We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Stamps of Stanley

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Stamps of Stanley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 63: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Open all year unlike other places in Stanley. We stayed three nights in August in the Customs House Studio and had a great time in Stanley. The accommodation is rustic, comfortable and really lets you put your feet up; truly as there are two recliners with foot rests to sit and watch TV , a movie or just listen to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Greg W
StanleyPetlyn, Manager at Stamps of Stanley, responded to this review

Hi Greg, Thanks fro the great review. I am so happy that your time spent in Stanley was a great experience for you and that your time was relaxing. Even though a lot of Stanley was closed it is still a nice place to be even in winter. Regards, Lynda More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Stayed there for one night. My colleague had the ground floor studio and I had the upstairs apartment, It was a cold winter's night and the proprietor had put the heaters on for our arrival. Very toasty! Very comfortable and roomy and the cleanest and neatest apartment I have ever stayed in. Absolutely spotless.

Helpful?
Thank Ken F
StanleyPetlyn, Owner at Stamps of Stanley, responded to this review

Thank you so much Ken F for such a glowing review. It is so nice to get an email notification alerting us that a new review has been posted and to then read the wonderful recommendation. We are very happy that we made your stay with us a memorable one for all the right reason. We hope to see you... More 

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2016

I stayed in Customs house upstairs and could not fault it- loads of space - great views -everything you need and the beds were bliss. It is in great walking distance to all the restaurants, cafes and of course the "Nut". The history itself is unique and worth looking at. I would highly recommend and will use it when on... More 

Helpful?
Thank tasidrive
StanleyPetlyn, Manager at Stamps of Stanley, responded to this review

Hi Tasidrive, Thank you for choosing Stamps of Stanley as your resting stop in Stanley. Word of mouth is the best form of advertising so again thank you for your great recommendations to others. Regards, Lynda More 

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We stayed here for three nights recently and despite mostly wet and miserable weather, found the Customs House Ensuite Studio upstairs very comfortable. The chimney pipe from the downstairs firebox warms up the living area nicely and there are two reverse-cycle air conditioners as back-up. There is an adequate kitchenette, a compact bathroom and the bed in the separate bedroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank PollardHackett
StanleyPetlyn, Manager at Stamps of Stanley, responded to this review

Hello PollardHackett, Thank you so much for taking the time to place your review of our property (Stamps of Stanley) on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your comments and insight. Though the weather was disastrous when you were here we are glad that you still enjoyed your visit to beautiful Stanley. Maybe we will see you again soon. Regards, Lynda More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2016

This accommodation is operated by a lovely lady who runs the Post Office. We stayed in the upstairs studio which I think is called the Customs House. It was a beautiful studio that supplied comfort plus more. On our 10 day trip around Tassie this was certainly our favourite accommodation.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cherylN3510SX
StanleyPetlyn, General Manager at Stamps of Stanley, responded to this review

Hi Cheryl, It was such a pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you so much for your lovely words about our accommodation. It gives us a real buzz when we read comments like what you have said "On our 10 day trip around Tassie this was certainly our favourite accommodation". After all word of mouth is the best... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2016

After arriving in stanley with no booking we had a quick lunch & then thought we would check out the post office accommodation. After being shown the exchage downstairs, our minds were made up. The exchange was clean and spacious, and we even had use of the back deck. Preparing & eating in was no problem, as the kitchen was... More 

Helpful?
Thank meredith
StanleyPetlyn, General Manager at Stamps of Stanley, responded to this review

Hi Meredith, Thank you for taking the time to place your review on Tripadvisor. We are so glad that you found our accommodation to be so accommodating and that everything you needed was supplied. You had the best of both worlds in being able to stay in both units. The views upstairs are spectacular aren't they? It was a pleasure... More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2016

after booking in with the post office next door we were go smacked at our accomodation next door in the customs house. We had the whole top floor!! Beautiful views from the windows. Very spacious rooms altogether! Well worth staying here!

Helpful?
Thank Tricia K
StanleyPetlyn, General Manager at Stamps of Stanley, responded to this review

Hi Tricia, I can still see your face and reaction when you came back down stairs to pay. It was priceless and said how you loved the accommodation so much. We appreciate your time in writing your review for others to see. It is the best form of advertising. We are so happy that you enjoyed your short stay with... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

Travel often for work and pleasure and must the exchange room at stamps of stanley is one of the nicest cleanest and welcoming places i have stayed in Its very comfortable and roomy self contained warm and inviting decore even has books and dvds to entertain recomend this place to anyone

Helpful?
Thank Andy U
StanleyPetlyn, General Manager at Stamps of Stanley, responded to this review

Hi Andy, Thank you for your time and kind words in placing this review on Tripadvisor. It is great to hear that you loved your stay and word of mouth praise is the best to get. We hope to see you in the near future for another wonderful stay. Regards, Lynda More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Great location, spacious, very clean. Looks fairly new, so everything in good condition. Sorry our plans changed and we could only stay one night (originally booked two). We were one couple staying in the upstairs apartment, which is 2-bedroom - we figured it was worth the $10 price difference for the extra space and view over the bay, and it... More 

Helpful?
Thank John O
StanleyPetlyn, General Manager at Stamps of Stanley, responded to this review

Hi John, Yes we were also disappointed that you could only stay for one night. We appreciate this review that you placed on Tripadvisor for others to read. It does go along way when you our guest can give such a great report. Thank you. Regards, Lynda More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2016

We so enjoyed our two nights in Stanley staying at Stamps in the Studio Suite. Had everything you could want in an apartment - spotlessly clean, well stocked kitchen and really comfy bed - with even a wonderful view of the Nut. Would definitely go back here next time we are in Stanley.

Helpful?
Thank John S
StanleyPetlyn, General Manager at Stamps of Stanley, responded to this review

Hi John, Thank you for your time in placing a review of Stamps of Stanley on Tripadvisor. Word of mouth is the best form of advertising. We are very happy that you had a wonderful stay with us and would love to see you again sometime. Regards, Lynda More 

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
0.1 km away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
148 reviews
18.3 km away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
252 reviews
1.4 km away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#4 of 7 in Stanley
109 reviews
0.4 km away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#2 of 7 in Stanley
156 reviews
0.4 km away
Hanlon House B&B
Hanlon House B&B
#1 of 7 in Stanley
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stamps of Stanley is situated beside and above the Stanley Post Office in the heart of Stanley Tasmania. We overlook Sawyer's Bay, The Greenhills, Tatlow's Beach and directly under our iconic "Nut".Being centrally located, shops, restaurants, The Stanley Hotel, our award winning Godfrey's Beach, Moby Dick's breakfast bar and the wharf are all within walking distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stamps of Stanley

Address: 11-13 Church St, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Price Range: ₹ 6,179 - ₹ 7,252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Stamps of Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamps Of Stanley Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stamps of Stanley staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Chesham, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Stamps of Stanley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Can't go wrong no matter what you choose.”
 of 5 bubbles 93kenf, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose the downstairs suite if climbing stairs is a problem for you.”
 of 5 bubbles PollardHackett, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for Customs House room”
 of 5 bubbles triciak2013, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“We only experienced the Customs House - there are two other apartments.”
 of 5 bubbles 657pamelar, 16 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Only two apartments available and ours was excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles Aussie_Lozzie, 19 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay