We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Westcliff Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Westcliff Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

563 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Westcliff Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 559: English reviews
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights in April 2015. There were some hiccups in the reservation I had made (see below), but otherwise we had a good stay and I would probably stay here again. The room we stayed in was in the newer building, was incredibly clean, comfortable, and spacious. The location is convenient if you have a car--maybe 5... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelingNatty
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, sorry for the error with booking. We'll all review this lapse to make sure it doesn't happen again. Glad you enjoyed our newest building, and for the opportunity to re-earn your trust. Thanks again. More 

Indiana
Level Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights. Stayed in the least expensive room near the highway rather than the pricier room by the river with a view. We figured we wouldn't spend much time on the premises, so why spend the extra money? Our room was comfy and clean. The shower was awesome with a wide shower head and plenty of... More 

Helpful?
Thank indianamerk
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed that morning coffee with the view! One of the nice things in the back of the property is how quiet it is; great for sitting out watching the river go by. We'll keep making improvements as well, so each visit is better than the last. Thanks again! More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2015

Room, view, and staff were the best! Opt for the river view rooms. They are well worth it! They are also in the back away from I-84. The grounds were beautiful. Tall oak trees everywhere. Lots of shade. Picnic tables available to sit and watch the river traffic. Great stay and will do it again!

Helpful?
Thank Tom T
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We're building some more picnic tables and making even more improvements around the grounds so everyone can really enjoy the views and time with loved ones in this great weather! Thanks again. More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2015 via mobile

We've stayed at this hotel before by recommendation from a local. We decided to stay here again since we enjoyed it so much last time. This time was even better! We got one of the newer rooms and it was lovely! For only $10 more our room was very large with a fantastic shower and a balcony with a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kricket E
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks much, glad you had a great time! Yep, that building (our Courtyard) is our newest, opening a year ago. Hood River is definitely a nice stop on any trip, give us a call next time before heading back to Boise and we can reserve a favorite room! Thanks again. More 

Solana Beach, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2015

Second stay at Vagabond Lodge and absolutely love it! I am normally a 5 star type of traveler and this is not your 5 star experience. But to wake up to bald eagles hanging out in front your your window and taking an amazing hike up the cliff along the Gorge is just breath taking. The White Buffalo, which is... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank RENNRUN
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks much for your review, glad you had a great time relaxing! We won't ever become too big or overly crowded; it's simply not what we're about. We like creating, building, and improving on our unique little spot for all our guests to enjoy their time visiting with us. Plus, those eagles seem to like it too! Thanks again. More 

Vancouver, B.c.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2015

We had a great room with a view of the river. It was very quiet and clean with friendly, helpful staff. Our room had a very comfortable king sized bed, a fridge, a microwave, and even a real potted plant! On top of all that, it was well within our budget. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Helpful?
1 Thank Anna W
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! One of the things my grandmother did was take care of those potted plants, and if one need a bit more care it would come up to the office and she would nurse it back to great condition. It's just one of those little things we do; thanks again! More 

Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2015

We had another great stay at the Vagabond Lodge. We had the same room as last time. We probably should try another room but it is so pleasant that we may just keep asking for it. What was good about the room? Very large with a great view of the Columbia River. Very quiet. Many of the rooms in our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bewdjw
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks much for your review, glad you enjoyed your favorite room again! Like you saw, we've been doing some more work around the hotel and plan on eventually remodeling the room you were in to include a tub and a few more nice surprises. Thanks again! More 

Aloha, Oregon
Level Contributor
174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2015

Selected the Vagabond as we have always wanted to stay here. Stayed in Room #60 which is a suite and it was really a very nice room. The only thing that was wrong was that the gas fireplace didn't work, but the hotel compensated us for that. A nice quiet place on the river. The manager said that they had... More 

Helpful?
Thank caron5948
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks much for your review, glad you had a great time and for visiting us! Hopefully next time we can get the eagles to fly by your building; the room you were in is a very popular eagle-sighting room. Thanks again! More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2015 via mobile

Wonderful room and excellent scenery. Only negative that's keeping this from a five out of five is the distance from the main area of town. We stayed in (I think) the newest buildings so I can't say much about the rest of the hotel but our room was great.

Helpful?
Thank Chris L
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! Yes, we are about a mile and a half to two from town, but because we're a short distance away things are a bit quieter and more serene. Glad you enjoyed your room too, we'll keep on making even more improvements! Thanks again More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2015 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times and keep coming back and will continue to I recommend a river view room .only thing I was disappointed that our favorite front desk girl no longer works there :( it's a shame manessa was a delightful person to see every time we visited .she was the friendly face a hotel needs sad... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank travelingmomma7
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! Yes, every once in a while someone here moves or switches fields. It doesn't happen too often but when it does we still keep in touch and she's doing well. Thanks again! More 

466 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (221)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (233)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Courtyard Room (35)
Viewed
Kitchen Suite with Jacuzzi (55)
Viewed
Partial View Room (26)
Viewed
River View Room (38)
Viewed
River View Suite (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
0.3 km away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
4.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn
0.3 km away
Columbia Gorge Hotel
Columbia Gorge Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hood River
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
1.5 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 9 in Hood River
183 reviews
27.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge at the Gateway to the Beautiful Hood River Valley, the Westcliff Lodge is the ideal place for you to stay while exploring the area. Set on over seven acres overlooking the mighty Columbia River, on our grounds you will find a botanical wonderland including 110 foot tall pine trees and native wild flowers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Westcliff Lodge

Address: 4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031 (Formerly Vagabond Lodge)
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Price Range: ₹ 5,540 - ₹ 9,849 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Westcliff Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Westcliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Motel Hood River
Vagabond Hotel Hood River
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Westcliff Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Westcliff Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Garden Suites lots of space for families”
 of 5 bubbles Chenebe, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request a room with a view of the Gorge!”
 of 5 bubbles ladybugsho, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you want a river view but do not need a balcony, Room 37 is great.”
 of 5 bubbles bewdjw, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms facing the Columbia have beautiful views!”
 of 5 bubbles tinasT4849RI, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the building which held rooms 30-37; this building might be the closest one to the river.”
 of 5 bubbles 2TravelBears, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay