We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,009 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,933: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 12 September 2015

We arrived late in the afternoon after driving from Hobart and I was a little disappointed with the cabin. It seemed a bit tired and in need of a makeover. However, after a magnificent dinner and a good night's sleep we woke to find animals on our back deck playing in the snow. The next day we had a couples'...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jc0691
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinner, massage and the wine and cheese tasting. The animals around the property are certainly a bonus. We hope to see you return to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge. Regards Leigh Reid General Manager Peppers...

Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

I spend about 30% of my time travelling and staying in hotels all around the world. However I limit my reviews to personal holidays. This said Peppers is the most rundown and unclean hotel/ resort that I have ever stayed in. The tavern and main lobby are dilapidated and the driveways are falling apart. The cabins look very poor on...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Matthew W
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. Please let us know in future if there are any issues so we can try and rectify them during your stay as this feedback is most unusual for our property. I apologize for any disappointment you experienced during...

Reviewed 8 September 2015

My family and I had such a wonderful time at peppers. So beautiful, the scenery, the view everything! The staff at the reception was very warm and welcoming. The enchanted path was so beautiful, we were in luck because snow poured the night before.. It felt like as if we were in a winter wonderland.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare X
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review. It is certainly even more magical with snow around! Thanks for your kind comments surrounding the staff they are certainly a great time. We hope to see you return to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge. Regards Leigh Reid General Manager Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and whilst the location is wonderful, the reception staff left a lot to be desired. Apparently, with the holding deposit, you need to ask them to send your bank a fax to release it! We weren't offered this service on checkout so $1000 was unavailable to us until I rang and was informed by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jaye61
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. Please accept my apologies with regard to the credit card authorization, however please note that it is the bank that holds this money rather than us. We do hope to see you return to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge. Regards Leigh Reid General Manager Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 September 2015

My wife and I booked this hotel as we heard it was the best in the area. The room was well appointed, cozy and clean, however there was no TV and no Internet which in today's standards is poor. You can park your car right out the front and overall the room was private and good. Our biggest disappointment was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kram66
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I apologize that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. I apologize that you were disappointed with the food, this is not in keeping with our usual feedback as you can see from the majority of reviews on this website. With regard to no TV and...

Chipping Norton
Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

We had a great stay at peppers it was a great break and well worth the trip if you looking for something cheap it may not be for you we tried the degustation and for a couple that don't drink wine we loved it the food was amazing I had the quail and venison for entrée both really good and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with such wonderful comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly enjoyed the degustation meal. By having so many courses you are able to experience more of what our wonderful chefs create. Once again thank and we do hope to see you return some day....

Gympie Australia
Reviewed 7 September 2015

wonderful setting cabins nestled in amongst higher altitude forest, main area warm and welcoming with friendly staff at receptioon, restaurant and bars. Meals very good wine list ok but way over priced for brands and varieties offered. Rated 3 only because the cabins and access to need an updte and some much needed maintenance, the floor boards squeaked when and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pstevo1
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the accommodation, meals and staff. With regard to the gas fireplace they are thermostatically controlled therefore to increase the temperature you could have increased the set temperature on the remote control, next time if you have any...

Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

Found our room in a fourplex building which looked very rustic from the outside. After entering through the vestibule we found the gas fireplace casting a delightful glow on the warm room. The bed was comfortable. The window looked out on a pond where we saw wildlife. The bar was hospitable and dining was a pleasure with food that was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kalani98
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with such fantastic feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the accommodation and dining in Highland Restaurant and hope to see you return one day. Regards Leigh Reid General Manager Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 September 2015

We stayed here last year and couldn't wait to come back and spend 2nights instead of 1. Next time it may be 3 or more. Beautiful lodge in a fantastic location. The staff were all lovely and friendly. The cabins are beautiful, especially the log fire cabin we had. I could spend hours in the lodge in front of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon D
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with such a fantastic review. It is wonderful to hear that you returned after your stay the year before. Thanks for such pleasing comments surrounding the Lodge, the walks and our wonderful team. It is very highly recommended to book in advance for Waldheim Alpine Spa as it does book out at...

Bunbury, Australia
Reviewed 3 September 2015

This was my first time staying in the snow and we were lucky to arrive on a day it was snowing. The resort was everything we could of wanted and more. Very hard to top having a spa with your own private views of the snow. The restaurant was lovely with very tasty meals. The breakfast had a big selection...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and yes we are fantastic in Summer as well. Thanks for your positive comments regarding breakfast and the meals in Highland Restaurant. We hope to see you return to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge in the...

1,015 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (990)
Viewed
Room/Suite (185)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (251)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
View from Room (47)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (404)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2.5 km away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
895 reviews
39.5 km away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
90 reviews
2.2 km away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
663 reviews
1.9 km away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
394 reviews
66.2 km away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge is a unique wilderness experience, set right on the edge of the spectacular World Heritage-listed Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, just 2 hours drive from Launceston and 1.25 Hours from Devonport. At Cradle Mountain, you'll soon discover that fine food and wine are an unavoidable part of this rustic holiday. This superb escape showcases the best Tasmania has to offer with warm hospitality, sensational locally produced food and wine, breathtaking scenery and magnificent wilderness surrounds. The Lodge itself is warm and inviting with open fires, comfy chairs and cosy spots, perfect for enjoying the postcard views or just relaxing. Around Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge there are more than 20 walking trails that suit every fitness level. Imagine wandering through towering forests with trees older than mankind. Discover animal and plant varieties found nowhere else on earth. You can trek mountains, explore trails on horseback or mountain bike, and learn to fly-fish - just some of the many activities on offer. And when it's time to relax, guests can indulge in a therapeutic massage or sauna at the Waldheim Alpine Spa - the perfect place to soak away tension and time. Set discreetly within its pristine wilderness setting, Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge has 86 private timber cabins, offering 4 grades of accommodation. Each provides every comfort you could need, some with spa baths. Road Closures: There are a number of road closures around Tasmania at the moment that are affecting accessibility to Cradle Mountain. The Kimberley bridge in between Elizabeth town and Railton on the B13 is closed until further notice as the bridge has collapsed. The C138 from Mole Creek to Gowrie Park is inaccessible as the road has been closed due to the recent flooding. The C137 however from Mole Creek through Paradise just outside of Sheffield is open and a good way to bypass around the closures. For additional information please refer to the Tas police and Kentish council websites to get the most up to date information. As mentioned, if this could be worded “Getting to Cradle Mountain” and on the first page of the website. For more information feel free to contact us on (03) 6492 2100. Drive safe and see you soon! ** Ecotourism Australia Certification - Want to help the environment while your on holidays? The ECO Certification logo means that you are guaranteed to experience a genuine and authentic tour, attraction or accommodation that looks after the environment. The ECO certification program assures you that certified products are backed by a commitment to sustainable practices and provides high quality nature-based tourism experiences. Note: Any incidentals will be charged on check-out and a 2.0% Credit card surcharge would be applied to these incidentals ** ... more   less 

Additional Information about Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Address: 4038 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: ₹ 14,657 - ₹ 42,172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Resort
Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had cabin 35, very quiet and not too far away from the Lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles MichelleH762, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“It is mainly individual cabin accomodation”
 of 5 bubbles EllenC903, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Balcony cabin by the lake was great for 3.”
 of 5 bubbles I7675VTlaurenh, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose rooms closer to the main lodge building if you do not bring your car!”
 of 5 bubbles andrewcQ4795YT, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best to go to the camp ground”
 of 5 bubbles 807stephend, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay