We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

292 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 292: English reviews
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 26 August 2016

First the good - the lodge has both an indoor and an outdoor pool. It also has bike rental, tennis, golf, and a lake for fishing and water sports. The lodge was clean and well maintained. However, it does have the look of a state run hotel (sort of institutional). However, it goes downhill from there. The hotel appeared to...

Thank Charles_TA_1
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

I apologize for your experience in our restaurant. I myself would be concerned by your experience and some retraining will be taking place as a result of your letter. Thank you for letting us know.

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 25 August 2016

My sister and I go to Deer Creek Lodge every year to celebrate our birthday. We look forward to going to the lodge to laugh, have fun, swim, boat, etc. The Lodge staff is always pleasant. In August 2016, we went again, and I want to specifically call out how wonderful Zenia Vidal (manager), Emily (Restaurant associate), and Leslie (Front...

Thank bulldana1967
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for a great letter. We do have some amazing people working with us here and you have named just a couple. I will make sure they each see a copy of your comments. Looking forward to your next visit.

Londonderry, Ohio
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

I was eager to spend time with my nieces and grandson for a last minute stay before school started. Check in was good and we soon found ourselves poolside with the kids. The outside and indoor pools were great and the kids enjoyed themselves. Upon returning to our room, we discovered the air conditioner was not working and the room...

2Thank MissGov88
Rochester, Michigan
Reviewed 23 August 2016

My family and I decided to visit this resort for a quick vacation. Upon arrival the light in our bathroom was burned out. After an hour, the air conditioning was not working. The room was very dirty, it looked as though the room had not been previously cleaned. There was remnants of food under the beds, and cobwebs in the...

2Thank Doug M
Dublin, Ohio
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Our family stayed for two nights for an end of summer get-away. We truly enjoyed the outdoors. We took two hikes on the grounds and it was awesome for our young family. We had a great time at the pool and we had a great time at the fire pit. All of the grounds were well maintained and very enjoyable....

Thank jbeatstreet10
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay at Deer Creek Lodge and we are glad your family enjoyed it. We are working on different options for the restaurant and the breakfast buffet is available on weekends during our busy season.

Huntington, West Virginia
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Honestly, I've only been here for one day and it's been completely and utterly awful. We had a family dinner in the lounge area and the food was awful. We come back to our room and the AC is frozen so they have to move our room. We then switch rooms and the AC explodes in our room and white...

1Thank caseyfarrell
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

Sorry to hear about your stay. We have experienced a higher level of air conditioner problems with the extreme hot weather this summer and try to address these in a timely manner. I'm confused why maintenance would be in your room if you were sleeping though. Also I'm not sure how gnats got in your room but apologize that it...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 5 August 2016

This was my first time staying here and I wish I would have visited sooner. Less than an hour drive south of Columbus, OH. Lots of things to do with the family (swimming, fishing, beach, fire pit, paddle boat). We stayed in the lodge and not the cabins. Place does need to be updated and don't order the pizza. Family...

1Thank Kim A
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

Deer Creek Lodge does have a lot to offer and we are close to both Columbus and Dayton. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to many more in the future.

Salem, Ohio
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Have stayed here for a number of years now for a business conference and, other than the Internet wifi, nothing has been updated. It is fairly well maintained but is definitely showing its wear and tear. Each year I hear complaints that the restaurant isn't prepared to handle our group of over 200 registrants plus some extra family members. I...

Thank Matt H
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

We invest $600,000 annually and unfortunately, they are not always improvements that are seen. This year, we were able to use funding to replace carpeting and tile in our public spaces. The Ohio Department of Natural Resources has been allocated funding for lodge facility improvements, so we are hoping to see great things in the future. Thank you for being...

Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Dust and dead bugs all across the bed headboard. There was dried blood on the bathroom floor tile. Some of the desk staff were rude. Management needs to address the cleaning issues with the housekeeping so that it is more cleanly as well as customer service with the desk staff. Very disappointing for the money spent especially when we had...

1Thank sneakypete71
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

I apologize if you felt the front desk staff was rude. We usually get great reviews on the staff especially the front desk. I have also addressed your cleanliness issues with our housekeeping staff.

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 18 July 2016

The lodge is fine. Our room was clean, outdated, but otherwise okay but overpriced. We did a Sunday into Monday stay so that it would not be quite as busy. The pool was packed even still at 8:00 on Sunday. As people got out, they left so not sure if they were just able to spend the day even after...

Thank Cmichbin
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

I want to personally apologize for your experience in our dining room. I have addressed the issues with the staff and management in food and Beverage to ensure this doesn't happen again.

188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (145)
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Room/Suite (28)
Bathroom (7)
Pool/Beach Area (14)
View from Room (18)
Dining (11)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (43)
Room/Suite (2)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Sterling
24.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Circleville
22.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Washington Court House
Holiday Inn Express Washington C...
#1 of 3 in Washington Court House
102 reviews
31.9 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Washington Court House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.2 km away
Candlewood Suites Columbus - Grove City
37.3 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chillicothe
37.6 km away
Christopher Inn & Suites
Christopher Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Chillicothe
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by more than 3,100 tranquil acres, Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center is just 30 minutes south of Columbus, Ohio. We offer 110 guestrooms perfect for a quiet and romantic weekend getaway or a fun-filled family reunion. All lodge guestrooms have a private balcony or patio to give you a scenic view of the park, lake or outdoor pool. We also have 25 two-bedroom cottages (three with roll-in showers), each with a fully equipped kitchen, full bath, living room, dining area and a screened-in porch. Rafter's Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner; the gift shop operates seven days a week. Our 18-hole championship golf course is diverse, challenging and exciting for golfers of all skill levels. Other things to do: boating, fishing, hiking, cycling, camping, and many more recreational activities! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center

Address: 22300 State Park Road 20, Mount Sterling, OH 43143-9542
Region: United States > Ohio > Mount Sterling
Price Range: ₹ 4,706 - ₹ 12,680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Creek Hotel Mount Sterling
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a second floor lakeside room. Beautiful view and the raccoons and groundhogs can't get onto your balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles trico40, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room with a lake view”
 of 5 bubbles JeffreyG648, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Lake views are best but they will not guarantee you get one.”
 of 5 bubbles karena740, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the water are nice. Exits to exterior are on 2nd floor (not first).”
  • Rust and gunk
  • Dirty light fixtures
  • Nice warm bulbs...
  • Daylight bulbs in the same room. Strange.
  • Damaged paint in room
  • Ceiling in our room
  • Rattling dirty fan
 of 5 bubbles Jim335, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There are rooms that have balconies and overlook the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles TekPa, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5