We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hawthorn House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Witney
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hawthorn House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 36: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Beautiful well tended exterior with equally beautiful, clean and comfortable rooms. Alison, the owner was very welcoming and the breakfast was tasty and plentiful. I wish I could stay for longer. Very highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank Gillian T
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you Gillian for your lovely comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Alison More 

Northumberland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Alison gave us a warm welcome. The room was huge and very clean. The bed was comfortable, the garden is beautiful and breakfast was delicious with sausages from the local butcher and all freshly cooked. A good location for exploring the Cotswolds and an easy drive to the park and ride in Oxford. We ate evening meals at the nearby... More 

Helpful?
Thank merlin118
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards Alison More 

Guernsey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2016

My wife and I stayed here last weekend and were so impressed with the standard of the accommodation and cleanliness. This coupled with lovely hosts made for a very pleasant stay and we would have no hesitation in recommending Hawthorn House as a place to stay in Witney. We used to go to the Premier Inn in Witney, but not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Perky1959
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to seeing you again sometime. Many thanks, Alison More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Cant really fault Hawthorn House too much as it had everything you need, nice host, decent room, tea/coffee etc, good shower, good breakfast but nothing outstanding and there in lies the problem it was only OK. Would i stay again? I wouldn't say no but I would look at other places first. And anti-bacterial hand wash at breakfast - weird!

Helpful?
2 Thank Neal T
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review . As you stated Hawthorn House has everything you require and for the price of £60 incl breakfast, with en-suite and lovely views of the valley I think it is good value for money. I do not purport to be 5* as that is not the market I aim for. Handwashing before eating is not... More 

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2016

Stopped here on my own for a couple of nights whilst attending a course nearby. The owner, Alison, is very friendly and the room was great for me. Room 4, a twin, tastefully decorated, with en suite bathroom with a tub. Tasty breakfast with quality ingredients. Plenty of parking. Close enough to walk into Witney centre where there are lots... More 

Helpful?
Thank BBackhouse
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for your review, and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope to see you again if you are in the area. I am afraid all the beds are a little different, those 2 beds were new at the end of last year, but I am sorry if they weren't quite to... More 

Atherton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

Such a beautiful B&B in the middle of the Oxfordshire countryside, excellent breakfast made by Alison the owner, always friendly, helpful & accommodating, bedrooms are very tastefully done, spotless & in keeping with the beautiful countryside, stunning views, well located as its close to Witney, Burford, Blenheim, Woodstock & the Cotswolds ... Comes highly recommended & will be returning with... More 

Helpful?
Thank xxflissxx
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for your lovely comments and I very much look forward to welcoming you again in the near future . Best regards Alison More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

Excellent room (room 1, back of the house) with lovely decor and furniture inc big comfy 4 poster bed. Great bathroom with bath to soak in which was exactly what we needed after a day of wet cycling. All rounded off by a great full English, with eggs from the hens at the bottom of the garden

Helpful?
Thank Selina H
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and I hope to see you both again sometime in the future. Alison More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2015

We went to Hawthorn House as we were attending a wedding on the Saturday near by. Our stay was two nights - Friday and Saturday. We arrived late-ish on the Friday night to a very warm welcome by Alison. We were told the pub was still serving food over the road and decided to give it a go. The food... More 

Helpful?
Thank rowtimmsenglish
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again sometime in the future. Take care Alison More 

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2015

We chose Hawthorne House to stay at for a four night stay on the 29 June. My husband, my mum and myself thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of this friendly, homely bed and breakfast. Its superb location is central to Witney centre, Old Minster, Burford and Brize Norton, along with other attractions to visit. The pretty, cosy bedrooms are ideal and... More 

Helpful?
Thank stephen g
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and I look forward to welcoming you again. Many thanks Alison More 

Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2015

A lovely B & B. Alison the owner was very friendly. The room was very clean and comfortable could not fault it. The choice for breakfast was excellent. Would definitely stay there again. Only stayed for 1 night on 27th June for a wedding in the area but would stay longer.

Helpful?
Thank HelenGodden
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you very much Helen for your positive feedback and we hope to welcome you again sometime in the future More 

2 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Witney hotels
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Witney Hotel
5.3 km away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,072 reviews
1.9 km away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Blue Boar Witney
Blue Boar Witney
#6 of 7 in Witney
215 reviews
3.0 km away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,575 reviews
1.3 km away
Old Court Hotel
Old Court Hotel
#7 of 7 in Witney
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hawthorn House

Address: 79 Burford Road, Witney OX28 6DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Hawthorn House Witney, Oxfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hawthorn House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“only stayed once so dont know what other rooms are like.”
 of 5 bubbles NealT344, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Back room, beautiful garden view, high floor, very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles S7145RGstepheng, 17 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Check-out the bathroom as the one we stayed in had a small shower - absolutely fine for us but maybe not so for someone of a larger frame.”
 of 5 bubbles DottieColin, 26 Oct 2014 | Read review
“All rooms are more than comfortable,,we stayed in Room One overlooking the beautiful English country garden.”
 of 5 bubbles b8846hk, 16 Jun 2014 | Read review
“We stayed in the King room with a lovely view of the garden”
 of 5 bubbles 699michaelo, 13 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5