We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Portland SE - Clackamas Area, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
75 82nd Drive, Gladstone, OR 97027-2522
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Tripadvisor$122
Hotels.com
Booking.com$122
Travelocity$122
HIExpress.com
Priceline
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (58)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (15)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located on the banks of the beautiful Clackamas River in Gladstone. Our hotel offers generously sized rooms that overlooks the spectacular view of the Clackamas River. Complimentary amenities include Breakfast Buffet, Wi-Fi, indoor heated pool, whirlpool, and Fitness Center. All rooms feature a high-definition TV programming, microwave and mini fridge. With easy access to I-205, we are situated just minutes from Clackamas Town Center, Oregon Trail Interpretive Center and Portland International Airport. Planning a meeting? Consider our Clackamas Room, perfect for business events or team meetings. For business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area is your perfect choice for your visit to the Clackamas area.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Convenience store
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
138Reviews2Q+A40Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 38
  • 47
  • 23
  • 17
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mike F wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
I've been using this hotel for the past 7 years as I would travel into the area. I was honestly stunned at how badly and quickly the property has deteriorated. Dirty. Unkept. Doorknobs and locks broken off doors and not replaced. Exterior windows are just covered with thick cobwebs and dirt. Upholstery in the rooms is stained, holes in walls are spackled but not repainted. My assumption is that this property is either going to be closed or sold, and so the current management is just milking whatever revenue they can get out of it without investing anything more into it. It has always been my go-to place in this area, but sadly it was the grossest Holiday Inn Express I've stayed at - and I've stayed at a lot.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Angela F wrote a review Oct 2022
Terrible. looked at room and immediately checked out. Where do I start?? I don't mind the construction in the lobby... what I mind is that this place is dirty and unsafe. The door right down the hall from my room had a demolished lock (see photo). Rooms are RIGHT on the highway, which would have been more of a problem had the janky old heater/ac unit not been loud enough to cover up the highway noise! Of course, while admiring my view of the highway, I focused in on the COBWEBS decorating my window. Not a few... a lot! Did I mention the smell in my room? Evidently in this hotel, you still have to designate you want a "no smoking room", or it will be assumed you like to smoke in bed... (hey whatever floats your boat, just saying I didn't know I needed to make my preferences clear!) Who stays in a place like this?? The only saving grace is that the front desk associate allowed me to cancel my reservation despite their cancellation policies, but only after explaining that I felt entirely unsafe staying at this particular property. I chose to book my stay based on reviews and photos on the IHG website. Suffice it to say I feel tricked. Holiday Inn Exp. lost a customer. I will not be staying at their properties as the website pics aren't accurate at all to my experience. Not even a little bit.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE - Clackamas Area, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 Nov 2022
Hi Angela F, We appreciate you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express hotel brand for this trip and for sharing your feedback. I am glad to have been a host to one of our valued guests. I trust that all is well. We take pride in offering our guests an engaging place to rest, but I'm sorry to learn about the issues encountered during your visit. I have shared your comments with our Hotel Management team. I am sure they will use this as a reference for improvement. I also have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your stay. I hope you give us the chance to turn things around the next time you stay with us. Kind regards, Glaiza G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
david k wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
I stay all over the world and i have to say the Front staff Caleb was extremely accommodating. He went completely above and beyond for me to make me feel comfortable and for this I give him and Holiday Inn five stars. Also my room had a beautiful view of the river.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lowpro wrote a review Oct 2022
Florida441 contributions178 helpful votes
We were here for a wedding and the groom suggested this hotel. Tired, run-down, lobby in disarray, only (4) hangers in the room, air conditioner didn't work when we arrived. Train tracks not too far away blowing their horns at 6:30 am. The people were very friendly, though. I would not recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Joan C wrote a review Aug 2022
Reserve, New Mexico814 contributions251 helpful votes
We stayed here a few nights recently. Sadly, I can recall when this was a nice place. Not any more. It's deteriorated and is not clean nor kept up. Where to start? Mold, pick the color of mold you like and they have it. Pink mold, black mold, green mold, it's all there. Our shower was lined with pink mold. The couch in our suite had split upholstery with the stuffing showing, there was litter throughout the hallways the entire length of our stay, the guest laundry was disgustingly filthy and moldy with extra thick black mold in the washing machines. Marijuana. This is allegedly a nonsmoking facility. One night of our stay we returned and when we got to our floor were overpowered by a wretched reek. My first though, having lived rurally, was "a skunk sprayed here." I immediately thought that highly improbable on the third floor and then I realized it was weed. The entire hallway was permeated with the smell, obviously coming from one room. When we reached our room at the end of the hall, yay! The smell had seeped into our room. Hence doing laundry the following day to get the smell out of our clothing. I called the front desk to complain and they said they didn't know where it was coming from and couldn't do anything about it, but when housekeeping cleaned tomorrow they would know and fine the people $250. Well, good for Holiday Inn, sucks for every other guest on that floor. Next day asked the guy at the desk about comping one of our nights due to the smell (we ended up stuffing a towel under the door to minimize the seepage). He said he couldn't refund anything because we booked through hotels.com. So, long story long, this place is run down, they don't care about their guests, and the neighborhood is sketchy. Go stay someplace else. The pool also had mold, I almost forgot about that one too. Disgusting.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not stay here. Next to freeway and noisy all night
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE - Clackamas Area, an IHG Hotel
Responded 28 Aug 2022
Hello joancL1112BV, We appreciate your feedback. It is great to hear from one of our valued guests Here at Holiday Inn Express, we always ensure that we give the best hospitality in town. I am sorry about the issues you had during your stay. I will be sharing your feedback with hotel management for review. We hope you can give us a chance to regain your trust and confidence in our service. Stay Safe! Carl J. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TAMAN1951 wrote a review May 2022
Liberty Lake, Washington5982 contributions799 helpful votes
Location is a little odd, kind of hidden behind a grocery store but convenient to other places in the area. Very friendly checkin staff. OK room size and decent comfort. Bath area is clean but a little small. I like the pantry item selection. Typical HIE. Fair rates
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE - Clackamas Area, an IHG Hotel
Responded 19 Jun 2022
Hello TAMAN1951, We are very interested in your opinion about your stay with us on our property. We need insights like yours to improve our quality and constantly aim higher for our guests' enjoyment. I apologize for not meeting some of your expectations, and I have shared your sentiment with our management to ensure proper action is taken. We are deeply thankful for choosing our establishment for your accommodation. We hope to serve you again soon. Alejandro G. Case Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
julie p wrote a review May 2022
gleneden beach, oregon11 contributions2 helpful votes
Our Mother’s day weekend was totally ruined! Don't bother with this place. It used to be just ok, but now?? Rundown, front desk people don't even know what rooms they have or their locations. We had stayed in this motel many times over the last 8 years. The place used to have regular employees that you knew by site and they remembered your name. Their website wasn't working on the day I was making the reservation and when I called directly to the motel, the front desk guy said he was super busy and that to go to reservations.com since their website wasn’t working and he had a bunch of people at the front desk and didn’t have time to help me. I was directed to a 3rd party ( Reservations.com) Which charged me $20 just to make a reservation, which I had no clue of until I checked my bank account! NEVER use Reservations.com!! I called directly to the hotel to verify the room I reserved for 2 nights, because the email I received from Reservations.com wasn't the correct one, the front desk guy assured me they would fix it. I needed the King, extra floor space room on the first the first floor as I'm handicapped and can't walk very far, so needed to be close to the lobby/front doors. I called again a couple days later to reassure myself that they had the reservation right. Well, no it wasn’t right, they had my reservation totally messed up! I was assured that I would now be put into a double Q L shaped room., (which has a little side bedroom with it's own Q and TV, etc. ) What happened to REGULAR EMPLOYEES???? When we arrived, the front desk people obviously didn't know their ass from a hole in the ground, couldn't figure out which room we were supposed to have, couldn't find the reservation in their system, couldn't find the room I reserved, neither the extra room King room I originally reserved, or the double Q L shaped room. I explained that the day I was trying to reserve the room that their own website was malfunctioning and I couldn’t make the reservation thru their own website. The brunette girl with the big fake eyelashes agreed and said management was aware of the problem. I again explained that I was handicapped and they had assured me the double Q L shaped room was available. I asked if the Sauna was now working and they assured me it was(for my husband). They said that my payment would be less than the original amount thru Reservations.com. My husband finally schlepps all our stuff to our room (couldn’t find a cart anywhere) and I follow up in the elevator and then realize I have to walk hundreds of feet down the hall to get to our room which was clear to the south end of the building. I have severe breathing issues and just about didn't make it. We get inside and realize it's just a regular 2 Q bedroom, no L shape, way far away from the elevator, the smell from the cleaning solvents just about gagged us both. We realized the heater was on, turned it way down, opened the window (it only opens a crack for safety purposes) the window was filthy and had debris in the window track from winter. We propped open the room door to get some air thru so we could actually breathe. We were so worn out at that point that we just said whatever!! My husband went down to check out the pool/sauna and reported back that the sauna was not working and it hadn’t been working since the last time we stayed there, at least 3 years ago. The pool was full of little kids and teenagers playing water volleyball! There was no way anyone else could go into the pool. The chair at the desk was broken, and you nearly fell backward if you leaned back in it at all. There were spots on the walls that had been patched then not even painted over, the rug was filthy and smelled. We got cleaned up a bit and left to go visit our daughter for a couple hours. When we arrived back at the motel, the place was packed with out of state cars/ families with little kids running all over the place! Must have been some sports tournament in the area. People were running down the hall, little kids screaming and crying, door slamming until well after 10 p.m. We noticed the heater/AC unit was running even tho we had turned it way down. It was running heat! It was clearly malfunctioning and so we unplugged it and realized the carpet all around that side of the room was wet. My husband called the front desk and explained that the heater/AC unit was malfunctioning and that he had unplugged it and the carpet was soaked! We tried to just go to bed and finally after listening to a little girl screaming her bloody head off for 15 min. my husband pounded on the adjoining wall and yelled “ Quite that poor child down!!” We decided right then that we wouldn’t be staying a second night. We called down to the front desk and told them that we wanted to cancel the second night and they told us there was nothing they could do about it, we’d have to contact Reservations.com. We called the 800 number for them and no one answered, I tried that a couple of times, no one answered. I then looked them up and realized they are based in China! I then tried to call the 800 number for the Holiday Inn Express and a recording said they were only open Mon-Friday, 8 to 5..Really????? The next morning my husband went down to the front desk again and explained the situation and that we couldn’t even reach Reservations.com of course there was a different person there now. They again stated nothing they could do about canceling the second night. I then retried calling Reservations.com and got the run around for about 10 minutes when the woman finally got back to me and said, oh sorry, you can’t cancel, you checked off on that when you made the reservation!! So we ended up packing up and decided to just drive back home (3hrs) after we visited with our 92 year old mom for a much shorter time than we had planned so we could get home before dark and in a violent rain storm. I hope that she’s still alive next Mother’s Day!! DON’T STAY HERE, YOU WILL BE SORRY!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE - Clackamas Area, an IHG Hotel
Responded 26 May 2022
Hi julie p, Thank you for your feedback on Holiday Inn Express Portland SE - Clackamas Area. Our hotel is the perfect place to enjoy the simplicity of travel. I read your remarks and I am sorry for the issues during your stay. I know this is not what you expected from a quality chain like ours. I shared your comments with our personnel and maintenance managers so they can take immediate action to prevent this from happening again. I send you a private message so we can discuss your stay further. I invited you to visit us on your next trip so we can change your mind about us. Regards, Oscar C. Case Manager IHG Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joan C wrote a review Nov 2021
Reserve, New Mexico814 contributions251 helpful votes
We spent a couple nights here last week. It was very wet and rainy and they put us in a bottom floor room. It felt dark and dank. The room overlooked the river. Perfectly fine, but Gladstone in general seems to be going downhill. It felt sketchy outside and there were quite a few folks cutting across the lawn outside our room during our stay. Staff was nice. The window was screened and opened.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Bduncan wrote a review Aug 2021
Portland, Oregon2 contributions
Location was good. Parking easy. Convenient to have a Safeway so close. Free breakfast was very meager, not worth mentioning. Front desk staff were weird and inconsistent, probably just scrambling to fill spots during pandemic. In checking out, lady at front desk refused to print off a copy of my receipt, just said “no.” Housecleaning was non-existent.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Trains run by almost every night. Can hear it and feel it.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE - Clackamas Area, an IHG Hotel
Responded 9 Nov 2021
Dear diuretic, thank you for sharing your impressions of your recent stay with us. I am very happy that the location of our hotel and the easy parking met your expectations. We strive to provide the best possible service as well as experience, and it is always great to hear from our valued guests on how we are doing. I also take note regarding your comments about the variety of our breakfast and that no housekeeping was available. Please be assured that I will forward your comments to our team in order to provide a better experience in the future. I apologize if this might have caused you inconvenience. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We would be delighted if you visit us again in the future. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sofaglue wrote a review Jul 2021
Redmond, Washington1 contribution
+1
The greeting: “There isn’t housekeeping, so you need to come to the front desk if you need towels and wash rags. The hot tub is off limits…” The parking lot: rando people hanging out, watching us come and go unloading our luggage. Non-disabled people parked in disabled access spaces. The room: reeks of air freshener, and for good reason; dog hair, pubes in the bathroom, vomit (not kidding, we have pics) under the sink. Wobbly desk leveled with a bit of paper. Clothes iron doesn’t work. Refrigerator is crusted with ice, had to defrost to use it. Looks like a biker gang has checked in. Good times. What the hell am I doing here? Don’t stay here. Just. Don’t. Horrific.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$122 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
oxford suites portland - gladstone hotel gladstone, oxford hotel gladstone
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Oxford Suites Portland - Gladstone
LOCATION
United StatesOregonClackamas CountyGladstone
NUMBER OF ROOMS
99
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS PORTLAND SE - CLACKAMAS AREA, AN IHG HOTEL (Gladstone) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Portland SE - Clackamas Area, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Portland SE - Clackamas Area, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Gladstone Farmers Market (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE - Clackamas Area, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE - Clackamas Area, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE - Clackamas Area, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE - Clackamas Area, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Portland SE - Clackamas Area, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Masala Box, Crossroads Coffee Cafe, and Gaffer's Pub.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE - Clackamas Area, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Holiday Inn Express Portland SE - Clackamas Area, an IHG Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Gladstone.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE - Clackamas Area, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express Portland SE - Clackamas Area, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Portland SE - Clackamas Area, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Oregon City Municipal Elevator (3.3 km), McLoughlin House (3.2 km), and Deadman Pass Viewpoint (1.3 km).