We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tranquil Retreat Cabins

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Bloomingville
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Tranquil Retreat Cabins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
Painesville, Ohio
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We stayed at the Chestnut Homestead and is was perfect for a couple to get away. It is a little deceiving from the outside but very cute on the inside. No cell, no cable bring DVD's. We loved, loved. loved our trip. 2 minutes from Ash Cave. This was a very cute little cabin w/ just the right necessities. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellymelnyk31
Grand Rapids, Ohio
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Just left here this morning and wish I was still there! the cabin was clean but small. Plenty big enough for two however. The only thing I was disappointed with was the fact that the "queen bed" ended up being a futon and not very comfortable. Beautiful view from any part of the wrap-around deck and very peaceful and quiet....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana S
Northfield, Ohio
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Delightful A-frame cabin the woods. We had a party of 5. Its advertised that it sleeps 8. The two queen beds worked well but the futon in extremely uncomfortable for sleeping. There is a pull out couch but that only adds up to sleeping 6 not 8. Not sure where sleeps 8 comes from? There are 3 porches and all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tibb307
Saint Clair, Michigan
Reviewed 28 July 2016

My wife and I rented Priscilla's cabin hoping to get our first getaway in 20 years.Upon arrival at the cabin the first alarm went off when I attempted to walk across the living room floor and felt it give way and crack near the fire place. Then my wife went to the sun room and opened the door and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bowhuntalaska1
daceealeese, Owner at Tranquil Retreat Cabins, responded to this review

we are sorry you had a bad experience at our cabin. We did refund every bit of your money for the simple reason that someone had brought a dog to the cabin apparently and did not tell us. We did bomb the cabin and also used carpet flea application to the sofa's etc. As for the floor we did have...

North Ridgeville, Ohio
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Upon arrival the A-Frame looked very cute and quaint from the outside. Immediately when walking inside it smelled of mildew. There were bugs everywhere. The hot tub smelled of mildew. The water was very slimy. We received two separate check in times. The first email stated 4pm the second email stated noon. The sheets & pillow cases smelled of sweat...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank dfischer03
daceealeese, Owner at Tranquil Retreat Cabins, responded to this review

In response to the above comments. No where did you receive a 12 noon check in. You arrived 4 hours early and unmade all of the beds, etc. I was under the impression that my housekeeper had not been there and cleaned the cabin for 2 1/2 hours myself. So it was cleaned twice. We had not even started doing...

Reviewed 2 July 2016

We stayed in the Cabin by the Cave. When we pulled in, the front porch light was on, plus the lights inside which was so very welcoming, we knew we could settle right in! Charming, delightful, lovely, peaceful, stunning describes this property. The hummingbird feeder gave us endless entertainment, we thoroughly enjoyed starting the day and ending it on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mindy M
daceealeese, Owner at Tranquil Retreat Cabins, responded to this review

Thank You so much for your review. We try very hard to make this a very reasonable price for people to be able to stay. We had a sofa/sleeper in the cottage but the mattress was thin and the bars were uncomfortable. We went to a futon with a 10 inch mattress instead. Much better than a sofa/sleeper. Since the...

Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

There were good and bad things about this stay. This cabin does sleep 8, but the kitchen is not equipped to handle cooking and feeding 8. The description said the kitchen was fully functional and stocked with everyday needs, but instead was extremely small with broken utensils and appliances. Be prepared to bring your own cookware, along with grilling utensils...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shandy C
daceealeese, Owner at Tranquil Retreat Cabins, responded to this review

Thank You for the review. We try very hard to make your stay enjoyable. The cabin is not suitable for cooking for a party that large. Most use the grill etc. and the fire pit provided. Your reservation was for a party of 4 not 8. Somewhere that amount of guests was not confirmed. When we built the cabin it...

Reviewed 22 June 2016

I can not count how many times we have been to Tranquil Retreat. But each and every time is a treat no matter what the season. This was the perfect summer weekend for us it was beautiful with the flowers that Sharon plants and the hummingbird feeders on the front porch. The cabin is always spotless and the hot tub...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
daceealeese, Owner at Tranquil Retreat Cabins, responded to this review

Carol, Thank You so much for the kind review. We try so hard to make your stay a comfortable one. With deaths in the family and a 96 year old mother with memory loss and broken bones and a son in and out of the hospital it has been a tough year or so. Then my housekeepers husband died suddenly...

Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

When we got there we were so excited the place was so cute and secluded. Yes it was a bit dirty we cleaned a little for them. There were some holes in the wall that were fixed but not painted over there was missing pieces to the vertical blinds. On Monday morning my husband and I were being intimate and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nicole D
daceealeese, Owner at Tranquil Retreat Cabins, responded to this review

I am so sorry for the inconveniences you had. We had a couple staying prior to you that got into an agreement and literally tore things up. We tried to get the walls etc. redone before your arrival. The blinds have been replaced by curtains and the walls are in the process of being repainted. The cabin has been rented...

Lincoln Park, Michigan
Reviewed 25 March 2016

My husband and I stayed in Priscilla's and we just loved it from the time we pulled in the driveway we could see the cozy lights up on the mantel of the fire place, the stream that runs on the side of the cottage, the hot tub in our private backyard, to walking in the cottage with the beautiful wood...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank evbreemama
daceealeese, Owner at Tranquil Retreat Cabins, responded to this review

Thank You so much for the review. It is quite amazing how one couple can see so many good things about a cabin that others only find bad. But that is people. I have worked in a customer oriented business for over 30 years and have seen it all and heard it all. As my Grandson Ethan said when he...

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Bloomingville
19.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
19.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
4.6 km away
The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Ravenwood Castle
Ravenwood Castle
#1 of 1 in New Plymouth
240 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have 4 cabins on approximately 40 acres of cliffs, rock formations and Water Falls. The other one White Oak is on over 35 acres. The property's are heavily wooded and nature abounds everywhere here. Deer, fox, wild turkey, raccoons, red tailed hawks, are birds are everywhere. Come to a place that is truly magical. Come to Tranquil Retreat and let Nature entertain You. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tranquil Retreat Cabins

Address: 25963 Liberty Hill Rd, South Bloomingville, OH 43152-9756
Region: United States > Ohio > South Bloomingville
Price Range: ₹ 5,325 - ₹ 12,064 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Tranquil Retreat Cabins Ohio/South Bloomingville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tranquil Retreat Cabins staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Tranquil Retreat Cabins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the porches offer lovely outdoor time!”
 of 5 bubbles tibb307, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“please choose a different cabin company.”
 of 5 bubbles Romer2022, 19 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Pick up slippery rugs and make sure you find out how to check in before you go. There is NO cell phone service for Verizon so you cannot make a call to figure this out when you get there.”
 of 5 bubbles kb471, 10 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles Huck2014, 26 May 2014 | Read review
“The Cabin is beautiful! It was really neat to stay in a cabin the was build so long ago.”
 of 5 bubbles MrsPlug, 5 Nov 2013 | Read review
5 of 5