We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
See the most recent reviews
Showing 351: English reviews
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2015

Great location and interior of hotel is lovely. Nice grounds. Staff are excellent. Rooms are very individual and some are small. Also mine had no shower only a bath which was unusual. only stairs to room as well

Helpful?
Thank drpeterr23
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased to hear you found the staff excellent. The Hotel is an 18th Century Grade 2 listed building so the rooms in the old manor house are irregular shapes and sizes with no lift; however, our Trent Wing extension has a lift and the rooms are all a... More 

Chevington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed for business and found the staff friendly and helpful. Room was a good size and clean. Food was good and breakfast cooked to order which is refreshing change. Will stay again. Would even take other half for a weekend break.

Helpful?
Thank Abi L
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time for posting this review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Moira Banks General Manager More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

A beautiful hotel in amazing settings. I stopped here while attending a friends wedding at Newton House Very reasonably priced, rooms are lovely, staff very friendly and helpful. Loads of parking, good wifi and nice bar area. Nicely placed to the local village too.

Helpful?
Thank leeweedon
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and your friend's Wedding. I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team who take great encouragement from such comments. Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Kind Regards, Moira Banks, General Manager More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2015

Had a great nights sleep and one of the best breakfasts i've had from hotels. It has a old feel but nothing wrong with the hotel as a whole. Would stay again but might try going for dinner and only had breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Ben P
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming back in the near future. Kind Regards Moira Banks General Manager More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Stayed for one night and we were welcomed by excellent reception staff to a hotel that has some stunning architectural features from a stained glass window which is beautiful to oak interiors and staircases which show the quality of this stately hotel. The room was clean and nicely decorated in keeping with the building and bathroom was also nicely presented.... More 

Helpful?
Thank oldbill62
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and I will ensure the team here read your comments as they take great encouragement from them. I hope it won't be long before we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel. Kind Regards Moira Banks General Manager More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2015 via mobile

The hotel looks lovely as you arrive but is a little tired inside. The room we had was 'premium' but apart from being large I am not sure what we paid the extra for. A shower room of 1970s decor and oddly the same print on two walls in the bedroom. Food was OK. The staff were friendly and they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie P
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Moira Banks General Manager More 

Travellers are raving about these Newton Solney hotels

Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

The place was once grand, but it's dilapidated and cold. They didn't have the heating on and with single glazing it was freezing in the room. I was offered a noisy fan heater. 4 Star? You're having a laugh. When I tried to speak to the manager, she was enjoying a drink with a customer and according to the staff... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Deliciouslynaughty
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am sorry you had problems when you first checked in. However, it is a pity that you have chosen not to update your review after accepting a complimentary upgrade to one of our suites and staying for 3 nights withour further issues. Yours sincerely Moira Banks General Manager More 

Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2015

We like the French Mercures. We have been to 3 UK ones and they are all "seedy". This was, possibly, the worst. No point in having a lovely old house if you aren't prepared to spend the money to bring it up to standard. The room (the best) was OK. We went down to breakfast at 8.45 (a 9.30 closure)... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Richardxxxxx
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am sorry to hear that the breakfast buffet had not been fully replenished after the early morning rush by the time you had come down for breakfast. I will ensure our Food & Beverage Manager addresses this issue with the team. Thank you again for your feedback. Yours sincerely... More 

Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2015

We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived by the cheerful, friendly lady at reception. Our room was fine (although many of our fellow guests weren't so luck), Only complaint there was the single very dim light above the mirror in the bathroom. When the shower curtain was closed it was impossible to see anything! However, at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bulwerboy
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am sorry to hear about the issues you had at breakfast. I have asked our Food & Beverage Manager to investigate this and deal with problems. Thank you again for the review. Yours sincerely Moira Banks General Manager More 

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Solney
2.9 km away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
386 reviews
11.6 km away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
0.7 km away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Solney
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
425 reviews
6.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
283 reviews
3.4 km away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Newton Park Hotel is an elegant 4 star Country House Hotel set on 8 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens on the edge of Burton - Upon - Trent and close to the main cities of Derby & Nottingham. The hotel is the perfect location for business or pleasure and offers a tranquil and serene setting in the conservation village of Newton Solney. The hotel is staffed 24 hours by a team of professionals whose mission is to provide outstanding levels of hospitality to our customers. Rest assured for whatever reason you choose to visit,we guarantee a warm and friendly welcome for all of our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Address: Newton Solney DE15 0SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Price Range: ₹ 4,582 - ₹ 9,438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Hotel Newton Solney
Ramada Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Ramada
Ramada Hotel Newton Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go high up and ask for a room on the opposite side to the car park!”
 of 5 bubbles JulieBrighton, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Just don't”
 of 5 bubbles dante1007, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 103”
 of 5 bubbles joemcd121, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“avoid unless desperate”
 of 5 bubbles noonie2016, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Lovely location”
 of 5 bubbles sandrabC2811PF, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay