We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Americas Best Value Inn John Day

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn John Day
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 87: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was cleaner than I had expected. The staff was very friendly and gave tips on dining in the area. Its a motel so don't expect it to be more than that. Overall it was pleasant experience staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DAN S
Leanna P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn John Day, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the hotel suitable for your needs. We hope to see you again, and thank you for choosing us for your lodging needs!

Portland
Reviewed 30 September 2016

there were small bugs around the room. They were every where. There was only one towel per person in the room. If you wanted to go swimming you had to use your one towel and not have a dry one in the morning. Also if you wanted to wash your hair and have a shower only one towel. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ron E
Leanna P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn John Day, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. As for the bugs we live in an area where they tend to move in to find warmth as it gets colder. There isn't much we, or any resident of the area, can do about them. We do spray some stuff around the hotel, which is safe to humans and animals, periodically....

Woking, England
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Motel on 2 levels but the upstairs rooms can be accessed from parking at the rear. Room spacious with fridge and microwave and coffee machine. The wash basin and bathroom completely separate from the bedroom. Bathroom and bedlinens clean. The woodwork looked a bit bashed about and the hoovering missed a few bits but everything worked. The shower was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mumontour08
Leanna P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn John Day, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you found the room spacious, and enjoyed the layout of the building. We are working on fixing up the hotel in the areas that you mentioned, and hope that you will come visit again to see our progress. Thank you again!

Pocatello, Idaho
Reviewed 17 September 2016

I had reserved through their own website and was charged for a no-show though I'd cancelled well ahead of time on their website and gotten confirmation. When I sought a refund they wanted to see a copy of my credit card statement (!) to assure that I'd been charged. Seriously. I then decided to let AmEx deal with them and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Billie B
Leanna P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn John Day, responded to this review

I am sorry that this happened to you. I am curious, however, to know whom you spoke with. I am usually the one that deals with these kinds of circumstances and would never ask to see somebodys personal credit card statements. If it was not showing in our records that you were charged I would have asked you to contact...

Plainfield, Illinois
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

There are not too many choices for lodging in the area. Price was reasonable. Hotel is somewhat outdated, furniture is tired and worn. Room is in need of a total remodel and makeover! Bed was ok and linens appeared clean. Everything worked- hot water, A/C, flat screen tv, micro, refridge, coffee maker. The room had both a front and Back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MemomPam
Hooper, Utah
Reviewed 9 September 2016

We booked this room in advance and the reviews said it was a decent room however when we got here we found a very aged room scratched, stained, and overused furniture, flat bed, dirty carpets, and did I mention the smell? We thought it was a problem with cigarette smoke (called to make sure we had a smoke free room,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cindy G
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Rule: plan your trip to avoid spending the night in John Day. For the price of a Hilton, you get a 1/2 star motel. The room smells and is dirty. We had to run the AC constantly to knock down the musty odor. Warning: every motel in town books up fast. If you must spend the night in JD, reserve...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank harparts
Healdsburg, California
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Facility is what you would expect. Just a plain old motel. The young clerk at check in was very friendly and helpful. She advised us about dinner and breakfast, and her advice was excellent. Room was clean and comfortable, if dated and a bit worn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edmicheli
Leanna P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn John Day, responded to this review

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, and found our staff to be so helpful! I know that the hotel is a bit dated, however we are currently working on updating many areas of the hotel. I hope you can return once the updates are done and see! Thank you for your review.

Pushkar
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

This place was shabby, dirty, and overpriced. The Best Western, where I've stayed in the past, was full, so I book this online. After the fact, I think I should have stopped in another town. To top it off, the guy at the desk was borderline rude.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve71545
Leanna P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn John Day, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have spoken with the staff member about the way that he presents himself towards guests. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 28 August 2016

The room was clean and reasonably comfortable but showing its age. The front desk staff gave the impression that he did not really want to serve me. The rear parking for the upstair room was convenient. The rates are low (I paid $99) and this is a good indication of the overall quality you can expect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roy K
Leanna P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn John Day, responded to this review

I am glad that your room was clean and comfortable. We are currently working on making updates to the hotel. I have spoken to the staff that you felt did not want to serve you about his customer service. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We appreciate all feedback as it helps us to improve our...

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near John Day
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN John Day Inn
0.0 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn John Day

Address: 390 W Main St, John Day, OR 97845-1074
Region: United States > Oregon > John Day
Price Range: ₹ 3,937 - ₹ 4,752 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn John Day 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn John Day reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn John Day Oregon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn John Day staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to be back away from the main road”
 of 5 bubbles dansD1426RZ, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“don't stay there”
 of 5 bubbles RonE484, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I like the bottom floor as it is easily accessible for unloading and loading the vehicle and getting to the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles staceyhE4832CX, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor provides easier access to your car (can park directly in front of room).”
 of 5 bubbles ChinaDick, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The floor in our second story room was very, very squeaky, so I would not take a first floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles Maman_LaGrenouille, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay