We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rodeway Inn South

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Rodeway Inn South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Rodeway Inn South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 136: English reviews
Trenton, New Jersey
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Staff was Friendly, Breakfast was Good, Rooms were clean, The only Problem was that the Bathtub plug didn't work at all and No Hot Water!!!! Location was excellent close to Cedar Point and everything else! Well lit & big Parking lot, Outdoor pool was warm! Will recommend staying here again in the Future!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin P
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your kind comments. I’m so pleased that you would stay with us again despite a few small failings, and I hope you have the opportunity to do that soon. We take pride in this hotel and its amenities and sincerely appreciate the opportunity to serve you. I’m glad we could satisfy you, as we do so...

Reviewed 17 June 2016

We stayed here after a day at Cedar Point. The room was small and certainly dated, but was very clean and didn't have a distinct smell (I'm asthmatic so I'm very sensitive to must, smoke, etc.) I had a very pleasant experience here, the bed was comfortable, there was free HBO and cable, and I didn't hear anything from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mickayla R
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind words. I’m so pleased that you found us a clean and pleasant place to stay and that our amenities were to your liking. We take real pride in this hotel and in serving guests like you, and I’m extremely happy that you had such a pleasant stay. We look forward to...

Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 June 2016

I read the reviews on this hotel before I selected on line. Most people complained of it being old and in need of repair, others on how dirty. Well I arrived to day greeted by Blaine thefront desk guy! Sweet , helpful and overly nice! ! The room is clean but old. No mold in the bathroom as described in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank thebex
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind words. I’m so pleased that you found us a clean and pleasant place to stay and that our amenities were to your liking. If anything didn't meet your needs or expectations, I regret that. We take real pride in this hotel and in serving guests like you, and I’m extremely happy...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 19 October 2015

This motel seemed perfectly fine for us after a long day at Cedar Point. Sure it's not the most updated or comfiest, but it seemed safe and was easy to get to. The staff was quick and friendly. However we could hear the TV in the neighboring room and our pink and teal mixed bathroom features showed its age. I'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for commenting. I’m glad you had a good experience even if there were issues. I apologize that the people in the adjoining room turned the television too loud and that some of the décor didn’t appeal to you. We focus on providing affordability as well as comfort and may not remodel as often as more expensive hotels....

Michigan
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

Firstly, this is not a comparative review. Of course this motel is dated and far from "5-Star" but it was just fine for our needs for the price. If you expect near perfection close to a major attraction then you need to fork over the cash for it and skip this motel. There were no bugs, the sheets were clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shrkchsr
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m pleased you had a good experience with us although I regret that we couldn’t completely satisfy you in every way with our comfortable and clean facilities. Still, I’m glad you would recommend us to others. We want you to have the best possible experience here, and we’re working toward complete satisfaction of all...

Metro Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 30 August 2015

The room was moderately clean, but this property is dated and worn to the point of being beat up. Dings and damage along walls, doors, furniture & exterior & ice/vending area was dirty. 90s era tube TV had one single working channel and snow on all the others; phone did not function at all. AC unit was lethargic and needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your opinions. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your needs and did not live up to your expectations. We take pride in our hotel and in providing a great place to stay for so many guests, and I deeply regret that we let you down. Perhaps you will give us another try in the...

Sandusky
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Room was dirty and very dated. Carpet turned your bare feet black. Spiders in the bathroom, very small bathroom. But better than camping. AC barely pushed a breeze but worked. They had cable tv but the phone in the room was dead. Pool was very clean and decent. Overall, you get what you pay for here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johngD9744WJ
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your opinions. I’m pleased we could provide you accommodations, but I sincerely regret that we let you down in some ways because of maintenance and housekeeping issues. I’m glad you liked the pool, however. Overall, please understand that we’re working to make the hotel better each day and are always working to provide the best possible...

Ypsilanti, Michigan
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Yeah, this isn't the Ritz, but for $50/night and close to The Point, it was everything I expected. The room could have used some updates, we had to plug in the lamps and not a lot of plugs in room for our electronics, but we weren't there to hang out in the room and enjoy the motel... we had other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thecrab714
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 18 August 2015

The room was dirty, filled with the smell of old, stale smoke and so much grime, mildew and mold that both my wife and I woke up with respiratory problems. The window, of course, could not be opened and the a/c unit just recirculated the stench. The faucets all leaked and when turned on sprayed water in all directions. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaptainEmanuel
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that several issues combined to make your stay less than desirable. We take real pride in offering the best possible guest experience, and I understand that we let you down. You can be sure we’ll do better for you next time. Nothing means more to us than providing a pleasant guest experience....

Windsor
Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

First off I am not overly picky about the hotels that I stay in. Rarely do I care about how it looks on the outside or really even on the inside. The hotel yes is outdated and definitely could use an upgrade of some kind. The check in was quick and the employee was super friendly. I went to my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Casinoboy
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. While we don’t take any shortcuts when it comes to guest satisfaction, we are indeed a budget hotel and focus on providing a great value for all kinds of travelers. I regret that we let you down. I hope you will give us another chance in the future. We’re always changing and improving to...

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
1.3 km away
Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky
2.1 km away
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
#12 of 35 in Sandusky
286 reviews
0.5 km away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#15 of 35 in Sandusky
214 reviews
3.9 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
298 reviews
4.6 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#3 of 35 in Sandusky
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer free WI-FI, digital cable including HBO, and a seasonal outdoor pool. We serve fresh coffee from 6AM through 9AM every morning. We are just 2 miles from Cedar Point, across the street from Goofy Golf, and minutes from many restaurants! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn South

Address: 2905 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5608
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range: ₹ 8,553 - ₹ 10,794 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn South 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn South Hotel Sandusky
Rodeway Inn Cedar Point South
Rodeway Inn Sandusky
Rodeway Inn South Sandusky, Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rodeway Inn South staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Rodeway Inn South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Please don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles mlynchristensen, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for easy egress.”
 of 5 bubbles JackTea7, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“don't take the first one he gives you, make him give you one less crappy, it will only be less crappy mind you..”
 of 5 bubbles soresage, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room at the front of the motel rather than round the back as the wifi and TV reception round the back was terrible.”
 of 5 bubbles carolinesK5979PO, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“top floor if u dont want people banging around all night”
 of 5 bubbles babya71, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay