We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Lufra Hotel and Apartments

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 337: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our second visit here. Room and apartment fabulous both times - comfortable Gorgeous, peaceful view to wake up to and the sound of the ocean to lull you to sleep. Yummy restaurant on site with great staff

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank andy784
Revesby, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Has great sceneries but far from good dining places. Need to bring lots of drinking water because all the water from the taps are slightly brown. The fridge is weak and the shower's water pressure is weak.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tassietrekker2017
Peter D, General Manager at Lufra Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, and disappointed to hear your dissatisfaction with your dining experience. On the water, we supply free bottled water to all our guests, and explain that all our water is harvested from the heavens above or our mountain spring. Incidents of wild weather will effect that, but the colour, but quality of the water is good. Sorry...

Angaston, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms not ready on time. male staff rude on more than one occasion. poor phone reception. wifi useless. no recommendation to stay there. view beautiful though. female staff good ,food ok. and no park for motorcycles.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefan P
Peter D, General Manager at Lufra Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings about your stay. Not sure where you stayed in the hotel; WIFI is patchy at times, however always accessible in the main hotel building. Your mobile reception is out of our hands, and surprised that we did not accommodate your motorcycles, which we always accommodate right at the reception door...

Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely friendly people, the quality of the food was amazing, and this location is gorgeous , 5 min drive to the blowhole and fishing. Stayed here many times now and we will be back again in the future.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jett75
Peter D, General Manager at Lufra Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your return visit, and pleased we have delivered good food and service for your stay.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here twice (before and after 3 capes hike). Was conveniently located for Port Arthur area and local attractions such as Tasman arch, Tessellated pavement etc. Walk across road to Tessellated pavement and beach. The room was recently renovated and quite nice. Minor issues with room (shower leaks out into bath room, sliding bathroom door difficult to open). We had...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona_mel
Peter D, General Manager at Lufra Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and the staying after your Three Capes Walk. Your comments are noted and renos are on our immediate plans as we can. Look forward to seeing you back again sometime soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Awesome stake sandwich best I've had in years. The steak and onions were so juicy it was a sensation of flavors. The staff and service were both quick and exceptional. Great view sitting in or outside and would defiantly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan P
Peter D, General Manager at Lufra Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review

Great to hear about your open steak sandwich experience. Hope to see you back again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a "suite" after looking at the website. A key point to note is that the hotel has an old wing and a new wing. The old wing is portrayed on its website as the "standard rooms" but looks nothing like that in real life. The rooms are very dated. Imagine a room from at least 30 years ago....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rollaround
Peter D, General Manager at Lufra Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review

Please rely on your own appraisal, or call us at the Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you Standard Room 'suite' did not come up to your expectation, and sorry to hear that our Website confused you. More of concern is the appraisal of the Christmas Lunch in comparison to the verbal comments we received from lunch guests, who...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lufra Hotel is in a great secluded location right on the beach at Pirate's Bay and directly in front of the tessellated pavement. The hotel itself is older-style and friendly. The apartments are ten years old and still feel modern, with outstanding views. The apartments are not huge but are well designed and comfortable for a family of not more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wills68
Peter D, General Manager at Lufra Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay and the services you encountered and the highlights noted. Look forward to your return.

Beauty Point, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A comfortable, well located hotel near the tesselated pavement and other interesting attractions. Good and efficient service. Lots of parking. One of the best,if not the best, establishment on the Tasman Peninsula.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank _judy_cotton
Peter D, General Manager at Lufra Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and 'if not the best' comment. Good service, yes we aspire to that, and certainly great natural attractions right round us.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is located with a fabulous view facing out to sea and along the beach. We were an extended family of 8 so finished up in a three BR 'suite' in the hotel proper which is rather dated. The superior accommodation is clearly in the self-contained apartments which are recently built and have a fabulous outlook from a private...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HofH999
Peter D, General Manager at Lufra Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and recommendations. Great to see the highlights picked out. Have a great 2017

153 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eaglehawk Neck
15.5 km away
Stewarts Bay Lodge
Stewarts Bay Lodge
#1 of 3 in Port Arthur
535 reviews
16.6 km away
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Arthur
322 reviews
14.3 km away
The Fox and Hounds Inn
The Fox and Hounds Inn
#3 of 3 in Port Arthur
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 km away
Parsons Bay Retreat
Parsons Bay Retreat
#1 of 1 in Nubeena
80 reviews
14.7 km away
Port Arthur Holiday Park
Port Arthur Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Port Arthur
357 reviews
16.8 km away
Port Arthur Villas
Port Arthur Villas
#2 of 5 in Port Arthur
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lufra Hotel and Apartments, at Eaglehawk Neck on the gateway to thew Tasman Peninsula, is a quality character hotel that offers comfortable lodging and meals Our self contained modern 4 Star holiday apartments are your home away from home. We also have 3.5 Star waterview rooms in the original hotel building Budget accommodation for the price conscious traveler. The hotel overlooks spectacular 'Pirates Bay' where surfers are a common sight and whales are often seen on their annual migrations. We serve breakfast and cafe meals daily, dinner and specialty meals for all occasions fashioned from local and quality produce. The Lufra is the ideal place to stage your exploration of the Tasman Peninsula; heritage and convict past and the Port Arthur site breathtaking cliff top walks the world first Tasmanian Devil Conservation Park Tasman Island cruises as well as chocolates, whiskey, kayaking, tuna and game fishing Stay for a day or more to make the best out of your visit to this special part of Tasmania ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lufra Hotel and Apartments

Address: 380 Pirates Bay Dr, Eaglehawk Neck, Tasmania 7179, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Eaglehawk Neck
Price Range: ₹ 4,641 - ₹ 9,691 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lufra Hotel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Lufra Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eaglehawk Neck
Eaglehawk Neck Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lufra Hotel and Apartments staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lufra Hotel and Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take an apartment!”
 of 5 bubbles wills68, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Comfortable. Bring your own hairdryer.”
 of 5 bubbles _judy_cotton, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“a self contained apartment”
 of 5 bubbles HofH999, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Top floor apartments are light and bright”
 of 5 bubbles Hobarttown, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for a quiet room avoid no 22”
 of 5 bubbles hett2014, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay