We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Waves

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Waves
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Waves
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,179: English reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Came to Cannon to my best friend's wedding. Little did we know it would be a weekend of a record storm. Typhoon weather and even a tornado... In anticipation of the impending storm (possible power outages and cold nights without heat), and to ensure my comfort, the Waves staff called me and offered to upgrade my room to one with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BenTharDunIt
Greg S, Owner at The Waves, responded to this review

Ben, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others. That was a wild weekend for a wedding with all the storms. I hope you had a good time visiting Cannon Beach and appreciate you choosing to stay with us. Regards, Greg Swedenborg

Washougal, Washington
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Staff did a great job of preparing us for the weather event,Brought flashlights to our room and explained options in case power was lost.Gas fireplace and hot/cold water were available throughout the windstorm. thank you great place to stay, great views of ocean and great staff.We will return.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank michellechilcote
Greg S, Owner at The Waves, responded to this review

Michelle, I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you felt safe and comfortable despite the weather. That storm was a little bigger than normal and we appreciate you putting up with the quirks of costal living (possible power outages, etc.). Regards, Greg Swedenborg

Welches, Oregon
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately we didn't get to stay our whole stay because we were concerned about the weather. We came when their was supposed to be 100+ mile an hour winds. However we were able to stay one night and it was fabulous. The room is large with vaulted ceilings. Very up to date and comfortable. Bed was soft and the bathtub...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DeLynn45
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Very clean and comfortable room. Beautiful view of the northern coast of Cannon Beach (although when booking they said a full panoramic view of the beach) from the deck. If you like to stay in the downtown location this is a great pick.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We had one of the Flagship suites. Ocean view, deck and a bit of yard, full kitchen, 2 large bedrooms, 2 full baths (one with a Jacuzzi), great kitchen cookware, utensils, table settings. They will loan you anything that is not in your room, such as an electric griddle for making pancakes. On the beach and 1/2 block from the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank laurel j
Bonney Lake, Washington
Reviewed 12 October 2016

The room was very confortable! It was nice having dishes and stuff to make us feel right at home. The fireplace added warmth, coziness and romance to our stay! So many interesting shops and restaurants within walking distance to choice from that we ate at a different place each night!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jharri_126204
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2016

An outstanding location, within a few metres from the beach: our room also had sea views. Excellent arrival via the staff in the office. Gas fire, good shower, comfortable bed, useful kitchen in room. But the highlight must be the location - Cannon Beach is extraordinarily beautiful, the Haystack just to the south, Bird Rocks to the north, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David W
Woodland, Washington
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Very nice two queen bedroom suite. Clean and well supplied with a small kitchen for cooking. The front desk was very helpful when I needed something printed. There was a quick check in. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kjswimmom
Plano, Texas
Reviewed 8 October 2016

The location was great. Our room looked out over the beach and we could hear, see and smell the ocean. Really nice. The blinds on the windows are translucent so if you want real dark to sleep in, like me, you are out of luck. The bed was the softest and lumpiest mattress we've ever slept on and it aggravated...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnbZ1208AD
Greg S, Owner at The Waves, responded to this review

John, I'm glad you enjoyed our downtown ocean front location and the room despite the bed. As mentioned to you when you left we would look into it and we did replace that bed that day. If we know of the issue we can usually resolve anything in minutes as we live on property. For the record, we do not...

Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Located in the heart of Cannon Beach and walking distant to all shops and restaurants. Large room with fireplace and deck. Very comfortable bed. Definitely above average accommodation and will stay here next time in area.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gary S
Greg S, Owner at The Waves, responded to this review

Gary, Thank you for staying with us and for the kind feedback. We hope you will stay with us the next time you are in the area. With 17 different room types we try our best to make sure you have an enjoyable stay in the right kind of room. Regards, Greg Swedenborg

582 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (245)
Viewed
View from Room (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (97)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (285)
Viewed
Beach (5)
Viewed
Flagship King Studio (48)
Viewed
Garden Court King Twin (29)
Viewed
Hot Tub (3)
Viewed
La Colina Queen Loft (35)
Viewed
La Colina Queen Studio (44)
Viewed
Southwind King Studio (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (12)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Flagship Suite (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
2.5 km away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,413 reviews
2.7 km away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,451 reviews
3.0 km away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,498 reviews
0.6 km away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
216 reviews
0.0 km away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#12 of 14 in Cannon Beach
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Waves is a unique Ocean Front property in the village center of Cannon Beach. Eight different buildings and five classic cottages offer lodging options from romantic studios to large family suites. Most rooms have kitchens, fireplaces, private decks and are either Ocean Front or Ocean View with a few non-view options. Locally owned and family operated for 30 years, The Waves, has accommodations to meet every budget with an unbeatable location. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Waves

Address: 188 W 2nd Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-2005
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Price Range: ₹ 7,658 - ₹ 24,938 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Waves 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Motel Cannon Beach
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Waves staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Waves staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are a lot of rooms, but not all are directly facing the ocean. If that is important to you, check that you get what you want.”
 of 5 bubbles Traveler4159, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Love the Flagship rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Z4449ELmikem, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Will definitely return and rebook an ocean front unit again.”
 of 5 bubbles 874murrayj, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The ocean view is amazing, but there are lots of stairs to the 2nd floor and no elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles lauraduff, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check out the rooms online before you book to get the view you want.”
 of 5 bubbles 647stevew, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5