We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 83: English reviews
Casstown, Ohio
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We have stayed here the past two years for the DTWC and the hotel is nice. Staff was amazing and location is great. Called ahead and got a great view of the Kentucky side. It was a great location within walking distance of many restaurants. Track was less than a mile.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JSOTZING
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, Please stay again.

Reviewed 21 July 2016

Staff was very friendly. Room was very beautiful and beds were so comfy, we loved the pillows and the option of firm or soft was a nice extra feature. Pool area was nice, it made you feel like you were in the tropics. Only complaint was the small restroom. No free breakfast and the on site restaurant can be quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Please forgive us if you were expecting a free Breakfast, Only the express hotels are permitted to do Free Breakfast, because they have no Restaurant. I do appreciate your staying with us and hope to see you again. I like your title "Great Mini Holiday", very nice.

Scotland
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We had a one night in this hotel and the hotel itself was great. Nice clean rooms. Only a few small complaints. We were overcharged in the restaurant (kids meals were supposed to be free, including drinks) but we were charged for full priced adult meals. When we pointed this out, they came out with an amended bill but we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Avril_Milan
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review with us. I do apologize for the mix up at breakfast, yes, children under the age of 12, registered in the Hotel are given a coupon for free breakfast ordered from the Kid's Menu. It must be accompanied by a family member dining from the regular menu. Is not included in group Sales. Hot...

Germantown, Ohio
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We stay at this hotel when visiting our son at Shawnee State. It is a very nice hotel. The staff is always very friendly. The rooms are clean. The morning coffee is delicious, too. We have never had a problem with noise. We very much enjoy our stay at this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank noltefam7
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Please stay again.

Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

We flew into Columbus airport during a snow storm. The drive to the Ashland KY area was brutal with no snow removal or highway workers treating the roads. I called to see if I could get a room in Portsmouth which would save me an additional hour of driving. Having already spent over 3 hours driving in the snow, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terri E
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your story with us. I am very happy we were able to accommodate you. Hope you stop by and visit us again.

Reviewed 12 November 2015 via mobile

We were visiting my son at college & this hotel is the perfect location for us. A little higher prices than I usually pay, but the centralized location makes it worth it. Front desk staff was friendly & the evening housekeeper was one of the nicest I have ever met in a hotel. My little kids loved the pool &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
Springfield, Ohio
Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

The hotel & rooms were clean & nice. The restaurant had good food & service was good. Very nice pool area with a heated pool & hot tub. Make sure to walk to see the Murals on flood wall and walk by the Ohio River across the flood wall. It's only a block away and worth your time if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JubileeJerry
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. You have described everything I love about our location. Please visit again.

Reviewed 2 October 2015 via mobile

Was intown over night the hotel is a older but nice clean and friendly they have k cups in the room. Also rooms are clean and the staff was nice. The only thing I fid not like was the elevator was small and I only saw one.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review with us. Please visit again.

Richmond, Kentucky
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

Would have loved the pool but it closes way too early. Ice machine didn't work. Elevator is tiny and slow. Plan on using the stairs if you stay here. Didn't get our reservation right. Very, very overpriced for what you get. They don't give rewards member treat bag like all the other Holiday Inns where I stay (even though there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulesInKY
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Hello again, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us this time. As I responded to your review in December 2014, the pool hours are 6 am - 10 pm and has not changed. To be recognized as one of our IHG Rewards Club members and receive IHG points or gifts you need to book with IHG or with...

Reviewed 24 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed while traveling through the area. Nice hotel that seemed to be recently updated. Rooms were clean and bed comfortable. Room had a small fridge, small microwave and coffee maker. Nice pool area, however giving it a 4 because disappointed in the hot tub. It appeared to not be updated with the rest of it. The bubbles did not work...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey B
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review with us. The hot tub is scheduled for a refinishing soon. Please accept my apology. I hope you return in the future, I would love to get that other star from you. Thank you again for choosing our Hotel.

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
7.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Portsmouth
89 reviews
12.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Wheelersburg
33 reviews
35.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ironton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.1 km away
BEST WESTERN River Cities
37.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Piketon
37 reviews
17.9 km away
Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Address: 711 2nd Street (Downtown Portsmouth), Portsmouth, OH 45662
Region: United States > Ohio > Portsmouth
Price Range: ₹ 8,708 - ₹ 10,999 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown Hotel Portsmouth
Ramada Inn Portsmouth
Ramada Portsmouth
Portsmouth Ramada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room facing the river”
 of 5 bubbles Smilingsmyfavorite, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No rooms on first floor but rooms are quite.”
 of 5 bubbles 318MikeH, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Call ahead and ask for Kentucky view.”
 of 5 bubbles JSOTZING, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Only decent view is on the 2nd street side on building.”
 of 5 bubbles B3229VPbethc, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for south side”
 of 5 bubbles Clg131, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5