We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Eight Bells

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Eight Bells
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Eight Bells
See the most recent reviews
Showing 74: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 12 November 2016

The Eight Bells is a pub in the tiny village of Bolney. Across the street, they have three reasonably-priced, clean, comfortable rooms. Michaela and her team have thought of everything: heated towel bar, kettle for coffee or tea, even a little package of cookies if you wake up in the middle of the night with a hankering for something to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gruffman
theeightbells, Owner at The Eight Bells, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to publish a review following your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your kind comments and hope to welcome you back to the Eight Bells and Bolney again on your next trip to the UK. Regards Michaela

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 6 August 2016

I returned to this brilliant B&B for a much longer stay than last year and, if possible, was even more pleased with my stay. Very clean room, good hearty breakfasts and a huge bath to soak my weary muscles whilst on my cricket tour. I expect to write a similar review this time next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
Hemingford Grey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Very nice, clean and comfortable rooms which are well equipped. Have excellent tower fans so not too hot at night if needed. Bathrooms are very nice with roll top bath and double showers. Breakfast is fine maybe could be a bit better. Wifi is hit and miss.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
Selsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Stayed overnight following a visit to the Bolney Wine estate. Lovely modern bedroom and a very large bathroom with all the facilities. Very popular local pub which provides a good menu at a reasonable price. Would stay again. A good base for exploring the local area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David T
theeightbells, Owner at The Eight Bells, responded to this review

Thank you or taking the time to comment on your stay with us recently. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Emma

alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 25 March 2016

This room did not feel like a B&B as the building houses only three rooms across the street from the pub/restaurant in the charming town of Bolney. We had a very generous and totally renovated room upstairs which included a large bed with two nightstands, small closet, desk with drawers and a stool (we used for luggage), luggage rack, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank erntravels
theeightbells, Owner at The Eight Bells, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We take great pride in trying to provide a comfortable stay for our guests and are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and you found everything you needed in your accommodation and with the meals you took with us. I hope you will...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Great B&B, loved our room with beautiful ensuite bathroom with freestanding bath (rarely do you get a bathroom this good in a B&B). We stayed in the downstairs room. Good value, lovely pub across the road where we spent the evening. Owners and other staff were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Food was very nice and we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
theeightbells, Owner at The Eight Bells, responded to this review

We really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us and are delighted you enjoyed your visit. We are very proud of "Posh Bob" and our team as they make every effort to make guests feel welcome and at ease. We hope you will visit us again in the not too distant future. Regards Emma and Waz

Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

What a find!! Great accommodation very reasonably priced. Clean, warm, peaceful and oh so quiet . . Perfect! Great parking facilities. Very friendly and helpful staff. Couldn't ask for more . . Except when it came to breakfast . . This was disappointing! Two of the items from the menu in the cottage were missing from the vegetarian breakfast, one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beaniemum
theeightbells, Owner at The Eight Bells, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Eight Bells and although I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation, I am extremely sorry that your breakfast experience was not as I would expect it to be. I apologise unreservedly for this experience, and although no excuse, we had a junior chef that day preparing breakfasts. I can assure...

Guildford
Reviewed 4 March 2016

What a great find,it's well deserving of its four star in fact we think it should be five star.The accommodation is superb,the owners have thought of everything.We were visiting family for our wedding Anniversary,which only comes round officially every four years,so it was even more special to stay in this fantastic bed&breakfast and finish the celebration off with a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
theeightbells, Owner at The Eight Bells, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to write this review. Our team are always grateful to receive feedback from our customers especially when it is as positive as yours. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will visit again. We look forward to ensuring your next visit is as memorable. Thank you...

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2016

Discovered this hidden gem by accident and then took friends there for the weekend. Had the best weekend for a long time. Staff all very friendly, food excellent and accommodation very, very comfortable. Wish we had a pub like this in our home town. Can't wait to return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
theeightbells, Owner at The Eight Bells, responded to this review

It was wonderful to receive notification of your review of the Eight Bells. We are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend with us. We look forward to seeing you back in Bolney very soon.

Kent
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Approximately our 6th visit to the Eight Bells. Absolutely love it. Warren and team are great really make you feel welcome. The cottage is lovely and the rooms are immaculate. If you go definitely eat in the restaurant the food is great and just a stroll across the lane so no drinking and driving! As it was December the pub...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GetReady
THEEIGHTBELLS, Owner at The Eight Bells, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of the B&B and Pub. It was a pleasure to welcome you again - and hope to do so again in the not too distant future. Posh and the rest of the team really appreciate your comments. Waz and Emma

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolney
2.5 km away
The Hickstead
The Hickstead
#1 of 1 in Bolney
448 reviews
4.6 km away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
5.0 km away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
327 reviews
8.2 km away
BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
371 reviews
2.7 km away
Travelodge Hickstead Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Eight Bells is a tudor cottage situated in the lovely quite village of Bolney. The 3 bedrooms all have en suite accommodation with feature baths in two of the rooms. Breakfast and other meals as required are served at the Eight Bells public house situated immediately opposite the cottage.All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers and free hi speed wifi internet connection. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Eight Bells

Address: The Street | between The Eight Bells Pub and St Mary Magdalene Church, Bolney RH17 5QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Bolney
Price Range: ₹ 5,628 - ₹ 7,395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Eight Bells 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your The Eight Bells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Eight Bells staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are only three rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles erntravels, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All three excellent and luxurious.”
 of 5 bubbles 820tonyl, 25 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Both double rooms have a large en-suite bathroom with bath and separate shower”
 of 5 bubbles JimPenny, 15 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Very quiet street, so any room will be peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles chrismK5833BG, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ground floor superior”
 of 5 bubbles EastendersLondon, 21 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5