We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,326: English reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2015

We booked this online and when we arrived we where informed that the water slides where not working and that the lazy river was as well as the pool area. We where told because of this that they would be given my family and I free breakfast the next day. When we got to the room the towels where stained,...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Rkap1375
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Rkap: We are sorry that you were disappointed with your visit to the resort. Yours was not the typical stay. Most of guests have an enjoyable visit and many stay with again in the future. Unfortunately, several of slides were unexpectedly closed during your visit. For the inconvenience, we provided a complimentary all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast for our guests the...

Ohio
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

This place is an absolute dump. It's dirty, it smells and the breakfast food inedible. Loud argument in the hallway in middle of night. Tiny room wiith creepy windows to hallway. Haven't tried Waterpark yet, but not looking forward to it.

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank nativenyOhio
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear nativenyOhio: We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay at the resort. The majority of our guests have an enjoyable experience. All of our rooms are cleaned and inspected before being assigned to guests. We apologize if your room was not serviced properly. Our all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet, is very popular with our guests. With pancakes, eggs, hash browns,...

Reviewed 18 July 2015

Great Place for Family Reunion & Indoor Waterpark. Only 15 minutes away from Cedar Point, OH & African Safari. We stayed there for 3 days and it was awsome experience. The rooms were clean & the interior was beautiful. The Indoor Waterpark was fun. Can't wait to go back again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shailesh P
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Jay P: Glad to hear your family reunion at the Maui Sands resort & Indoor Waterpark in Sandusky, Ohio, was very successful. Your endorsement means a great deal to us, especially from someone who traveled so far to stay with us. With an indoor water park, a variety of rooms and suites and in-house dining, the resort is an...

Trenton, New Jersey
Reviewed 18 July 2015

I was with my family, everyone had a positive and memorable experience. Starting from a specious , clean and safe parking. Counter staff was welcoming, helpful and informative so was the hotel and water park staff. We felt very safe with several guards at the pool and at riding stations. They were plentiful and very attentive. we felt very safe...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jay P
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Jay P: Glad your family had a great time at the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark in Sandusky, Ohio. Thank you for travelling so far to stay with us. Your endorsement means a great deal to us. We are pleased your family enjoyed their room and the water park. It is ideal for young families. With a variety...

Fairview Park, Ohio
Reviewed 16 July 2015

When I first checked in we were told the tube slides were down. Didnt seem too big a problem since only 1of the 5 kids would b affected by this. Turns out after we got into the waterpark, all 4 slides were down and that was very disappointing! Went to front desk hoping to be compensated in some way, instead...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank gina o
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear gina o: We appreciate your feedback. Comments from our guests will help us make improvements for the future. We are glad your family enjoyed their visit to the water park and their overnight accommodations. We also appreciate the kind words about our lifeguards. They are conscientious and do a good job of monitoring the activities in the water park....

Florida
Reviewed 16 July 2015

i have to like that it's such a nice beauty, i got best service here in my whole experience. everything is good and nice atmosphere, if i talk about rooms they very clean and comfortable. i felt like my home. i can't explain about location & amenities in few words. it's just great. this was my first visit but not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike P
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Mike P: Thank you for telling us about your stay to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark in Sandusky, Ohio. it is especially nice to hear from a satisfied guest who traveled so far to visit with us. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the water park and your accommodations. We are also pleased that our...

Barrie, Canada
Reviewed 15 July 2015

It was a pleasant and fun stay @ Maui Resort. We are very happy and excited when we had check in and we were more happy during the stay through. Kids had enjoyed the Water rides also. The water riders were perfect for kids who are 2 to 6 years of age. All staff were professional and always warm with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank patel511
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Patel511: Thank you for telling us about your stay at the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark in Sandusky, Ohio. Your comments are important to us and will help us make improvements to the resort in the future. We are glad your family enjoyed their visit to the water park. it is ideal for young families. With a variety...

Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile

Nice rooms & nice service & indor watepark is amezing & clean bad Clean bathroom & hot breakfast Office is clean and it is very good Place to stay with family and friends mini vacation, it is good to have indoor waterpark for kids & rooms are near by waterpark

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sanjay P
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Sanjay P: Thank you for telling us about your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark in Sandusky, Ohio. Feedback from our guests is very important to us. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the water park and the all-you-can-eat hot buffet breakfast. With eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, hash browns, oatmeal, cereal, juice, coffee, milk...

Media, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 14 July 2015

It is very good place to stay with family mini vacation .it is good to have indoor water park for kids & rooms are near by water park . Rooms is also good so as bathroom too. And it is good pizza to. Good service for indoor water park .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Parimal P
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Parimal P: Glad to hear your visit to the Maui Sands Resort in Sandusky, Ohio, went well. With an indoor water park, a variety of overnight accommodations and in-house dining, it is an ideal location for a family vacation. Our Volcano Grill pizza is very popular with our guests. Located next to the water park, it is a convenient...

Reviewed 14 July 2015

We were disappointed in our stay. The outside doors around the building were unlocked all the time so anyone could have walked into the building without a room key. Very scary. We did not feel safe. The hallways had trash in them. The parking lot was dirty with trash and smelled. The waterpark was confusing with the design and layout....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Kristi S
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Kristi S: We are very sorry you were disappointed with your visit to the resort. We want all of our guests to have a clean and relaxing stay from the lobby to the waterpark and their room. We apologize for the areas of the resort they were unkempt. To maintain the grounds, Team Members are assigned to monitor the...

355 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (319)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (140)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
4.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
305 reviews
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
307 reviews
1.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 5513 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range: ₹ 6,649 - ₹ 12,647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you plan on utilizing the water park, CALL to make sure it will be OPEN during your stay BEFORE you book the room!”
 of 5 bubbles Lilspinster, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not to far from amusement park”
 of 5 bubbles roxxig2016, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Do not let them put you in the rooms that is located near the Arcade! They smell really Bad plus rats!”
 of 5 bubbles 317deannad, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I'm not sure, but it seems that the rooms in the main building with the water park are very nice, which is where we stayed.”
 of 5 bubbles Deco916, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If your room not good enough ask for a other.”
 of 5 bubbles debraa999, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5