use the internet to criticize businesses, preferring to give people the benefit of the doubt. I share this experience because there are other...More

10  Thank happymanytrails
About
Details
  • Number of rooms
  • 18
  • Location
  • United States >
  • Oregon >
  • Merlin
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Black Bar Lodge staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"try to get a room in a cabin near the lodge."
Read review
"They assign you cabins so you don't get to pick."
Read review
"a battery powered lantern is good if light is needed after 10. The cabins at the up river end have the..."
Read review
"Its rustic, so set your expectations for that. And ask if you are concerned about what would work best for..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing