We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Edgewater

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Edgewater
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Edgewater
See the most recent reviews
Showing 101: English reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

I stayed here due to the proximity to the Spirit of Tasmania terminal and based on reviews expected a decent hotel but boy was I wrong. I'll try to sum it up in point form; * This is a 1 star MOTEL not a 4 star hotel as advertised. * The room had an overwhelming stench of urine - we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tolga T
Owner_Edgewater, Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We were surprised that you endured till your departure to inform us, instead of raising the matter on check-in. Had we known, we would have moved and upgraded you to another room, without question or hesitation (subject to availability).

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night before boarding the spirit of Tasmania, room smelt like urine, lights didn't work, room look nothing like the advertisement, bathroom stunk and staff were unhelpful when we brought the issue up. Disappointing !!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sonia_tt16
Owner_Edgewater, Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We were surprised that you endured till your departure to inform us, instead of raising the matter on check-in. Had we known, we would have moved and upgraded you to another room, without question or hesitation (subject to availability).

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 30 December 2015

We stayed here due to early morning departure of ferry. It's not the classiest place or most appealing, but it was fine for us for one night. There is no way I would stay here for more than that. The room was spacious but lacked free wi-fi. That's a huge negative. 7.50 per hour is ridiculous & not worth it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HLS688
Owner_Edgewater, Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Many thanks for your response, we believe our location (next to Spirit of Tasmania) is a great benefit to our customers. As for free wi-fi.... its on the way, but in the meantime we have a PAYG service. Kind regards.

St Helens, Australia
Reviewed 16 November 2015

Parking outside the door. We had a clean and comfortable room with King bed, although a bit hard and could do with a "topper" to improve comfort with a plush feel. Compact ensuite had a good shower and the Heatpump/Airconditioner great. The meals in the Restaurant were a great standard... the Calamari and Garlic Prawns excellent !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MauriceJohn13
Owner_Edgewater, Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Great to hear that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 20 October 2015 via mobile

This hotel sits on the east Devonport side right near the bass strait ferry terminal. The rooms are small and clean. There is no mini bar to rip you off and no wifi. The Port restaurant seemed a class above the rest of the hotel complete with bottle shop and gaming room! The food was delicious but not open on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy T
Owner_Edgewater, Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Thank you for you warm feedback, hope to see you back soon. Free WiFi coming soon.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed at this "hotel" during a recent business trip. This facility is extremely old and run down although the rooms have had a coat of paint, still terrible. No microwave or any type of cooking facility and trust me you won't want to go near the "Resturant" which is actually a rough wharfie pub as this is located in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DarrynF
Owner_Edgewater, Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to explain your disappointment with the Edgewater and location. If you are looking for a better accommodation option for the future, Edgewater has a range of premium rooms on offer, otherwise there are a number of alternative venues (including 4 star) on the other side of the river.

Reviewed 6 October 2015

We booked early and we received the best room with the best view of the entire establishment. Excellent location, close to the Ferry. The very best view from our accommodation window, allowed us to see the river, especially the slowly approaching Ferry (Spirt of Tasmania) coming through. Best advice given, if you book, is to arrive early... otherwise you'll rise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henry M
Owner_Edgewater, Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Great to here you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience.

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 10 September 2015

We have stayed at Edgewater on several occasions. We like the location to the airport and the ferry. The hotel is right on the water with great views. The Spirit of Tasmania sails right past and as we had a water view room we were able to watch it come and go. The service is great and our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank waymez
Owner_Edgewater, Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

It is a great location... next to Spirit of Tasmania terminal and great views of the Devonport township. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 3 August 2015

Our first visit to Tasmania and were welcomed at reception by friendly and helpful staff. Our room was small with good amenities, cozy enough for a nights stay. Sadly the heater made an annoying racket which my husband sorted out with a few firm hits. lol. .The bed was King size and I loved the fact it had 2 mattresses...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Win G
Owner_Edgewater, Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Our heart-felt thanks for the wonderful account of your Edgewater experience. We hope to see you back some day.

Darnum, Australia
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

Friendly and helpful staff. The King room was comfy, clean and good value. My meal was fantastic and cheap. I loved the stay and would recommend it to anyone. The proximity to the Tassy ferry was great.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Quentin M
Owner_Edgewater, Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Great review. Our team pride themselves for offering friendliness, clean rooms, comfort dishes and the best location in town.

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
0.6 km away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
469 reviews
1.3 km away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
83 reviews
0.9 km away
Barclay Motor Inn
Barclay Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Devonport
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
#4 of 5 in Devonport
98 reviews
15.5 km away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
217 reviews
0.7 km away
Dannebrog Lodge
Dannebrog Lodge
#2 of 14 in Devonport
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Edgewater's Bistro
Edgewater's Bistro
Cuisines: Bar, Australian, Seafood, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Edgewater Hotel! Edgewater is recognised as Devonport’s best value accommodation complex. The property includes 42 rooms, Bistro, Bar and Function room and is perfect for business or pleasure. Rooms feature king size beds, bathrooms, flat screen TVs, wireless internet, FREE Austar, air-conditioning, new furnishings, and a great welcome. Try us... you won't be disappointed! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Edgewater

Address: 4 Thomas St, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Devonport
Price Range: ₹ 5,764 - ₹ 8,254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgewater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Devonport
Edgewater Devonport, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Edgewater staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great if you are travelling on the Spirit. Bring ear plugs if not.”
 of 5 bubbles AJ292, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Definitely not near stair well and the socialising area”
 of 5 bubbles jetaway08, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Whilst Thomas Street rooms don't have a view we were told they would be quieter...and it was.”
 of 5 bubbles MauriceJohn13, 15 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Not the courtyard king”
 of 5 bubbles W8840RRchrisa, 10 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Get a room that looks over the water. I think they all do?”
 of 5 bubbles Cognacat, 12 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5