We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tranquil Retreat Cabins

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Bloomingville
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Tranquil Retreat Cabins
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Tranquil Retreat Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Showing 48: English reviews
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 3 December 2015

My boyfriend and I booked 2 nights. It was smaller than expected but still cozy. The hot tub looked like either it hadn't been turned on in awhile (lots of stuff floating in it) and just dirty ... we didn't use it. After the first night, we went out into town for the morning and afternoon. We came back around...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank clevelandgirl608
Reviewed 11 May 2015

We stayed at the A frame for our first anniversary. We were very disappointed by the accomodations. Like many others on here my husband and I noted many broken things that were never fixed. The Bad: The hot tub water was opaque and smelled like fish. No BBQ grill even though it was said to have one on the booking...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Constance A
daceealeese, Owner at Tranquil Retreat Cabins, responded to this review

To our guests: I am very sorry for the problems at the cabin. My partner of 18 years is dying of Copd. He has not been able to do some of the repairs nor have we been able to get those fixed due to health reasons etc. Other family members in and out of the hospital for extensive tests etc....

Dayton
Reviewed 5 May 2015

When we arrived we found there was no hot water. The cabin, which was supposed sleep 3 - 4, had one couch. Without cell service, we waited until the next day to go looking for the management address given on the website. Could not find it. Before the trip I tried to reach the managers but got no answer to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Joan M
daceealeese, Owner at Tranquil Retreat Cabins, responded to this review

To our guests. Sorry for the inconvenience to your stay. The cabin you rented did have issues with the hot-water. The heater went out apparently just prior to your arrival. We were not aware of the problem until after your stay. The hot water heater did get replaced. We have had a lot of illness in the family and were...

Reviewed 16 April 2015

Wow....Another great time at Priscilla's cabin. We try to visit two to three times a year. It was our first visit of the year and as usual the cabin was so beautiful and clean. Our sightings were two bald eagles in flight together. A red fox sitting in the front lawn and we got to see how they tap trees...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
daceealeese, Owner at Tranquil Retreat Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you to our repeat guests. You guys have been coming to our cabins since we opened and have always left the cabin very clean and maintained during your stay. It is always nice to have such wonderful guests stay with us. You always find the positive things about your stay and don't ever try to stay for free or...

Reviewed 16 February 2015 via mobile

My family stayed at the A frame for one night during the President's Day weekend. We got an e- mail that described the charges but we never got a confirmation e- mail despite being promised one. I tried to call to make sure that we were expected but none of 3 phone numbers worked. Two were disconnected and one had...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Jill P
Reviewed 20 November 2014

This was our 5th trip to Tranquil retreats and again a wonderful experience. We stayed at Priscilla's cabin again 2nd time at this one. Wow is all I can say. What a beautiful setting and the hot tub was great. The cabin was spotless as usual. The back gorge as I call it is so beautiful and peaceful. The inside...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol M
daceealeese, Owner at Tranquil Retreat Cabins, responded to this review

Thank You to our guests. We love having such nice people come and stay with us.

Reviewed 1 November 2014

My husband and I are in love with hocking hills! Our family vacations there at least once a year and we always stay at Ash Ridge Cabins because it's perfect and cheap for what you get! However, this time we decided to try somewhere new...how disappointed we were with our experience. We picked Prisilla's Cottage because it was an ideal...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BAVL
Avon, Ohio
Reviewed 19 October 2014

The setting was very private and beautiful. The cabin was roomy and at one time may have been nice. It seemed to be decorated with care. Unfortunately that is all I can say that is positive.There was no communication with management at all. We called with a question when we first got there and did not here back all week....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Romer2022
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at Priscilla's Cottage for a birthday weekend get away. We just loved it! The cabin is beautiful and very private. We especially loved the big front porch and enjoyed our coffee in the morning on it each day. The pictures of the back yard and hot tub on line did not do it justice. The hot tub area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ctjt2014
daceealeese, Owner at Tranquil Retreat Cabins, responded to this review

Thank You so much for the lovely comments. We try very hard to make your stay a good one. We do not advertise Luxury cabins. Our cabins are rather rustic and are intended to be. Our prices are well below most in the area. We have had an overwhelming amount of illness and death in the family in the last...

Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed in the Priscilla's Cottage. It was a lovely cottage and we had a great time. Here is what we liked; 1) Bed very comfortable 2) Facilities clean and complete 3) Hot tub was wonderful. It is situated behind the house and looks out at a beautiful hollow. After a long hike it was heavenly 4) Nice TV and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank K B
daceealeese, Owner at Tranquil Retreat Cabins, responded to this review

Thank You for your review. We try very hard to please our guests. I am not quite sure when you stayed with us but our cabin is only $179 a night and $20 for each additional guests. The cabin only sleeps 4. So that is $219 a night for 4 adults. We offer a lot of amenities for that price....

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Bloomingville
19.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
19.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
4.6 km away
The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Ravenwood Castle
Ravenwood Castle
#1 of 1 in New Plymouth
240 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have 4 cabins on approximately 40 acres of cliffs, rock formations and Water Falls. The other one White Oak is on over 35 acres. The property's are heavily wooded and nature abounds everywhere here. Deer, fox, wild turkey, raccoons, red tailed hawks, are birds are everywhere. Come to a place that is truly magical. Come to Tranquil Retreat and let Nature entertain You. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tranquil Retreat Cabins

Address: 25963 Liberty Hill Rd, South Bloomingville, OH 43152-9756
Region: United States > Ohio > South Bloomingville
Price Range: ₹ 5,325 - ₹ 12,064 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Tranquil Retreat Cabins Ohio/South Bloomingville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tranquil Retreat Cabins staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Tranquil Retreat Cabins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the porches offer lovely outdoor time!”
 of 5 bubbles tibb307, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“please choose a different cabin company.”
 of 5 bubbles Romer2022, 19 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Pick up slippery rugs and make sure you find out how to check in before you go. There is NO cell phone service for Verizon so you cannot make a call to figure this out when you get there.”
 of 5 bubbles kb471, 10 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles Huck2014, 26 May 2014 | Read review
“The Cabin is beautiful! It was really neat to stay in a cabin the was build so long ago.”
 of 5 bubbles MrsPlug, 5 Nov 2013 | Read review
5 of 5