We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castaway Bay

Orbitz.comUS$ 204*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 204*
US$ 204*
US$ 204*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Castaway Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

968 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castaway Bay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 965: English reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was a great trip, I will take it again. Everything was clean, everyone was friendly and the water park was great fun. Basically I have no complaints, even satisfied with the price of stay, not the food, drinks etc but I expected over pricing. Lol. Also I thought it was a little of an inconvenience as a smoker to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for the five star review and the helpful feedback.

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We decided to indulge in an impromptu mini vacation with our three children and chose Castaway Bay as our destination. I had great hope for this Cedar Point "resort", but, unfortunately, it was a terrible disappointment. To begin with, this place is nothing but a tacky, overpriced tourist trap. The entire structure is very run-down and there is very little...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jenniferfrost
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your visit. I apologize that you were not satisfied. We will certainly review all of your comments so we can make improvements to the guest experience.

Ohio
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Me, my husband, son, and niece spent the weekend in Sandusky. We went to Put-in-Bay and to Cedar Point. We stayed in a room with a view of the bay. The view of the bay was nice. The room was very out dated (the bedding, television, and carpet). Although the decor was out dated, the room was clean. The kids,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lvbw315
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we're glad you were able to enjoy early entry. We appreciate your business.

Youngstown
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

A group of us took our kids and they had a blast & so did the adults. Rooms were clean, service was great. Even replaced one of our lost wristbands at no cost. None of us wanted to leave, We'll definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tyanna M
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Overall the experience was not bad, however the room decor is very outdated (circa 1980's) and we had issues with the shower. Our stay overlapped with a school trip, so the hotel was very loud and crowded. This is not the hotel's fualt, but perhaps they could accomodate non-school patrons in a separate area. The staff that we interacted with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherry W
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for providing feedback about your visit. It is helpful to hear from our guests what they did and did not enjoy about their stay. If you did not indicate the issue on your survey, we would like to know which room you experienced the issue in. Katie, the general manager, can be reached at 419-609-5610.

Crooksville, Ohio
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I had two teenage girls with me and there was plenty for them to do. They have two gift shops, game room, and a waterpark. Everyone that we dealt with was friendly and helpful. We saved a lot by getting our Cedar Point tickets at the hotel. We even got free parking at the park. If you have younger kids,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 19Debbie91
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and recommendation. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Wheeling, West Virginia, United States
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

For a Cedar Point property I was shocked how outdated the hotel was. I was only here for one night and did not use the water park. The only staff I came into contact with was Michael from the gift shop he was very nice and helpful. The hallways had a weird smell to them. My room was very outdated....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dru H
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review

I apologize that you were disappointed with your stay. We want every guest to enjoy their visit and we will certainly use your feedback to help us improve the experience for our guests. Thank you for your business.

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Room needs to be updated. Comes with all the necessary amenities. The water park is awesome. Buying our 2 day passes to CP at the hotel saved us $30 in parking at CP. I would go back again. My daughter loved seeing The peanut characters walking around the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of the hotel. We appreciate the feedback from our guests.

Reviewed 13 May 2014

It was a fun trip. The resort is nice. The wood is looking dated and may need restoration. The front desk gave me incorrect info telling me I would get free parking if I purchased CP tickets from them. Loved seeing SNOOPY!!! Fun water park. Nice, clean room! Most of the staff was nice and friendly!! I would return! :-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shulveski
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for letting us know about the parking issue, we will address that with the front desk staff.

Galloway, Ohio
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I would recommend anyone that wants to stay here to make your reservations through a phone call and insure that you have everything you want in writing. I consider this hotel's website a non-website. They show photos but have no FAQs and list no phone number other than the reservation number. If you have to get a hold of them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grannyamoose
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us feedback about your stay and the reservation process. We reviewed your comments so that I can make improvements to the process. The bottom of each page of the Castaway Bay website lists the reservations phone number (419-627-2106) and the information phone number (419-627-2500). In either case, the agent answering the phone...

254 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (218)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
4.7 km away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
0.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
5.2 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
#17 of 35 in Sandusky
7 reviews
5.4 km away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
1.6 km away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Caribbean meets Sandusky at this ideal destination for vacationers. With its tropical theme, guests at Cedar Point's Castaway Bay feel like they have just landed on an island paradise upon entering this lush indoor waterpark resort. Castaway Bay features 237 hotel rooms and suites including family-oriented units, a 38,000-square-foot indoor waterpark loaded with water activities for all ages, fitness center, 6,000-square-foot state-of-the-art arcade, a craft and child activity center, three restaurants, retail shops, adjacent marina and space for meetings, group events and birthday parties. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castaway Bay

Address: 2001 Cleveland Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-4403
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range: ₹ 10,186 - ₹ 19,722 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castaway Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Castaway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Bay Hotel Sandusky
Castaway Bay Sandusky, Ohio
Sandusky Castaway Bay
Bay Castaway Ohio
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sandusky
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castaway Bay staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Castaway Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“do not stay here bed bugs”
  • BED BUG BITES
  • BED BUG BITES
  • BED BUG BITES
654alexandriah, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“request for a room on the same side of the indoor pool if that's what you're there for.”
DakotasMom, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Kids ran up and down the hall the entire time and this is kids resort, so absolutely no pointers. Good luck!”
carrissab2017, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on the second floor and did not have the funky smells that others referenced.”
Hez007, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Floor 4 and 3 were peaceful.”
1014Caden, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$ 204* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$ 204
Hotwire.comUS$ 204
TripAdvisorUS$ 204
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates