We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,326 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,325: English reviews
Markleysburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

We got a really good deal on groupon. Three families, two rooms, water park passes for everyone for both days for around $250 total. I'd say you can't beat that! But of course, when you only pay that much you can't expect it to be five star quality. I called a week ahead of time and requested the rooms be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jholp
Abbie S, Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Jholp: Thank you for spending the weekend with us at the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark in Sandusky, Ohio. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. It is always nice to hear from a satisfied guest. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and that everything went well. Saving money on your visit makes it even nicer. The water park...

West Middlesex, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 29 February 2016

We visited here 2 years ago and had such a nice experience. This year the place was FILTHY and infested with bed bugs. I'm assuming every room was infested since they tried to give us 2 more rooms after we found them in our original room and there were bugs in the other 2 rooms as well. The front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Audrey N
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

Well when we got here we had to wait for 45 minutes to check-in everyone was mad. So after that we went to are room some had stolen the HDMI cords to are TV so no TV for a while. The Waterpark was ok kids liked it. But had to wait 25 minutes for drinks in the bar a 45...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
Abbie S, Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Frank G: We are sorry you were disappointed with your visit. The resort was very busy and unfortunately, all of our guests were not as courteous to other people as we would have liked. We apologize for the inconvenience. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the water park. It has a variety of attractions and is ideal...

Novi, Michigan
Reviewed 24 February 2016

This place is extremely disgusting! They had to switch our room 3 times from the uncleanliness. The rooms are tiny. The rooms had extremely dirty sticky and stinky carpet, a big guab of hair in the dirty stained tub. One of the bunk beds were missing a ladder so I'm not sure how they expected us to utilize it. All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2ChristianMom
Abbie S, Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear 2ChristianMom: We are very sorry you were disappointed with your visit to the resort. Your visit was not a typical stay. The majority of our guests have an enjoyable visit and many are repeat customers. Unfortunately, the weekend was very busy and we were unable to maintain our customary level of service to our guests. We are sorry your...

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

There are many great features to this waterpark, but also many bad. There is ample space to swim, play, and relax in the water however the water temperature from one part of the park to another was never the same....either just right or freezing. There are lots of places for 2 people to sit but forget it if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa5432
Abbie S, Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Melissa5432: Thank you for telling us about your visit to the resort. Feedback from our guests will help us identify areas for improvements. We are always looking for ways to make the guest experience better. We are glad you enjoyed the water park. With a variety of attractions, it is ideal for young families. We are sorry it was...

Smithfield, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 22 February 2016

We stayed on 2/19. I think the first thing people need to realize is yes you get what you pay for. Yes the water park could use a touch up and is smaller than others around it, but for $130 a night with water park tickets don't expect a five star hotel. On that note going in not expecting much...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Heidi P
Abbie S, Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Heidi P: Thank you for telling us about your visit to the resort. It is always nice to hear from a satisfied guest. We are glad your family had fun in the water park, and our Team Members treated you properly. The water park is ideal for young families. It has a variety of attractions that parents and children...

Madison Heights, Michigan
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Don't waste your money! They are on groupon as a way to get guests, once you visit this facility you can fully understand why they received such bad reviews. The place is filthy, the carpet is filthy, the staff is rude. There was no remote control to our tv, and no buttons to change the channel. I called the front...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TRACEY S
Abbie S, Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Tracey S: We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay at the resort. The weekend was extremely busy and there were some delays in providing our full complement of guest services. We apologize for the inconvenience. We are glad you enjoyed the Lava Lounge. They do a very good job of servicing our guests. We apologize you did...

Vermilion, Ohio
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Visited Maui Sands with my husband and 2 kids ages 5 and 8 today. We only did a day pass so I can't speak for the rest of the hotel. The original price of $40 for a day pass is way too much for this facility. It is very run down with paint missing and hand rails broken. There were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tnbound2015
Abbie S, Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear tnbound2015: We are sorry you were disappointed with your visit to the resort. Your comments are very important to us. They will help us identify areas for improvement that will make the facility better in the future. We appreciate the kind words about the blue-haired lifeguard. He does a wonderful job and is polite and attentive to all of...

Zeeland, Michigan
Reviewed 18 February 2016

We checked in around 7pm and stayed for 2 nights. Our first night was pleasant with no complaints! However, our second night there was a gathering going on in the stage area that had children running around, screaming and being all around inconsiderate of other guest. We did call the front desk and were told that it would be a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda M
Abbie S, Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Linda: Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit to the resort. We appreciate your feedback and can use your suggestions for ways to make improvements for the future. We are glad your first night's stay went well, but we are disappointed that the next night did not go as well as we would have...

Lyndhurst, Ohio
Reviewed 17 February 2016

This was our second time visiting Maui Sands. The only reason we came back a second time is because 2 years ago when we last visited the kids had a blast. This time, it was just awful. An hour or more to check in because they only had 3 front desk staff, our room had garbage on the floors (only...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jessica G
Abbie S, Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Jessica G: We are very sorry you had a disappointing stay at the resort. Unfortunately, we experienced several lapses in services and we sincerely apologize for the sub-par experience. We are also sorry that all of our Team Members did not treat you properly We expect all of our employees to be courteous and professional each and every day....

355 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (319)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (140)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
4.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
307 reviews
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
1.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 5513 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5858 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range: ₹ 6,678 - ₹ 12,701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you plan on utilizing the water park, CALL to make sure it will be OPEN during your stay BEFORE you book the room!”
 of 5 bubbles Lilspinster, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not to far from amusement park”
 of 5 bubbles roxxig2016, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Do not let them put you in the rooms that is located near the Arcade! They smell really Bad plus rats!”
 of 5 bubbles 317deannad, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I'm not sure, but it seems that the rooms in the main building with the water park are very nice, which is where we stayed.”
 of 5 bubbles Deco916, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If your room not good enough ask for a other.”
 of 5 bubbles debraa999, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5