We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

South Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
Panoramas (19)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,535 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,521: English reviews
Start your review of South Lodge Hotel
 Click to rate
Wallington, Surrey
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Have visited many times for brunch and afternoon tea. Beautiful in summer when you can sit out on the terrace drinking cocktails or sipping tea with delicious snacks/cakes. Equally lovely in winter when you can sit in the cosy rooms doing the same! Absolutely love it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Didabrera
Management response:

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your many experiences at South Lodge. I am delighted to read that you always have such an enjoyable time with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards Kerra Byrne Guest Relations

Horsham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

If you want to treat someone for afternoon tea you must come here. It's not cheap but what you get is delicious. Choice of tea and then you get sandwiches, scones and cakes. I was stuffed at the end. You also get a piece of cake (you can choose what you want) in a box to take home.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olivia E
Management response:

Dear Olivia, I am absolutely delighted to read that you had such a wonderful Afternoon Tea with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards Kerra Byrne Guest Relations

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Beautiful area and country house. Booked Afternoon Tea, dinner in The Camellia Restaurant and full English breakfast in the morning for my boyfriends early birthday present. All around amazing experience! Afternoon Tea was in a lovely room, the staff were super friendly and attentive and even sung happy birthday with a mini cupcake for him. The grounds were lovely for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mg7913
Management response:

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review your recent visit to South Lodge. I am absolutely delighted to read that you both had such an enjoyable stay with us and that we played a helping hand in making your partners birthday extra special. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We have stayed twice and would highly recommend this beautiful country hotel. A mix of old and new (and a spa on the way) it has two fabulous restaurants and lovely grounds for walking. A few minor things were a bit hit and miss (hence 4/5 rather than 5) but overall a great place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
Management response:

Dear Kevin, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to South Lodge. I am delighted to read that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us, however I am disappointed that there were a few minor issues during your visit. We strive to deliver a flawless service to each of our guests, I would be grateful...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Visited South View Lodge for a birthday afternoon treat with my two daughters. The building is most attractive and the grounds amazing. The afternoon tea itself was very average. The sandwiches were very dull and a couple were dry. The scones were the best bit! Other cakes were OK. The ladies toilet was very poor for what is described as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank poppy12015
Management response:

Dear Poppy, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent Afternoon Tea at South Lodge, naturally I am very disappointed to hear of your experience and would like the opportunity to discuss this with you. Please do contact me directly, my email is Kerra.Byrne@exclusive.co.uk. I look forward to hearing from you in due course. Best regards Kerra Byrne...

Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided, as it was Easter Day, to treat ourselves to a 'posh' place for our coffee, instead of our usual cafes. We'd read about the lovely rhododendron, featured in a paper in the grounds of South Lodge Hotel, and, as we were in the area, decided we'd have our coffee there. We were welcomed on Reception by a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosy J
Management response:

Dear Rosy, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent visit to South Lodge for Coffee. I am absolutely delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable time with us and you got to enjoy so many of our many offerings. The grounds really are very beautiful, we are very lucky. We...

Crowborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was just a one night stay for us. As we got a good deal via a third party website we were not expecting a view of any sort and we did not get a view from our bedroom windows of anything other than a wall! Anyway the room was extremely large, a very comfortable bed, lovely soft pillows and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MazM
Management response:

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent visit to South Lodge. I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us especially your meal in the Camellia Restaurant. However I would like to take this opportunity to apologise that your room service breakfast was not complete. Please be assured your comments...

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 24hrs enjoying a treat with dear friends at this hotel and its environs. On the whole, it was really very good but there were just a couple of things that would benefit from attention to make it just that bit better. Check in was fine, our rooms were spectacular with a perfect view of the grounds on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judithbliss
Management response:

Dear Judith. Thank you so very much for taking the time to review your recent visit to South Lodge. We really value your feedback and appreciate your comments. I am delighted to read that overall you and your friends had an enjoyable stay with us. However I am very disappointed to see that there were a few service issues during...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great hotel, lovely grounds and good service. Would recommend staying in a deluxe room in the main house. Heard service could be slow at dinner, so went to local pub The Crabtree which was a bad decision as food dry and service terrible. Breakfast at hotel lovely and service great. Will be back for certain once spa facilities built.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaybelline
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to South Lodge. I am absolutely delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back when the Spa is open. Best regards Kerra Byrne Guest Relations

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fabulous rooms, fabulous food, fabulous service....what more could you want? A spa.....well that is being built at the moment and does not impact the beautiful grounds too much nor does it create noise. We are regulars at South Lodge and they never fail to add a personalised welcome card and on special occasions they really look after us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Realtai
Management response:

I am so delighted to read that once again you had such an enjoyable stay with us, and like you we are very excited for the opening of the Spa in 2018. It will be a fantastic addition to our facilities. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to South Lodge in the future. Best regards Kerra Byrne...

988 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (640)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (94)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (133)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (71)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (263)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (308)
Viewed
Cosy Room (47)
Viewed
Plus Junior Suite (44)
Viewed
Plus Junior Suite (With A View) (51)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
The Hotel (114)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Beeding
17.2 km away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
16.7 km away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
8.3 km away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
332 reviews
32.8 km away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
969 reviews
33.4 km away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Winner of the Gold Award for 'Large Hotel of the Year' at the Beautiful South Awards 2015, South Lodge is less than an hour from Central London and nestles amongst 93 acres of stunning woodland and parkland. A magnificent, former family country house - it's the perfect place to relax and unwind whilst indulging yourself with fine wine, gourmet food and unbeatable horizons. ... more   less 

Additional Information about South Lodge Hotel

Address: Brighton Road, Lower Beeding, Horsham RH13 6PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Horsham > Lower Beeding
Price Range: ₹ 13,991 - ₹ 25,262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — South Lodge Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Hotel Lower Beeding
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from South Lodge Hotel staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from South Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms would be quiet as the hotel is well away from roads, and all I think would have good views.”
rosyj701, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the main house overlooking the garden are exceptionally gorgeous.”
judithbliss, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the back of the hotel so you can see the views.”
traveladdict246, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Godman suite has a jacuzzi outside on terrace”
jamiebsimpson, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No view from any room in the stable block; south facing is best”
jimmW7624GP, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5