Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, an IHG Hotel

Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, an IHG Hotel

Traveller (27)
Breakfast Bar
Dining (11)
Two Queen Guest Room
Room & Suite (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#2 of 5 hotels in Tiffin
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Holiday Inn Express Tiffin Hotel is located just minutes from downtown Tiffin, within close proximity to American Fine Sinter, American Standard, Ameriwood Industries, Fry Foods, Laminent Technologies, Mercy Hospital of Tiffin, National Machinery, Palfinger USA, Taiho Corp., Sonoco Products, Tiffin Metal, Tiffin Loader Crane, and many more local businesses. We are proud to boast the scholastic and athletic accomplishments of Tiffin University and Heidelberg College. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, our professional, friendly staff looks forward to the opportunity to make your overnight accommodations satisfying and enjoyable. We go out of our way to meet and exceed each of our guest's expectations. Just one visit with us will leave you with an 'at home' feeling! Hotel features include 100% unconditional satisfaction guarantee, free HSIA, new 'Simply Smart' bedding and signature 'shower head', micro/fridge in every room, Complimentary Otis Spunkmeyer Cookies served daily, free USA Today, free HBO, CNN, ESPN and a special Japanese channel. Enjoy the new 'Express Start' hot breakfast bar served every morning featuring healthy foods and traditional omletes, bacon, our signature cinnamon roll, and much more. Visit Tiffin, OH and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
102Reviews2Q+A17Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 42
  • 39
  • 11
  • 4
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Joe E wrote a review Aug 2022
Hotel's Favourite
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel looks very nice from the outside and in the lobby, but was less so beyond that. We stayed in a king bed suite which had a sleeper sofa, a small kitchen counter with a sink, microwave and mini fridge.

The room was generally clean although there had been some recent plaster work on the ceiling and in the bathroom. There was a lot of fuzz/lint on the sofa. The storage areas under the sink were boarded up with plywood painted to match the dark wood in the room.

The bed was really high. I am nearly 6' tall and had to climb in as the top of the mattress was above a level that I could sit on. Also, the bedding was all recently laundered but had a number of tiny stains and scuffs on the sheets and pillowcases.

The bathroom was quite spacious and the shower had plenty of room. The shower head was a bit worn out and was hard to switch between settings. Several of the large tiles on the floor were loose and moved when you stepped on them.

The one person working the night we checked in was fantastic. She went to several floors to find us extra pillows and brought additional towels. There were only 2 when we checked in.

The mini fridge did not seem to be working well and had an odd musty smell. There were also a number of laundry products in the closet that seemed out of place and looked like they may have been left by a previous person staying in the room.

Breakfast was free and as expected for a hotel like this. There was a good selection of yogurt, muffins, fruit, make your own pancakes and breads, along with scrambled eggs, sausage links and biscuits and gravy. The staff working at breakfast were helpful and friendly.

Overall, we would stay here again as there are only 3 major hotels in Tiffin and we won't ever stay at one of them.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If someone will be sleeping on the pull out sleeper sofa, be sure to ask for bedding and pillows...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jodylync wrote a review Feb 2020
Columbus, OH
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were in town for a college visit and wanted to explore Tiffin. This hotel is in the busier side of town so we were near shopping, movies, and grocery.

The lobby is very new and modern. Check in staff was helpful and friendly. The pool is just off the lobby though so there was a strong smell of chlorine. Our connecting rooms were on the 2nd floor. We got standards with two queens.

The rooms were clean and modern. There are little light switches on the furniture that activate lights above the wardrobe or headboards. So much nicer than harsh lamps that take up space.

The beds were super comfortable with a variety of pillows. The bedding was also very comfortable. Additionally, there was a microwave, K cup coffee maker, and fridge in the room.

The bathroom consisted of one sink, toilet, and glass shower. There were standard sample size soap and makeup wipes. In the shower were pumps for shower gel, shampoo, and conditioner. The lights in the bathroom were weird though. There are two switches. One for the overhead light. The other is for the mirror light and fan. Since the fan is part of the overhead light, I am surprised that the fan was connected to the mirror light switch.

Breakfast was standard Holiday Inn Express fare. There was the pancake machine and cinnamon rolls. In the fridge are yogurt, hard boiled eggs, and cartons of milk. Next is the bread area that had some variety of bread and pastries. The hot food consisted of egg white omelettes, turkey sausage patties, cheese omelettes, biscuits, and sausage gravy. There was also an oatmeal station, cereal, and whole fruit.
In addition to coffee, there was a juice machine. I am surprised and disappointed that this hotel did not have an iced water dispenser at the coffee station. Many hotel chains include an ice water dispenser at their coffee stations in or near the lobby.

Overall, we had a very good stay and would definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pope Phred wrote a review Aug 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent two nights during am event at Heidelberg. The check in process was easy, and by and large, the room was spacious (though the beds were higher than necessary). Whenever we had a need, the staff was quick to meet our requests for towels, k-cups, etc. Each employee was friendly and kind.

Each morning featured a full continental breakfast, featuring biscuits and gravy, sausage, eggs, cinnamon rolls, and other breakfast staples.

One drawback we encountered was not really the fault of the hotel. A large group belonging to a girls softball team, chose to make the hotel their personal part headquarters. The noise they generated was disruptive, and they were rude to management when they were asked to control themselves.

As I was checking out, I do appreciate the hotel manager informing the leader of the group that their business would no longer be welcome. Thank you, Holiday Inn Express, Tiffin for addressing the concerns of your patrons.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jubilee Jer wrote a review Jul 2021
Springfield, Ohio
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 3 nights in July 2021. The hotel was fairly clean. Our suite was very big and spacious. The room was fairly clean. There was a few things that hadn’t been cleaned for a while like the fire sprinkler nozzle on the wall above the bed was filthy. It had filth on it and cob webs. It hadn’t been cleaned in a while. The pool was really too cold for my taste. Breakfast was good the buffet was back open with no Covid restrictions. There were no maids to be found anywhere and we could not get our towels replaced. Something about our room kept our towels wet the entire time we were there and they never dried. A lot of humility in the room I guess.
Also the parking lot was very small with a lot of work trucks in it so it was hard to park my Silveraldo 3500 in the small spaces in between all the work trucks. Don’t even think about a vehicle with a trailer unless you want to park on the street.
All together it was a fairly nice hotel with a few quirks. Most of the Covid restrictions had been lifted which was a huge plus for us.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Travel N wrote a review Mar 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here on multiple occasions, but on the most recent one I was actually thrown out by the General Manager, Teresa Weinstein for asking the housekeeping to properly clean my room. I was accused of complaining too much and needing to bring my standards down. I didn't realize that my standard needed to be less than that of Holiday Inn cleaning standard. Below is straight from the IHG website...this is all I EVER asked for (and not at all what I got)...

"With the IHG Clean Promise, guests are reassured that: Good isn’t good enough – we’re committed to high levels of cleanliness. That means clean, well maintained, clutter free rooms that meet our standards. If this isn’t what you find when you check-in then we promise to make it right."

No one ever made anything right..instead I was asked to leave the property. I was bullied by the GM over the phone and then continued to harass my family even after I left. She was upset that I made a claim with IHG. She also tried to bill my company (who was paying for the room) an additional day after I checked out.

Dealing with this lady has been a pure nightmare. Avoid this hotel like the plague!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Walls are thin; when doors slam you can hear them no matter where you are on the floor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, an IHG Hotel
Responded 5 Apr 2022
Hi 573traveln, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We strives to create quality relaxing stays. I'm concerned to learn that did not happen due to the issues encountered during your visit. Please know that your feedback is valuable to us. We use comments, much like yours, in an effort to identify areas of improvement all around our hotel. I will bring your concerns up to hotel management and ownership so we may find solutions to the issues you have raised. I also sent you a private message to follow up and obtain more details. We value your business and we hope this incident doesn't stop you from choosing IHG Hotels & Resorts again for your future trips! Best, Jonathan A Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vb B wrote a review Jun 2024
1.0 of 5 bubbles
A friend booked a block of rooms at this property for wedding guests after the hotel they wanted to book was unable to provide all the rooms they needed. We don't usually stay at Holiday Inn properties but based on the prices and online pictures we were expecting a nice weekend. When we arrived the room we were given had a horrible chlorine odor and was not very clean. We requested another room and were given one two doors farther down the hall. That one smelled like dirty socks. We returned to the front desk where another guest was complaining about the cleanliness of her room. Said she found half eaten chicken in her refrigerator too. By way of explanation the manager said not all rooms are cleaned every day. We were given room on the top floor and while the dirty sock smell was better the room still smelled. The shower was not that clean and my husband ended up dusting. Based on cleanliness of the rooms we decided to skip breakfast. Given the prices and problems with multiple rooms we won't be staying at Holiday Inn properties. There are too many better options.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi 601vbb, Thank you for staying and sharing your experience at our Holiday Inn Express Tiffin during the wedding. We appreciate you doing business with us! We're committed to providing you with the best overall experience. I'm sorry about the issues you encountered. I brought this up to our local management's attention. I'm confident that the necessary actions will be taken to ensure better service. I also sent you a private message discussing this further. We look forward to seeing you again on your future trips, and we'll do our best to make your next stay better than the last! Safe travels, Jomar M. Case Manager IHG Hotels & Resorts Service
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Randy P. wrote a review Feb 2020
Cherry Valley, Illinois
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here 2-11-20. Easy to get to and out of. The hotel apperaedto be new/newer.
Clean room, decent wifi no complaints. The bed was very comfortable. The shower head seemed to be a water mizer and I would have preferred a broader spray if can be critical. The free breakfast was good and saved a little money from having to go to Bob Evans.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: The 3rd floor is quiet.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
luv2trvl_8 wrote a review Apr 2015
southern ontario
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for one night. Hotel is a recent update so the rooms were nice and had newer furniture and tv.
The room had one king bed and a pull out couch. Unfortunately, the couch had dirty sheets on it and was not very comfy. Decided not to use it.
The breakfast was sufficient and dining area clean but small.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, an IHG Hotel
Responded 22 Apr 2015
Dear luv2trvl_8, Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am more than happy that you enjoyed our new modern interior and our nice rooms. However, I want to apologize that the level of cleanliness was not up to standards. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Sincerely, Pascal N Case Manager IHGCare
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dodi C wrote a review Mar 2015
Newport, Michigan
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was traveling for business for pretty much the whole month of February and stayed at the holiday inn express in tiffin. I woke one day to a very cold and snowy day. When I went to start my car, it wouldn't start. I went back into the hotel where they processed to get some jumper cables and assist me with their own car and jumped my in the bitter cold and snow without hesitation. Joe was the employee who help jump my car with the managers car, Brad. I had called AAA would of taken 2 plus hours. After I was jumped, I went back into the hotel to let my car charge where they were still very helpful in offering hot coffee. I greatly appreciate their hostility. Being away from home and never having auto problem, it was really nice of them to jump in and help. Plus, to add the bad weather, they didn't hesitate in helping. Also, after they helped me another lady had locked herself out of you automobile and they took her to work, picked her back up at the end of the day, and helped her with getting a service to get into her car. They were great. Thanks for all they did. Thank you Joe and Brad for your kind services.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: All rooms were good.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from albentz, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, an IHG Hotel
Responded 16 Mar 2015
Dodi, Thank you for taking time out to write a great review about your stay with us here at the Tiffin Holiday Inn Express. I am so glad to hear that Brad and Joe could be such great help to you in your time of need. We are proud of our hotel and we love our guests!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kujhawk wrote a review Oct 2006
Phoenix, Arizona
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It's a lot easier to write reviews about bad stays rather than good ones. When you have a good stay, everything runs smoothly and nothing sticks out in your mind like it does with a bad stay.

That said, this hotel falls into the good stay category. The staff was friendly. The rooms were clean and large. The bathrooms were very large for this level hotel and were clean...none of that grayish-black mold found in so many hotel showers.

The only negative for this visit was the reason for the visit - a funeral. But the hotel was a nice find...a surprisingly nice find in a town that was very pleasant as well.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2006
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
occams-razor asked a question Feb 2019
Antioch, Illinois87 contributions69 helpful votes
is there a hot tub in pool area?
Answer from Rand R
Ohio29 contributions24 helpful votes
No there is not .
travelincindy asked a question Feb 2016
ohio59 contributions30 helpful votes
Do you have smoking rooms available?
Answer from Rand R
Ohio29 contributions24 helpful votes
not when we were there .
Joe E wrote a tip Aug 2022
17 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If someone will be sleeping on the pull out sleeper sofa, be sure to ask for bedding and pillows when you check in. There was very little in the room. "
Read full review
Travel N wrote a tip Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Walls are thin; when doors slam you can hear them no matter where you are on the floor"
Read full review
Randy P. wrote a tip Feb 2020
Cherry Valley, Illinois114 contributions47 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The 3rd floor is quiet."
Read full review
J F wrote a tip Jul 2019
United States138 contributions89 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you have 5 people ask for a roll away and a bigger room."
Read full review
lturner2016 wrote a tip Mar 2018
Redford, Michigan47 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"stay away from the first floor"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tiffin area.
PRICE RANGE
₹12,611 - ₹16,035 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express tiffin hotel tiffin, holiday inn tiffin, tiffin holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesOhioTiffin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS TIFFIN, AN IHG HOTEL - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Walmart Supercenter (0.5 km), Tiffin University Athletic Fields (0.8 km), and Expressions II (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Xcaret Mexican Restaurant, Frisch's Big Boy, and Bob Evans.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Is Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Tiffin HotelsTiffin Hotel DealsHotels near Holiday Inn Express Tiffin, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire