We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Swansea Motor Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Swansea Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Swansea Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 255: English reviews
Australia
Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

Similar to a comment below I don't want to criticise this place much as it is nice, right next to the water, clean rooms, comfortable bed in the water view room, lots of space, fridge, microwave, cutlery, plates etc., in short walking distance of restaurants,garages, supermarket, post office etc. I just think its overpriced for the standard of the interior...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rach C
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 29 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed here one night only. Whilst traveling around Tassie we have noticed a considerable difference in what you get for similarly priced accommodation. This place was clean and had everything we needed so I don't want to knock it too much. It's just that we have experienced far more luxurious accommodation for the same money. In it's defence it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

When we stayed at Swansea on Saturday night I found it to be very quiet with a great view of the beach. I could lay down in the bed and see outside. The bed though was firm but bouncy. The TV was incredibly small. If they put in a decent size TV I would rate the room 5 stars. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun D
SwanseaMotorInn, Manager at Swansea Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we do a lovely quiet spot and Excellent views, but I think that you may have the wrong motel, perhaps the one next door, it looks like our view but our bathrooms have pale tiles and different vanities, also our spa rooms TV is over 100cm so although it isn't a cinema screen, wouldn't be...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 11 October 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night turned up without a booking. Reception staff were very helpful we were offered a choice of rooms, stayed in a upstairs room very clean and comfortable. Lovely view, hotel right on beach, great value for money, we would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank davic7
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Stayed here expecting little, however, we were pleasantly surprised to find clean, modern and pleasant rooms.Lots of additional touches, the room had a microwave, crockery and a small seating area. We would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deadwoodjmw
Katherine, Australia
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

We booked online influenced by the excellent reviews. Unfortunately we were given rooms in the old building. Still firmly 60s standard. Carpet not clean. Bathroom not suitable for an elderly or large person. No luggage rack. Overpriced for that standard considering the time of the year.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie N
SwanseaMotorInn, Manager at Swansea Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Julie, Yes we do have older rooms, the room you are put in depends on the room you have booked and the price you have paid, our best rooms are the more expensive rooms. The cheap rooms have not had the money spent on them that the newer rooms have. Our rooms are vacuumed daily and we have specific...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2015 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with a friend whilst travelling the East Coast. The hotel is fairly basic, but it does and has everything you need. The location of the hotel is amazing and the views and backdrops are out of this world. The local town 'Swansea' is beautiful and friendly. We were recommended a local pub down the road...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick191290
Williamstown, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 23 August 2015

Very comfortable rooms, hosts very helpful. Free wifi. Walking distance to every where. Sensational views. Loved hearing the waves rolling in. Stayed for a week. Will be back again. Thank you. Kind Regards Kerry

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry L
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 24 July 2015

I recently travelled up to Swansea for work and at the last minute decided to stay overnight. I was warmly welcomed at the Swansea Motor Inn and was very surprised to be offered a complimentary upgrade to the water side. How lovely! Big tick to the service all round. I didn't get the wifi working, and breakfast was on off-site...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn T
New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 1 July 2015

It was blowing a gale outside, but the view over the bay looked great. Average room, especially for the price, but it was comfortable. It had a bath, which was nice to take the chill off. The car can be parked close and it was quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gmac_1961

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
3.5 km away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
400 reviews
33.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Bicheno
0.1 km away
Waterloo Inn Hotel
Waterloo Inn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Swansea
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.0 km away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
309 reviews
15.2 km away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
358 reviews
16.3 km away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Swansea Motor Inn

Address: 1c Franklin Street, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Price Range: ₹ 6,349 - ₹ 11,265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swansea Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Swansea Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swansea Motor Hotel Swansea
Swansea Motor Inn Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Swansea Motor Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Swansea Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book a sea view room, great view.”
 of 5 bubbles KevinD398, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for front row room overlooking the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles 226janh, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Eastern side all have bay views”
 of 5 bubbles Workingbloke, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“WSe had room 14 and that ticked all the boxes.”
 of 5 bubbles tricky111, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Have to choose between room without view of the beach or beach views but terrible smell.”
 of 5 bubbles abigail2567, 8 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay