We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

292 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet
See the most recent reviews
Showing 289: English reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here one night. Reception staff rude and unhelpful. Booked for two adults and a child. Somehow there was confusion about the child's bedding, which would have been fine if the lady at reception didn't argue that we told her we did not require bedding. The room was dated but had what you needed. The $15 charge for extra linen...

Thank Abie2
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hello Abie, Sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. Happy the cabin had what you needed though. To clear up some confusion,the extra child charge is not for the linen it is for the additional child. Our linen is supplied by a commercial laundry & if the towel was threadbare we will bring it to their attention. Yes, you...

Reviewed 26 October 2016

I guess that writing a review you are in effect being a judge so as judges do let’s start with the good points. The lady in reception was cheerful and helpful – from the site we stayed on there was water views – the park is easy walking distance to the local shops and tavern but that’s pretty much where...

Thank Tom D
Iluka_Holiday, General Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hello Tom, We are happy all of your stay was not a disappointment. But do feel we have to respond to your comments in a factual sense. Our park is on 10 acres of well treed natural bush setting, the groundsmen go to great lengths to ensure it is kept clean & not over manicured. Yes, you are right the...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We booked a cabin for two nights while visiting the Freycinet National Park. Big4 offers both cabins, caravan and camping sites. Our cabin was clean and tidy, with relatively new appliances. One bedroom had a comfortable double bed, while the second bedroom had two bunk beds. We were there in Spring, and the small heater was adequate. It might struggle...

Thank Malcolm C
Iluka_Holiday, General Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay at Coles Bay. The cabin you were staying in has beautiful views over Coles Bay & Muirs Beach, the former being the village on the Freycinet peninsula, the drive that took you 10 minutes was into the Freycinet National Park. It is a...

Reviewed 9 October 2016

For our time visiting the Freycinet National Park, we booked at the Big 4 being members. We had booked a "Superior" cabin, which was for 6 guests, and not much about the accommodation was "superior". The word gives the impression of something special or out of the ordinary, it was not. The cabin was reasonably modern, and well appointed with...

Thank Mark R
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review, we are sorry that you were disappointed with your cabin. We tried to differentiate the park cabins with the terms standard and superior as the superior ones have a queen compared to the double in standard and the superior are newer units, obviously we may need to change our wording.

Melb VIC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We travelled in our camper van from Hobart to Freycinet and were very happy with what we found. The check in was very helpful and we were issued a very spacious site for our 4 berth van ( approx 6m) we were in Eel Walk which was a stones throw to amenities block and BBQ area and playground. The amenities...

Thank happybananas
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewed 24 September 2016

Modern, extremely comfortable & well appointed, equipped cabins. Outstanding views over Oyster Bay, appropriately named due to the delicious oysters available just up the road - if you love your oysters, the oyster farm is a MUST visit ( crayfish is also available at the right time of the year !) Then head on down to Wine Glass Bay Cruises...

Thank Andrew M
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Dear Malcolm, Wow, sounds like you had a fabulous holiday on the Freycinet peninsula,taking advantage and enjoying all this beautiful area has to offer. Hope to see you return another day. Kind Regards, The Manager

Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Great place to camp or van. We camped. Toilets very clean and awesome shower facilities. Right next to the bakery which is also handy. Has a BBQ area if needed. Sites are grassed and even with easy access to power and water.

Thank Scotty W
Iluka_Holiday, Front Office Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hello Scotty, We are very happy you had an enjoyable stay, & found everything to be conveniently located, in our small picturesque village of Coles Bay. Appreciate you submitting feedback. Kind Regards,

Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Staying here on a school tour we found the cabins to have ample room. A family of four to six will be confirtable in the large cabins. With a good size kitchen and clean ammenities one can easily stay here for a tour of the wonderful surroundings.

Thank Paul B
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We stayed in a reasonably new cabin which was nicer than expected, was comfortable with adequate heating, however the elecric blanket did not work and the quilt on the queen bed wasn't warm enough so we borrowed a spare of one of the bunks. Park could do with some updating, the kids felt the playground was a bit daggy. O.k...

1Thank Q6647YGlisab
J0hn_Shar0n, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. It is always helpful to us to get customer feedback and if guests don't report such faults as electric blanket not working we wouldn't be aware. We are also looking to update our playground with some new equipment prior to summer, sorry it wasn't there for your children.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Centrally located, clean, warm and the price really suited our purpose! Close to the tavern, bakery, supermarket this Big 4 ticks all the boxes. Friendly / helpful check in staff made the experience positive.Beds all have electric blankets to ensure a cosy night!

Thank Sue S
Iluka_Holiday, Front Office Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hello There, Thank you very much for your feedback we really appreciate it. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and all round experience at Iluka, & welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards, Front Office Manager

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (102)
Room/Suite (39)
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Bathroom (9)
View from Room (6)
Dining (6)
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (22)
Room/Suite (6)
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
27.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Bicheno
18.1 km away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
420 reviews
2.5 km away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 4 in Coles Bay
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
379 reviews
7.5 km away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
88 reviews
27.5 km away
Bicheno East Coast Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet (formerly known as Iluka Holiday Centre) sits opposite Muirs Beach at Coles Bay on the beautiful East Coast of Tasmania. It's an ideal location from which to explore world renowned Freycinet National Park and Wineglass Bay. The area is rich in stunning natural beauty, great walks and history. It abounds in fresh local produce from berries to wine and seafood. Whether a couple looking for a quiet weekend or a family wanting a fun holiday we offer a wide variety of accommodation options: 2 bedroom units, cosy cabins, powered and tent sites, YHA backpackers hostel. Minimum booking periods over long weekends, Christmas and Easter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet

Address: 15 Reserve Road | PO Box 44, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia (Formerly Iluka Holiday Centre)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Price Range: ₹ 5,825 - ₹ 9,751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 Iluka On Freycinet Coles Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher located cabins have a better view of the ocean”
 of 5 bubbles w0nderlust76, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Holiday park for tents, caravans camper vans also cabins available.”
 of 5 bubbles barrettg41, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Having a self-contained Cabin was worth paying extra”
 of 5 bubbles 519judyh, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are plenty of options for accommodation here ranging from camping to hostel to luxury holiday apartments.”
 of 5 bubbles wildpoppy_8, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book the 2 Bedroom Holiday unit if you are a family, the other cabins are too small.”
 of 5 bubbles markkarenr, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5