We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandusky
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,458 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,451: English reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2014

We’ve been several times and typically have a great time. We get e-mail offers for specials or look on the specials tab on their Web site. The resort is under construction right now. So it wasn’t as grand as usual. And a few of the attractions were closed so that was a bummer for the kids. This is truly one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samantha R
Parma Heights, Ohio
Reviewed 21 September 2014 via mobile

Don't get me wrong, I love this place and have been coming here an average of three times per year or more since it opened. But I was so disappointed that most of the slides were closed during our visit this weekend. We had planned to spend the whole day and have dinner at the Great Karoo then go back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracykay
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

We love having you visit us time and time again. Thank you so much for taking a moment to share your thoughts. I am sorry to hear that this journey, we have fallen short of your expectations. I would love the opportunity to look into this and learn about your stay. Please connect with me directly at SocialConnect@KalahariResorts.com. I have...

Reviewed 21 September 2014

We purchased a room on Groupon and thought this would be a great place to stay during our trip to Cedar Point. The hotel room itself was nice, but the lights didn't work great and the pillows were so tiny we had to call and request more- they told us they could only give us two more (we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Jillp728
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Thank you for coming to visit us for your journey to Cedar Poitnt. I am sorry to hear that you didn't find value in your stay. I wanted to provide some further clarification to your concerns for not only yourself, but also future guests. Our lockers are available for rent. Those are $10 plus a $10 deposit in which you...

Medina, Ohio
Reviewed 21 September 2014

This was our first time going to Kalahari and it was fantastic! I happened upon a groupon which made it very affordable for our family of 4 but I would still go even if I had to pay full price. We stayed in a hut room, the very basic, but it was a nice size, was well themed, had very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kelli F
Reviewed 21 September 2014

Our room was initially right by arcade which was noisy, they upgraded and moved us with no problems. Kids enjoyed the stay, room was clean. Staff was accommodating, pizza was great. A couple of the water slides were closed with no real reason why, that was the only negative.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mlearst
Huntington, West Virginia
Reviewed 20 September 2014

The front desk went above and beyond my expectations. When I wanted to stay another night for a deal that I had for one night only, they kindly allowed us to stay for two nights at the same cost. The entire staff was friendly. The room was large, clean, and comfortable. When we had an issue with our restroom someone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leffingwell2
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

It's great that the front desk was able to accommodate a second night's stay for you! I'm delighted you found your room to be large, clean & comfortable. Best yet to hear is how impressed you were with our resort. Reviews such as your is what we consistently strive for. Thank you again & we look forward to having you...

Reviewed 19 September 2014

I purchased a Living Social voucher for $159 for a one night stay in a 2bd 2bth suite. Definitely the way to go with children! We had a blast and will certainly plan another trip soon! The on-site dining is great. We had a little maintenance issue with the thermostat and a leaky sink that was promptly addressed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angelpuff1983
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

We're glad you were able to take advantage of our Living Social deal. I'm thankful that your maintenance issues were dealt with promptly & to your satisfaction. When planning your next visit I'd like to invite you to check out some of our packages, the Fantastic Family Getaway is perfect for families & also includes onsite dining. We do hope...

Harbin, China
Reviewed 18 September 2014

The Kalahari Sandusky is an awesome place to stay with so many amenities located throughout the complex as well as close by in Sandusky. The wide choice of rooms to fit your occasional is why we only stay here during our vacation travels!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Douglas S
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hi Doug! Thanks for the great review! We're thrilled that you think Kalahari is such an awesome place to stay & that you enjoy all of our amenities. We can accommodate 2 -22 people in our various room styles & entertainment villas. Thanks again!

Reviewed 16 September 2014

We took our son here for his fifth birthday as a surpise. It was better than we could have hoped. He we all had the best time and the facilities were excellent. It was the cleanest waterpark that I have ever been in. In my sons own words it is the best place ever. We will be going again for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dartinez
allendale
Reviewed 16 September 2014

The room was okay....the sink in the master bath wouldn't drain, the air conditioner was loud and there was a rip in the chair. In addition, the room rate was 494.00 for the night...much different than what was quoted. Make sure u receive a printed confirmation with the TOTAL cost before arriving!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keepsusgoing

768 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (725)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (102)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (99)
Viewed
Room/Suite (89)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (59)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
3:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (315)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
2.4 km away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
1.9 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
298 reviews
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
7.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
2.5 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kalahari Resorts Sandusky provides water parks, Safari Outdoor Adventure Park, indoor/outdoor water park, catering/wedding facilities, spa, salon, fitness training in fitness center, dining options, and more.Over 850 beautifully appointed authentic African-themed guest rooms and suites offer coffeemaker, vacation sized refrigerator, microwave, free high speed Internet access, voice mail, TV, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, pay per view movies, and much more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Address: 7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870-8628
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range: ₹ 8,800 - ₹ 17,668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalahari Resorts & Conventions 3.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Resort
Kalahari Hotel Ohio
Kalahari Waterpark Sandusky
Kalahari Resort Sandusky Oh
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Sandusky
Kalahari Water Park
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions Sandusky, Ohio
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kalahari Resorts & Conventions staff and other travellers.
44 questions
Ask a question
Michigan Center, Michigan
5 months ago

See all questions (44)

Questions? Get answers from Kalahari Resorts & Conventions staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They offer FREE valet for handicap guests, which was SUPER helpful for my father.”
 of 5 bubbles oxforddirector, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go with the Nomad Room at minimum.”
 of 5 bubbles tar419, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“One-night stay gives you two days' play at the waterpark.”
 of 5 bubbles Grumpy088, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We've stayed in several rooms and the queen family suite is the best value”
 of 5 bubbles deborahw134, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“4th floor was great. Our room had a fireplace and a balcony! Two queen beds and a pullout couch, frig, microwave and coffee pot.”
 of 5 bubbles Janelle00, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5