Shearwater Inn

Traveller (347)
Room & Suite (139)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#4 of 31 hotels in Lincoln City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
A wonderful ocean-view hotel in the heart of Lincoln City. Enjoy beautiful views, spacious rooms, gas fireplaces, free Wi-fi, decks, suites with full kitchens, complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room, and many dog friendly rooms.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Beach
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Street parking
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Vending machine
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Private balcony
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1283Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 970
  • 244
  • 39
  • 17
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
vmsc wrote a review Aug 2023
Arlington, Virginia14 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
Steps away from the beach. Centrally located between the north and central coast towns and sites. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast, while simple, being brought to our room every morning is a nice touch and starts off the day satisfied. Room was spacious with a comfortable bed, a nice sitting area, and a balcony. You can see the ocean from your bed! Easy parking. Exactly as described and met my expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: You need to make a reservation to use the hot tub, which was popular during our stay. Stayed in...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heather Zink, Owner at Shearwater Inn
Responded 15 Aug 2023
Thank you for being our guest. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Inspire33655257975 wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
We have stayed at this location before and in spite of COVID restrictions we made this drive again to celebrate our 36th Anniversary on the beach. I doubt that you could find a cleaner or quieter hotel anywhere on the coast—plus such extremely friendly and courteous staff and it is also pet friendly with just steps out the door to the beach. We stayed in the King Suite which has a gas fireplace and jetted tub—this room has a full ocean view and it is so restful to fall asleep at night listening to the waves roll on shore. Current restrictions didn’t allow for a full breakfast delivered daily to your room, but they do deliver bagels and juice at your time of choosing each day. The location is near so many restaurants and the outlet mall for shopping. We are coming back many more times—thank you Shearwater!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nolita s wrote a review Mar 2021
3 contributions
This place made my dog feel spoiled more than she is already spoiled arrived with a welcome doggy basket for my dog came with doggy bowls and treats and towels and when breakfast arrived in morning it had breakfast for my pooch also she loved in a cute doggy pouch. They even have pet kennels for if u need p go somewhere and can’t take dog. Will always stay here with my Sophie.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MonteRicardobalm wrote a review Jun 2021
Denver, Colorado104 contributions69 helpful votes
Was not happy post checking-in to find the lack of air conditioning. However, after cooling down a bit (proverbially), I decided it is a good place and deserves 4 stars. It’s not beachfront either, but it does not claim to be. It has beach views, especially appreciated from the bed at night, and in the mornings.

Due to the location, the beach is far from private and has quite the crowd. Really- quite the crowd. There is an inlet, at both high and low tide, which is extremely popular with the little kids, and likely their parents. Unlike northern beaches, you can and will go into the ocean for some fun.

There is a popular restaurant extremely close, but there are long lines and waits— I went elsewhere.

The hotel is mostly well designed for the local theme— indoor/outdoor carpeting, tiled areas, and they keep it pretty clean. The balconies face the water and although small, they are fine although less than private. The woman to my left thought it entirely appropriate to have loud conversations with her friends in the parking lot. It takes all kinds, I guess. The bath is pretty small, and I question if the modern chubby American would enjoy the narrow shower, especially with some of the real estate taken up by the soap and shampoo dispensers. The dog walk area is small but fine. There is a smoking area far from the front door but I did not see any smokers, or their litter.

This place was fine for what it is. If it wasn’t for the dog, somewhere else would have been chosen. The blankets and dog bowls provided were appreciated. There is no wet bar. The mini fridge is in a cabinet to reduce the noise, as is the current standard. Did I mention there is no air conditioning?
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: A sign at the entrance to property was a little confusing as it claimed the parking was for the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heather Zink, Owner at Shearwater Inn
Responded 14 Jul 2021
Thank you for being our guest. It's rarely above 70 on the Oregon Coast so very few places have air conditioning. We understand on the few days of the year where it is on the warmer side that it would be nice. All the rooms have fans and the cool ocean breezes normally cool the rooms off nicely in the evenings. We sincerely apologize if your room was too warm during your stay. We hope you'll stay with us again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Navigator444959 wrote a review Aug 2021
Portland, Oregon6 contributions7 helpful votes
My family and I recently stayed at the Shearwater for a one night stay in celebration of my parents wedding anniversary. When we arrived, we were greeted by a very nice young man, and were immediately checked into all three rooms. This was our fourth stay over the past year and a half. We have always enjoyed our stays...until this one.

My husband and I went to our room and it was quickly apparent that there was quite a large stain on the floor, it was dark colored compared to the carpet and very visible. We dialed downstairs, but the phone just rang, so when we headed out to walk the beach we decided to let the young man at the front desk know. He was extremely busy with phone calls and guests, so we decided it could wait.

The next morning, we then discovered the shower would not turn on. The handle was extremely loose and would not “catch” to pull the handle out and then turn to choose water temperature. We messed around with it for a little bit, tried dialing the front desk (no one answered) and eventually ended up using my brothers shower.

Here is where things really went down hill. Upon check out, the woman working, named Kim, asked “how was your stay?”, to which I responded, “well, there is a large stain on the carpet that looks like vomit and the shower handle is broken. We were not able to shower in our room.”

Before Kim even responded, she decided to answer the phone which had began to ring. Once she finished that, she handed me my receipt and told me to have a nice day.

I looked at her in utter disbelief, and asked “are you not going to address the issues with my stay?” To which she rudely and impatiently responded, “I can go walk upstairs with you, and you can show me this alleged stain and I can show you how to use the shower, because it not broken.” I was flabbergasted at her tone and complete dismissal, indicating I needed to PROVE the issues within her hotel room. Items which needed improving and attention for the next guest.

Never ever have I been treated at a hotel with such flat out rudeness. It completely changed our entire impression of this hotel and it caused us (as well as family members) to cancel several upcoming stays we had reserved. I can only imagine how many other guests Kim has treated with such disregard, and if I was the owner or manager of this property I would recommend she never interface with guests.

Save yourself the headache, stains, non working shower and rude employee and go stay at The Coho down the road. Those employees are top notch.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heather Zink, Owner at Shearwater Inn
Responded 30 Aug 2021
We are so sorry there was a stain on your carpet and there was an issue with the faucet. We apologize the front desk staff wasn't able to answer the phone in a timely manner during your stay. Like many businesses, we are dealing with staffing shortages so one person is having to do the job of two people. We strive to provide excellent service and we are very sorry we fell short. We will use your review to continue to improve.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robin F wrote a review May 2021
Olympia, Washington4 contributions
The room was spacious, well-maintained and had extensive views of the ocean. The bed was very comfortable, and the chairs were comfy too. The fireplace was a nice touch in the cool evenings. The public areas were inviting and decorated with unique art. The continental breakfast had a protein option and was delivered to the room (pandemic protocols). The staff was unfailingly friendly and eager to answer any question and/or provide service. The central location next to the D River made going to shops, the outlet mall and restaurants easy.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Third floor and above offer a better view over the adjacent condos and restaurant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
206TravelGuy wrote a review Aug 2023
Seattle, Washington106 contributions62 helpful votes
The good:
1) One of the best hotel views in Lincoln City
2) Great location right in the center of town with immediate beach access and nearby hotels and coffee
3) Light breakfast delivered to your door

The bad:
1) You are paying a high premium but they have stopped the wine socials and cut their breakfast menu in half (which is why we used to be ok paying a high premium)
2) We used to walk on the beach early and grab coffee in the lobby, but now the lobby doesn't open until 8am
3) The parking lot is a nightmare

Background:
We've been staying at the Shearwater for years, shortly after they changed their name from the Odysseus. We were content paying a higher premium (vs other nearby hotels) because of the additional benefits, including the wine social and nice breakfast delivered to your room in the morning. However, after their remodel a few years ago, the prices went way up and they stripped off the benefits we enjoyed.

Rooms:
The rooms are nice with great views, but have an odd mix of old and new after their remodel a few years back. Carpets were updated, but appliances, facets, doors, and most other things (besides cosmetic upgrades) were not. We stayed in the two bedroom suite, and two of the doors into the room would stick and you'd have to lean into it to open. One of the beds was comfortable, but the other was clearly older and rolled two people right into the center. When we went to get ice, there were no plastic ice bags that apparently were on back order for some time.

Other stuff:
The parking lot is small, and spaces are narrow. Anything over the size of a small SUV you will have issues (outside of a couple spots in the front). Someone even backed into our car and dented our bumper on our last trip. If you come here, take the smallest car you have otherwise you may have issues parking.

Overall:
This trip was very underwhelming for us, who have stayed here previously and became accustomed to certain things. For people who have never stayed here, you will honestly probably enjoy yourself and have a great time. As mentioned, the views and location are worth it to most people. Unfortunately, we will likely try a new hotel next time we come into town for the first time in over 12 years.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heather Zink, Owner at Shearwater Inn
Responded 15 Aug 2023
We are so sorry you didn't enjoy your most recent stay. We value our longtime guests, and we sincerely hope you will stay with us in the future. Due to increased costs and staffing shortages bringing back the wine social isn't feasible. We wouldn't be able to offer the quality of wines or the service we know our guests expect. We sincerely apologize for the maintenance issues in your room. We will make any needed repairs and replace the bed you mentioned if needed. Thank you for being our guests.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
peasemom wrote a review Mar 2022
Meridian, Idaho4 contributions2 helpful votes
I have already told several of my friends about this place! Our room was a King standard room on the 4th floor with a balcony overlooking the ocean, a gas fireplace, and breakfast delivered to our room each morning. I really liked how the room was set up with two chairs and little table facing the slider door. We ate our breakfast each morning watching the ocean, and finished each day sipping wine and listening to the waves. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Staff was all very pleasant. Parking is definitely tight, as other reviewers have said, but we never had trouble finding a spot. We have stayed at several places around Lincoln City through the years, and this was definitely one of our favorites. No, it’s not directly over the beach, but it has a beautiful view, is clean and comfortable, and was $100/night less expensive than the other places right over the beach. And easy beach access is right out the front door of the hotel. I definitely recommend this place!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
plumom wrote a review Aug 2020
Beaverton, Oregon29 contributions28 helpful votes
After being closed earlier this year for remodeling and then because of the pandemic, I was thrilled to see that my favorite spot for my birthday weekend was open again. The rooms have been updated nicely, they are delivering a basic breakfast to the rooms again, and the addition of comfortable chairs to sit in while watching the waves is most welcome. I missed the bathrobe, but those towels - fantastic! As always, the bed was SO comfortable and the staff gracious. Welcome back! I will see you again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Top floor rooms have the best views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greg H wrote a review Sept 2020
Spring Hill, Kansas172 contributions104 helpful votes
We stayed at the Shearwater Inn during our abrievated trip down the Oregan Coast. We chose a 5th floor room with a balcony facing the ocean, a fire place and a jetted tub in the bathroom. The view of the beach was nice and only a short walk from the hotel. The room itself was very nice and clean. The employees were helpful and nice.
The parking is under the hotel and would protect cars from bad weather. The only issue is they must have one parking spot for each room. When we retured to the hotel in the late evening there were no available spots that would fit our mid sized SUV. The parking spaces are narrow and several larger vehicles took up move then their space. We spoke to the desk clerk and resoved the parking problem.
Unfortunately our last night after Labor day a strong wind started many fires and knocked out power to the City. The clerk said power was out to the city for 2 or 3 days and suggested we leave as soon as possible. It turned out to be very good advice. Due to the fires we could only drive north towards Portland. We had to cancel the rest of our vacation and headed home. I highly recommend the Shearwater Inn once the fires are controlled.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: 5th floor rooms have the best views of the beach.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steffie82 asked a question Mar 2023
Bremen, Germany40 contributions2 helpful votes
Do you have a self-service-laundry?
Answer from Michael R
Portland, Oregon31 contributions9 helpful votes
I do not believe so, contact the hotel directly
April W asked a question Apr 2022
Are you pet friendly
Answer from westoverinns
Wilsonville, Oregon2 contributions
Yes, we allow two dogs per room of any size. Each dog is $15 per night. During their stay dogs receive a basket of items to use that includes dog sheets, towels, bowls, pooper scooper bags, and treats.
Show all answers
CP_PDX asked a question Jul 2020
Portland, Oregon228 contributions67 helpful votes
Hello. Is there any elevator in the hotel? Thanks!
Answer from O4179PAstevec
Yakima, Washington12 contributions3 helpful votes
Yes there is.
WynsWrld98 asked a question May 2020
Puyallup, WA56 contributions62 helpful votes
Air conditioning?
Answer from O4179PAstevec
Yakima, Washington12 contributions3 helpful votes
Yes, there is a centralized heating and cooling system.
4cents-worth asked a question Mar 2016
Grants Pass, Oregon802 contributions84 helpful votes
Do you have a suite with three bedrooms, and queen or larger beds, for four adults?
Answer from Barak W
Santa Fe, New Mexico14 contributions15 helpful votes
I have no idea...call the hotel. They'll advise. BW
Show all answers
Shannon W wrote a tip Dec 2023
1 contribution
"I could see parking being a challenge in peak season but we had no problems in December"
Read full review
Kit D wrote a tip Dec 2023
1 contribution
"We were able to book a time for the jacuzzi and had it all to ourselves!"
Read full review
Dave L wrote a tip Oct 2023
Salem, Oregon, United States5 contributions2 helpful votes
"No pool, in case you are looking for lodging with a pool. Otherwise, this is a great place to stay."
Read full review
karenssuperiordemos wrote a tip Sept 2023
Redding, California5 contributions
"The clam chowder at the Pelican Pub and Brewery is the best on the Oregon Coast! Their fish and chips are good also. Not greasy. "
Read full review
Susanne S wrote a tip Sept 2023
Sherwood3 contributions1 helpful vote
"ask for suite 201 if available. two balconies, one ocean front and the other off the bedroom."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lincoln City area.
PRICE RANGE
₹10,942 - ₹15,915 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
O'dysius Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesOregonOregon CoastLincoln City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHEARWATER INN (Lincoln City) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Shearwater Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Shearwater Inn?
Nearby attractions include Prehistoric (0.8 km), Lincoln City Outlets (1.2 km), and D River State Recreation Site (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shearwater Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Shearwater Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Shearwater Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Shearwater Inn?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shearwater Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kyllo's Seafood Grill, The Grill 1646, and Tie Dye Pizzaria.
Are pets allowed at Shearwater Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Shearwater Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Shearwater Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Shearwater Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.