We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bears Went Over The Mountain

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Bears Went Over The Mountain
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Bears Went Over The Mountain
See the most recent reviews
Showing 42: English reviews
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2015 via mobile

Quirky but nice:) it suited me as I wanted to explore this part of the Huon and South, knew I'd be walking many of the day hikes so happy to have a comfy bed and clean ensuite waiting on my return. Continental breakfast set me up nicely each morning although I found it quite dark in the main area. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Restless59
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 November 2015

Very nice accommodation and very friendly owners. Room was warmed prior to arrival and was very clean Good selection of coffees and tea in the room, We had the merry thoughts room with an outward facing enclosed veranda which gave the room extra character. Good continental breakfast and reasonable prices. The one small issue with Geeveston in the lack of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
Toowoomba
Reviewed 13 November 2015 via mobile

We arrived in the cold rain and our thoughtful host had preheated our room which was pleasantly decorated. We were provided with a comfortable bed, a bright ensuite and plenty for breakfast. Our host gave us good advice to visit the Hartz Mountains national park and to recommend the sushi restaurant

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toowoomba65plus
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 7 October 2015 via mobile

Very welcoming and polite operators. Very informative and honest. Rooms were clean and spacious, beds were really comfortable. Ensuite clean, and reasonably modern. Very pleasing experience. Continental breakfast supplied.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess G
Brisbane
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay with our 2 kids. Breakfast was not fancy but filling before heading off to the mountains. Host very nice, friendly and informative. Great with kids too Nd very accommodating. We have not tried too much else in this town but enjoyed staying there. Cider was good with a twist and coffee was excellent!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kazlolo
Leanne M, Owner at The Bears Went Over The Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we look forward to welcoming you again one day.

Terrigal, Australia
Reviewed 3 June 2015

This B & B has three rooms. The two that were allocated to us were quite small but both had en suites, which once again were rather small. Upon arrival our rooms were warm as was the welcome from our host. Included in the $120 per room tariff was a continental breakfast which was adequate, without being anything special (limited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phillip8789
leanne m, Owner at The Bears Went Over The Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback. We were sorry to see room size did not meet your expectations, the rooms each have a private ensuite and are similar if not larger than the average hotel room. We think they are quite comfortable and were sorry to read of your disappointment. WiFi is available in all areas of...

Greater Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 1 June 2015

Booked a romantic weekend (Easter Sunday) for wife and I. I became very ill and was required to proceed straight to hospital. Called in to inform owner knowing full well no refund would be forthcoming, only to inform them of my situation and they may then be able to re rent room. gave them our paid up paperwork at that...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Michael F
Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 25 March 2015

Made to feel very much at home. Nothing was too much trouble. Bit of a different set up which meant the women in the party could shop whilst the men had a glass of wine! Rooms were comfortable, showers hot and good continental breakfast. Ross was very knowledgeable about the area and gave good advice on where to visit. Well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CozzersinOz
leanne m, Owner at The Bears Went Over The Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and for the feedback, it is most appreciated.

rotherham,england
Reviewed 23 March 2015

Due to family problems Ross had to look after us while doing his normal daytime job,and a grand fist he made of it.His father-in-law let us in and showed us to our room and explained about the teddy bears.We were just about to have a sandwich when Ross came home and said hello,and after telling about the crash we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank royj
leanne m, Owner at The Bears Went Over The Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind feedback.

Sydney
Reviewed 17 March 2015 via mobile

Good base from which to do the Tahune Airwalks from. We dined at the Kermandie pub 5 kms or so for dinner as meals weren't available at that time at the B & B. The rooms were very nicely decorated & bathrooms equally so. I am not normally too keen on B & B's as I am 60 & prefer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobynBSydney

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geeveston
0.3 km away
Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast
2.8 km away
Kermandie Hotel
Kermandie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Port Huon
87 reviews
3.8 km away
The Port Huon Cottages
The Port Huon Cottages
#1 of 1 in Port Huon
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Tahune Air Walk Lodge
Tahune Air Walk Lodge
#1 of 3 in Geeveston
24 reviews
18.4 km away
Driftwood Cottages
Driftwood Cottages
#1 of 5 in Dover
124 reviews
18.6 km away
Smugglers Rest
Smugglers Rest
#1 of 1 in Dover
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Bears Went Over The Mountain

Address: 2 Church Street, Geeveston, Tasmania 7116, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Geeveston
Price Range: ₹ 6,229 - ₹ 7,535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bears Went Over The Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Bears Went Over The Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bears Went Over The Mountain staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bears Went Over The Mountain staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The front room backs onto the street but it is not noisy being a small town and it's good to see what's going on out the window.”
 of 5 bubbles safetyswitch, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Highly recommended”
 of 5 bubbles abigail2567, 8 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the room with the spa.”
 of 5 bubbles Phillip8789, 2 Jun 2015 | Read review
“The spa room was tops!”
 of 5 bubbles 297elles, 28 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Dont bother - rooms are not as what you book and confirm!”
 of 5 bubbles 472LindaT472, 24 Sep 2012 | Read review
5 of 5