We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Westcliff Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Westcliff Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

644 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Westcliff Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 639: English reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

This is my 3rd stay here, and I love it. It's an amazing value. I always get a room with a view of the river, and a balcony. I love sitting on the balcony in the morning. The windows have screens, and can be opened to get fresh air. The rooms are clean, and the housekeeping staff is very nice....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeamoLuv
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us! We'll always have something new for our guests to enjoy, and will keep on making improvements throughout the property! I'm also working on getting together some of the old pictures together with the old signs from when my grandparents started the hotel; hopefully I'll have that ready for to see next time. Thanks again!

Reviewed 17 May 2016

The folks that own/run the lodge are very helpful and easy going. The views of the river are great, the grounds are well kept with flowers and picnic tables overlooking the river. The A/C didn't work well, could be pretty hot in the room during the summer months. We have stayed before and would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mochilders .
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We'll have that AC checked and ready to go so there will be plenty of cool air in case it gets a bit too warm sometime this summer. Thanks letting us know and glad you had a nice visit with us!

Reviewed 5 May 2016

We stayed in a king room with a River view. We were on the east corner of the building so it was very private and quiet. It had an unbelievable view. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly; they even called the day before our stay to see if we needed anything. Most lodging in Hood River seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MelissaT73
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We're planting wildflowers outside the building you were in as well, so the view will keep getting better. Glad you had a nice visit with us, and thanks again!

Salem, OR
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Second time we've stayed here. And will again. The views are gorgeous; rooms are comfortable and clean. The 'event area' outside is manicured and terraced ... ideal for a wedding with the beautiful river as a backdrop. The other part of the grounds are in transition with a huge treed picnic area and playground area. A new building of rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GlenandJudy
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks much for your review! Yes, binoculars are a great idea for bird-watching or windsurfer-watching, especially when the eagles are circling above the river. Like our courtyard you noticed, we'll keep making more improvements throughout the property so there will be even more spaces to enjoy. Thanks again!

Salem, Oregon
Reviewed 30 April 2016

We stayed recently to check it out for our June 2017 family reunion. The rooms were great and the grounds will be a fun and beautiful place for the family to hang out. We were very impressed with Roger, the general manager. The Columbia Gorge and Hood River Valley are loaded with activities and scenery we can't wait to share...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MamaGSalem
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting us! It's always nice to help create those special times with loved ones: things people can take with them wherever they go. Thanks again and see the family next summer!

Maple Valley, Washington
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Friendly front desk, clean, conveniently located to shops, restaurants, and mountain biking. Great value, pet friendly rooms, right near the river, absolutely not complaints. Would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LittleBear21
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks much for your review, we've got some more improvements on the way so there will be more to enjoy! Thanks again.

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewed 26 April 2016

I can't say enough nice things about our stay at the Vagabond Lodge in Hood River. My friend and I were on an extended road trip in Oregon and Washington, and decided to stay a couple of nights in the area. I stumbled upon the VL on Trip Advisor, saw some quality reviews, and pulled the trigger. We are so...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ben L
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks much for your review, glad you had a great time visiting us! Yes, some of the hikes in our area can be a challenge, but we agree they're all definitely worth it for the views or waterfalls! A great thing is that there are so many hikes to choose from at all skill levels around Hood River. Please do...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Decided last minute to stop in Hood River during a road trip along the gorge. We liked it so much we wanted to stay a second night but the hotel we were at did not have any rooms available for us to extend our stay. A couple other hotels in town had rooms, but for way more than we wanted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, glad we could accommodate you for your bonus day in Hood River! Yes, our original building built by my grandparents and opened back in '54 has retained the style of the era over the years. We've grown since then with our newest building opening a couple years ago, and we've been updating the buildings to keep...

Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 19 April 2016

At first I was impressed with the grounds and the view and VERY surprised at the location for the price. It's right next door to the Gorge Hotel and the Vagabond landscaping and forest area are just as nice in my opinion. You can't beat this price for the location. This place would be ideal for a wedding or event...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Snicktacular
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and kind words for our staff! We're always making improvements to our little spot; we are working on a few more spaces for guests to enjoy the view and a nice picnic area for families in our courtyard. Thanks for your support, please do give us a call anytime you plan on visiting us and we'll...

Issaquah, WA
Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

Friends recommended the Vagabond and they were right. Clean, cozy yet roomy, convenient and quiet. We stayed three nights and were close to everything we wanted to do. Every day when we returned our beds were made up by Lupe who did a lovely, thoughtful job making sure our room was outfitted. When she saw we liked our coffee sweet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rainy_dazed
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks much for your review, glad you had a great visit with us! We'll take a look at that fridge and make sure the thermostat is responding correctly, thanks for letting us know! We'll keep making updates and improvements throughout the property as well. Thanks again!

481 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (236)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (233)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Courtyard Room (35)
Viewed
Kitchen Suite with Jacuzzi (55)
Viewed
Partial View Room (26)
Viewed
River View Room (38)
Viewed
River View Suite (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hood River hotels
0.3 km away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
4.5 km away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.3 km away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
3.5 km away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
320 reviews
1.4 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge at the Gateway to the Beautiful Hood River Valley, the Westcliff Lodge is the ideal place for you to stay while exploring the area. Set on over seven acres overlooking the mighty Columbia River, on our grounds you will find a botanical wonderland including 110 foot tall pine trees and native wild flowers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Westcliff Lodge

Address: 4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-8711 (Formerly Vagabond Lodge)
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Price Range: ₹ 6,218 - ₹ 12,696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Westcliff Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Westcliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Motel Hood River
Vagabond Hotel Hood River
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Westcliff Lodge staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Westcliff Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top Foor of the Riverview Rooms”
  • Room View
  • Best Showerhead Ever!
  • Well-lit Bathroom
  • T V, Frig and Microwave
  • Blue Bird
RushCubFan, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a river view room on the second or third floor.”
HappityTravely, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“go for a river view on the top floor so you don't have to listen to the upstairs neighbor stomping on the ceiling”
lowlander46, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You definitely want to be looking at the Columbia River.”
470PaulP, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beautiful view with small balcony on top floor”
DEG16, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5