We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,935 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,862: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The lodge is located right next door to the National Park. We stayed in the spa cabin which is secluded and surrounded by beautiful bushland. You have wallabies on your verandah with joey in pouch, just magical. The room is large, comfortable king size bed with a beautiful fire place. So very relaxing, you can take some of the most...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louise B
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Louise B, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my apologies in regards to the issues you have raised regarding our restaurant. Our Maitre d' will certainly address this with his Team Members. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really disappointing stay here and Definitely not a 4 star resort. Our kitchenette was dirty, I had to wash everything before use, bathroom looked like it had come from the 1990s with a horrible looking spa (that we paid an extra $40 to have), the water pressure was so slow that it took 27mins to fill the bath up above...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nking24
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear nking24, Firstly I would like to apologise that the experience you had while staying with us was not up to our usual standard. If you can please send us an email to cradlemountain@peppers.com.au with your contact details, arrival date and the name the room was booked under we would like the opportunity to address your concerns in more detail....

Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was to be the more luxurious part of our Tassi stay. The only thing that lived up to luxury was the price. Room was nice but so are many others at half the price. Staff were ok but not friendly. Bistro food was fair but surrounds were basic. Buffet breakfast was very ordinary. While it was freshly made, there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 973norrish
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 973norrish, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, it am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. It disappoints me to learn you experienced an attitude of indifference from some of our service associates. I have shared this feedback with our departmental managers as corrective action and...

Rockville, Maryland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent facility with great cabin spaces & delicious food. We went on a variety of hikes. There are many, many opportunities to explore the grounds on elevated walking trails. This protects the delicate flora on the ground while allowing you to visit temperate rain forests, button grass areas, lakes and more. Our favorite was the walk near Waldheim. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank krhutman
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear krhutman, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday, and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge in the future. Stay well. Sincere best wishes, Oliver...

Sydney
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I know wifi isn't the biggest deal for everyone but I didn't have mobile service so it was for me. Food: good, staff: fantastic, location: WOW (we had great weather too), cabin: very comfortable, Wifi: slow and only in the main building....none in the cabins. That made it a bit painful. If you don't necessarily need to be in contact...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Robert P, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our food, staff and proximity to local attraction. It disappoints me to hear that your stay was not all it could be on account of WiFi. As you discovered, Mobile and WiFi coverage in the region...

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Cradle Mountain for the first time and stayed at a Peppers spa cabin. The cabin was large and very private. We parked car out front of cabin and walked everywhere from there. Beautiful log fireplace kept us warm and the spa bath was very inviting after long hikes during the day. Being on the edge of the national...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Michael N, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday, and that your found our proximity to local attraction convenient. We agree - there is nothing better than slipping into the spa in your spa cabin or suite...

Sydney
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our Pencil Pine cabin was very rustic from the outside but clean warm and cosy inside.Didnt mind there was no TV .The Lodge had a nice ambieance to it especially with the open fires and homely lounge room.Good to have the Bistro as a another choice to eat though I feel it was overpriced for the quality of food served.Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen G
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Maureen G, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best wishes, Oliver and the Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Team

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My first trip to Cradle Mountain Lodge was in 2010, before it was a Peppers property by Mantra Group and back then it was everything I imagined it would be. It was rustic, charming, cosy, comfortable and full of friendly staff with lovely local produce dishes. On my return in 2016 I was so disappointed with the state of the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lady P
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lady P, Welcome back and thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. It disappoints me to learn that you encountered an instance of indifference in terms of attitude from a member within our team and I sincerely apologise for any disappointment...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staying here is something we have always wanted to do. The location is great and has the best access to the National Park. Our room was quite expensive so we were ready to be super critical if the experience did not meet the price tag. We had a contemporary spa cabin which was very comfortable. My only misgiving was that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trudy G
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Trudy G, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are glad to hear we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday. I have noted your feedback regarding the gas fire. The gas fires are controlled by the remote controls placed on the wall - there are instructions alongside...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was our second visit and I'm sure we'll be back again. Everyone has to do themselves a favour and visit this beautiful place even if your not an energetic walker or climber. Our accommodation at Peppers was again a lovely comfortable cabin warmed by a wood fire .. it was very cold .. a nice bottle of red wine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid C
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ingrid C, Thank you for choosing to stay with us again, and also for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are thrilled we were able to assist you with another memorable stay and we certainly look forward to warmly welcoming you back, again. Sincere best wishes, Oliver and the Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Team

985 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (960)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (248)
Viewed
Room/Suite (176)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
View from Room (46)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (388)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2.5 km away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
872 reviews
39.5 km away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
82 reviews
2.2 km away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
641 reviews
1.9 km away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
375 reviews
64.9 km away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge is a unique wilderness experience, set right on the edge of the spectacular World Heritage-listed Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, just 2 hours drive from Launceston and 1.25 Hours from Devonport. At Cradle Mountain, you'll soon discover that fine food and wine are an unavoidable part of this rustic holiday. This superb escape showcases the best Tasmania has to offer with warm hospitality, sensational locally produced food and wine, breathtaking scenery and magnificent wilderness surrounds. The Lodge itself is warm and inviting with open fires, comfy chairs and cosy spots, perfect for enjoying the postcard views or just relaxing. Around Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge there are more than 20 walking trails that suit every fitness level. Imagine wandering through towering forests with trees older than mankind. Discover animal and plant varieties found nowhere else on earth. You can trek mountains, explore trails on horseback or mountain bike, and learn to fly-fish - just some of the many activities on offer. And when it's time to relax, guests can indulge in a therapeutic massage or sauna at the Waldheim Alpine Spa - the perfect place to soak away tension and time. Set discreetly within its pristine wilderness setting, Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge has 86 private timber cabins, offering 4 grades of accommodation. Each provides every comfort you could need, some with spa baths. Road Closures: There are a number of road closures around Tasmania at the moment that are affecting accessibility to Cradle Mountain. The Kimberley bridge in between Elizabeth town and Railton on the B13 is closed until further notice as the bridge has collapsed. The C138 from Mole Creek to Gowrie Park is inaccessible as the road has been closed due to the recent flooding. The C137 however from Mole Creek through Paradise just outside of Sheffield is open and a good way to bypass around the closures. For additional information please refer to the Tas police and Kentish council websites to get the most up to date information. As mentioned, if this could be worded “Getting to Cradle Mountain” and on the first page of the website. For more information feel free to contact us on (03) 6492 2100. Drive safe and see you soon! ** Ecotourism Australia Certification - Want to help the environment while your on holidays? The ECO Certification logo means that you are guaranteed to experience a genuine and authentic tour, attraction or accommodation that looks after the environment. The ECO certification program assures you that certified products are backed by a commitment to sustainable practices and provides high quality nature-based tourism experiences. Note: Any incidentals will be charged on check-out and a 2.0% Credit card surcharge would be applied to these incidentals ** ... more   less 

Additional Information about Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Address: 4038 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: ₹ 13,745 - ₹ 44,936 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Resort
Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try a Spa Suite!”
 of 5 bubbles Tropicalshowers, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we were very happy with our cabin room which was close to the main building for dinner and breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles Fletcherdillo, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not sure about the other cabins but we loved the spa cabins. Bed was super comfortable. Set out was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles Littleauzzee, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for a unit close to the lodge in case of inclement weather”
 of 5 bubbles hughie731, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We only dined at the Bistro, so can not say”
 of 5 bubbles 548juliek, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay