We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Strahan Holiday Retreat

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Strahan Holiday Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Strahan Holiday Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 283: English reviews
Adelaide
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We stayed here for two nights in cabin 63, Monday and Tuesday nights, 17th and 18th October, it was quiet, clean and had all we needed, value for money. The foam mattresses have seen better days. it is handy to all facilities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SouthOztraveller
Lithgow, Australia
Reviewed 29 October 2016

This cabin was OK. It took some time for it to warm up but it was clean & comfortable. It is only a couple of minutes form the village centre but the is a take away / convenience store right next door (with very good take away food).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brett C
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Nice place for a large family of 8, given a large 3 bedroom house fully stocked kitchen and two bathrooms very nice. The staff were lovely and accommodating would happily come back. It was also newly renovated and well maintained. I would recommend in particular for families.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clschult6
Strahan R, Manager at Strahan Holiday Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, our aim is for guests to have a pleasant experience while travelling through and exploring Strahan. Kind Regards, Darlene

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 23 October 2016

welcome greeting from staff, central location, close to beach hotels supermarket trains ,river cruises. large grounds to stroll around and look for the ever elusive local platypus. Nice and quiet we were in room 406 right up the back and is a 2 bedroom cottage, great take away food at the front from Molly,s also is a treat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimbo2570
Strahan R, Manager at Strahan Holiday Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. It is pleasing to us that you had a great time while in Strahan and also enjoyed your accommodation choice. Kind Regards, Darlene

Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Had a great stay. Close to town centre. The bed was really comfortable. Clean and quiet. Would stay again if in Strahan. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Good sized family cabin. Next door to takeaway store which is handy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maryanne A
Strahan R, Manager at Strahan Holiday Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and would love to have you return in the future. Kind Regards, Darlene

Eucla
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We booked a cabin for myself, my husband & our two grandchildren. Very comfortable, clean, and warm. Well equipped kitchen with microwave, stove & refrigerator. Set in lovely gardens. A short 2 minute drive into town for Gordon River boat trip or rail trip. Plenty of eating places nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Salandan2013
Strahan R, Manager at Strahan Holiday Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we were very pleased to host your family. We hope to see you return again in the future. Kind Regards, Darlene

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We love this park. Lovely big bushy powered site next to clean amenities block with heaters in showers! Recommend Molly's cafe on site for burgers and chips for dinner and bacon and eggs for breakfast!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily A
Strahan R, Manager at Strahan Holiday Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you return for a third time. Kind Regards, Darlene

Gorokan, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We stayed in one of the cabins which was modern and very comfortable. the bathroom was surprising roomy.The only fault was the very limited cooking utensils,which made cooking a little difficult.However this is s minor issue.The setting with a balcony overlooking the creek was a nice touch

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
Strahan R, Front Office Manager at Strahan Holiday Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you in the future. Darlene, Operations Manager

Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

Disgusted the room was not served when we go there.empty ok and we got placed only where we had to park in wateryhole none of the emenities were full being told they don't do them daily.hot water enough for 2 showers in a six berth cabin.and they refused to remove broken chairs or fix an outside light were there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ppeepper
Strahan R, Owner at Strahan Holiday Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for taking my call to discuss this issue. There was indeed a blocked storm water drain that caused some puddling but there were plenty of other parking spaces available. By your own admission the light bulb blew during your stay and you did not request a replacement. There is a smaller hot water service in this cabin that...

Devonport, Australia
Reviewed 13 May 2016

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage with my parents and it was perfect for the 4 of us! Very clean, comfortable and had everything you need in the self contained kitchen. Only a short drive to Strahan Wilderness Railway Station, Gordon River Cruises and restaurants. Great value for money - Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slewis7310
Strahan R, Front Office Manager at Strahan Holiday Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you return in the future. Kind Regards, Darlene, Operations Manager

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.9 km away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
814 reviews
1.3 km away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
75 reviews
0.1 km away
Strahan Beach Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
272 reviews
0.4 km away
Marsden Court
Marsden Court
#5 of 21 in Strahan
62 reviews
0.1 km away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#3 of 4 in Strahan
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Strahan Holiday Retreat is situated on 11 acres of tall trees and Platypus streams. Perfect for families or large groups. There is an eclectic mix of cottages and cabins that range from Studios to four bedrooms homes. Most accommodation is larger than average with room to move and fully equipped with everything you need for an overnight stay or longer. Serviced and un-serviced sites offer camp kitchens and family bathrooms. There is a Cafe and shop on-site and a tour desk and activity hire. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Strahan Holiday Retreat

Address: 8-10 Innes St, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Price Range: ₹ 6,795 - ₹ 7,773 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strahan Holiday Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Strahan Holiday Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Holiday Retreat Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Strahan Holiday Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in cabin 22”
 of 5 bubbles 164andrewc164, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“request a room away from the road and cafe”
 of 5 bubbles toowelltravelled64, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Newer cabins much nicer.”
 of 5 bubbles sues821, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“near the office is better for wifi”
 of 5 bubbles 720chrisj, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Cabin choices, depends on the size of your group”
 of 5 bubbles awmt73, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5