We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Strahan Village

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Strahan Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

849 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Strahan Village
See the most recent reviews
Showing 824: English reviews
Dubbo, Australia
Reviewed 23 March 2016

Stayed in January, Pub accommodation, noisy, 2 neighbouring rooms had conversation across balcony, TV from the Flintstones. Did not match description and was told by management that it was my fault. Stay away

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mportelli67
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this review

Hi mportelli67 Thanks for your review, its disappointing to read you didn't have an enjoyable stay and I apologise for this. regards Brad Coelho

Reviewed 23 March 2016

Stayed in a comfortable but rather tired room in the Sorell wing. Had opening windows but no fly screen so was useless. Bed comfortable and bathroom refurbished but lounge needs replacing. Poor attitude of some staff. We were not informed at reception that we had to book for dinner in the restaurant. When we went to the restaurant a wait...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike C
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this review

Hi mike C Thank you for your review and your honest feedback. I do apologise for the lack of information provide to you when you checked into the hotel. Unfortunately there is no taxi service in Strahan and we do not have a courtesy bus. This is an area we are looking into to implement in the near future. regards...

Adelaide
Reviewed 23 March 2016

We stayed 2 nights in a Hilltop room overlooking the harbour. Booking on-line was a little strange as the confirmation did not include a verified price. On arrival we enquired about the costs to be told it differed each night depending upon occupancy. As we had booked a couple of months ahead we felt this to be a bit unusual....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John351
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this review

Hi John351 Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We don't have static accommodation rates and they do fluctuate on a daily basic very similar to the way airlines operate. Our hilltop harbour view rooms command an impressive view overlooking Macquarie Harbour and do sell very quickly. Strahan was unfortunately affected with a contaminated water supply that...

Orange, Australia
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Overnight stay, comfortable room. Didn't eat in the restaurant but it looked good, beautiful view from the dining room and al fresco area. BUT on checking in - why was fee of $10 cash requested? Hardly enough for a security bond CC fee was added to the account - and wouldn't have been $10 anyway Was told the $10 would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank local696
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this review

Hi local696 Thanks for taking the time to post your review. At time of check in we swipe your credit card and take an authorization of $10. This is automatically released after 7 - 10 business days. If we are still holding a $10 pre-authorization on your credit card please email me at reservations@strahanvillage.com.au with your details and I will...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

Adequate but not luxury accommodation. Great location, views and easy walking distance to restaurants and cruises. Rather small rooms and unfortunately can hear neighbouring rooms. Laundry facilities are a little expensive . Showers are very touchy and difficult to get just right. Banjos downstairs is a good spot for breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathie B
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this review

Hi Kathie B Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We have 142 rooms that range from a 3.5 to 4 star standard and that are also spread across Strahan. I appreciate your feedback and will work on solution to provide a better guest experience. regards Brad Coelho

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 March 2016

We recently stayed 2 nights in a Village waterfront terrace room and had a lovely time. Staff were friendly and check-in was easy. The room was huge and very clean, with a lovely balcony overlooking the Strahan waterfront. (Don't be put off by the moss green carpet, it kind of adds to the charm.) We had breakfast at the hilltop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olivia W
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this review

Hi Olivia W Thanks for your review and the positive comments about your experience. regards Brad Coelho

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 18 March 2016 via mobile

My husband, 2 year old and myself stayed here for 2 nights. I had a little bit of difficulty trying to book online but got there eventually opting for a one bedroom village waterfront cottage total cost was $378. They provided and nice clean portacot (through our Tasmanian travels we have had a few terrible ones!!) for my daughter and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shelley1c
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this review

Hi shelley1c Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Its great to read you had an enjoyable stay with us at Strahan Village. regards Brad Coelho

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 March 2016

We didn't know what to expect with the whole village concept of our accommodation but we were very happy to discover the quaint little cottage room we were checked into for 2 nights. The room was very clean and welcoming, the bathroom was large with a good sized bath and had plenty of room to put our toiletries on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kazj64
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this review

Hi kazj64 Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Its great to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. regards Brad Coelho

Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed in huon room. Great location on the esplanade and near restaurants and wharf. Room was average. Musty smell and no ventilation except door into room and no air conditioning. Ground level and street front so didn't want to open window at night. Rooms were stuffy as no fresh air. Toilet run through all night and when mentioned on checkout...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dilesa
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this review

Hi Dilesa Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Over the last six months we have purchased new linen, toweling, bathroom amenities, pillows, doonas and bed bases for all 142 rooms. We have also replaced our out dated TV's in all our 4 star rooms to HD LED TV's. Over the coming winter months we plan to further...

Tasmania
Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

I booked my 2 nights accommodation through sunseeker holidays, when booking in with Strahan village i was told i was staying in a standard hilltop terrace room. Once arrived, we found out our room was above Hamer's hotel/pub, there for parking was in the main carpark, and you had to walk and carry all of your things up a long...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank makita80

287 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (266)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (116)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strahan
0.6 km away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
79 reviews
20.2 km away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#6 of 6 in Queenstown
108 reviews
0.6 km away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#3 of 4 in Strahan
170 reviews
0.6 km away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
212 reviews
0.9 km away
Strahan Holiday Retreat
Strahan Holiday Retreat
#8 of 21 in Strahan
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set right on the waterfront Strahan Village is your ideal base for west coast explorations. The individual cottages and terraces take you back to a time when the wild West was inhabited by miners, piners, fishermen and their families. Fitted out with a variety of room types, the cottages recall an old-world charm with every modern facility. Above the harbour, the 4-star rooms of the Hilltop have sweeping views over Macquarie Harbour. Tasmanian Tourism Awards Winner 2013 "Standard Accommodation". ... more   less 

Additional Information about Strahan Village

Address: The Esplanade, Building A, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia (Formerly Quality Suites Strahan Village)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Price Range: ₹ 5,037 - ₹ 9,433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strahan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Strahan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Village Hotel Strahan
Village Hotel Strahan
Strahan Village Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Strahan Village staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Adelaide, Australia
11 months ago
Caloundra, Australia
6 months ago
Adelaide, Australia
11 months ago
SOUTH AUSTRALIA
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Strahan Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are a great many different accommodation types in strahan village make sure you know where you will be located.”
 of 5 bubbles NellPat, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Find out EXACTLY where you will be staying!”
 of 5 bubbles WalkersWA, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms have a queen bed and a king single at the same price.”
 of 5 bubbles IanB570, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Definately try to get into one of their cottages !!”
 of 5 bubbles ianj569, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ASK for a King harbour view.”
 of 5 bubbles magaretc, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5