We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hawley House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hawley House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hawley House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 98: English reviews
Friday Harbor, Washington
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stumbled upon Hawley House late in the day without a reservation, and from its appearance were sure it would be beyond our budget - but were pleasantly surprised! We were shown to the last room they had, which was a walk back in time - huge bed with tapestry spread, family photos all over the walls, lovely fireplace, french...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol J
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I travel Tasmania as a sales rep and when I head for the NorthWest it is the only place I stay. Location is stunning, the gardens are sensational and natural. The wildlife thrives throughout the property. Service is fantastic, not overbearing and poncy but genuine, Being a vegan my dietary needs are more complicated than most. Not only did the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Terry C
Ramsla
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

On my arrival at Hawley House I was impressed by the outstanding beauty of the garden- and pond system around the house. The view over the beach nearby is fantastic. The personal charm of this place is unique and I'd recommend to stay there, at least to enjoy one of their tasty dinners in the cosy atmosphere of the dining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clarahopfgarten
Paris, France
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I had a wonderful time at Hawley house, my room had beautiful antiques furniture and I love the style of this historic house. The garden was amazing with ponds and flowers blooming everywhere, I had a great view over a small lake and the ocean from my room. Another highlight of my stay was the dinner in the elegant dining...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aude D
hawleyh, Owner at Hawley House, responded to this review

Thankyou for your wonderful review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the idiosyncratic family atmosphere, penguins and heritage house and gardens to the full during your short visit. We hope to see you again!

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at Hawley House because I prefer to book period accommodation whenever possible. I enjoyed the opportunity to mix with other guests at drinks, and the evening meal was excellent. I rarely find the small quirks or the occasional inconvenience associated with heritage accommodation a problem. However, I feel that this accommodation needs improved maintenance to warrant the high...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank GMM760
hawleyh, Owner at Hawley House, responded to this review

It is good to hear that the dinner was excellent, and the company was enjoyable, and that the garden was attractive and unusual. Other points raised here are somewhat perplexing and verging on petty - these guests asked for a new box of tissues as they had emptied their first box overnight, which was given immediately when asked at breakfast....

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I couldn't agree with the review below more. Find somewhere else to stay. The place looked great online, but we were disappointed upon arrival. Like the prior review, we were made to feel like an inconvenience from the moment we arrived. The lady that checked us in made it clear that we weren't her priority, and seemed annoyed when I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah D
hawleyh, Owner at Hawley House, responded to this review

There are such large number of statements in this review which are absolutely not true, it is hard to know where to start with a response! 1. These guests specifically booked a 'disabled access' room, for no apparent reason. Clearly on arrival they had no need for a wheelchair accessible bathroom however at that stage we were fully booked so...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed there one night Jan'14. Was very disappointed. Wasn't made that welcome, felt like we were an inconvenience being there. You pay a premiun price for what I would call poor service. They seem to trading under what once was a good name, not now though. The place is run down & the service definitely not up to scratch. Garden...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark R
hawleyh, Owner at Hawley House, responded to this review

We cannot place who these guests are, as we have only had wonderful company over this busy period. It is offensive to be attacked for service and property management. Thankfully most reviewers here appreciate our style. The house is a heritage listed, family owned property, which is exactly as it is advertised. In the last month alone, the house and...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our stay over two days was an unexpected delight. The family looked after our needs and the house batted back the elements, while we took advantage of the rare and remote place on the peninsula to rest and recuperate. Unfortunately one of us came down with a horrid cold picked up from MONA the previous week, but if you have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank john c
hawleyh, Owner at Hawley House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We thoroughly enjoyed your stay here. Good company is always appreciated. It makes us feel like we have friends over for dinner!

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

This guest house is a lovely spot to stay. It's not modern, the floors are not always level and the shower may not be perfect but this is more than compensated for by the beautiful surroundings, fabulous food, friendly helpful staff, lovely gardens and the homeliness of animals greeting you at the door.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ZELwickL
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hawley House in January. We fell in love with it immediately. Our room was super with an eclectic mix of styles that we loved. The gardens are beautiful with a small chapel in the grounds. It is ideal as a wedding venue. Breakfast was delicious with top quality produce including home made jams etc....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChrisLynn53

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
15.9 km away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
469 reviews
15.4 km away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
83 reviews
39.5 km away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 km away
The Grand On Macfie
The Grand On Macfie
#1 of 14 in Devonport
94 reviews
15.4 km away
Dannebrog Lodge
Dannebrog Lodge
#2 of 14 in Devonport
103 reviews
2.3 km away
Shearwater Cottages
Shearwater Cottages
#1 of 1 in Port Sorell
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hawley House (c.1878) offers heritage accommodation in a spectacular seaside location overlooking sandy beaches, set amongst 400 acres of gardens, vineyards and wildlife sanctuary. Hawley unashamedly embraces the patina created by her 130 year history, and the idiosyncrasies of being a family home, not least of which is her unique rooftop bath. Guest rooms feature original artworks and antique furnishings. Centrally located and easily accessible to Devonport, Launceston and Cradle Mountain. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hawley House

Address: Esplanade, Hawley Beach, Devonport, Tasmania 7307, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Devonport
Price Range: ₹ 7,337 - ₹ 10,415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawley House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hawley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawley House Devonport, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hawley House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front upstairs suites in the main house have beautiful views over the river and Bass Strait.”
 of 5 bubbles D5132ORbrucew, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stayed in Pieces room and was extremely comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles Jasper356, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Stable rooms are excellent. We inspected the "history" room and were most impressed with also.”
 of 5 bubbles darrello2014, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The stables loft rooms are lovely and spacious even though the bathrooms are a little jaded and out-dated”
 of 5 bubbles Hopeave, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Cant really help.”
 of 5 bubbles 294martye, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5