We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Spread Eagle Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Spread Eagle Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

493 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Spread Eagle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 486: English reviews
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2015

Firstly we were able to book rooms to stay over night ,of which were a good standard. wedding planner couldn't have been more helpful. All staff were efficient and friendly. Particularly Amanda and Henry. , Nothing was too much trouble, making the whole experience into a perfect memory. Would highly recommend this hotel. Just an added note : the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ranski
GeneralManagerThame, Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ranski, Thank you for your kind comments. You are always welcome. Best regards

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2015

We had our company 10 Year Anniversary Do there, and I have only had positive feedback from everyone. The organisation was second to none, the food was lovely, out on time, hot and positive comments from everyone. Richard was great on the night, and I have to say we would have another event there. Very helpful staff, everyone was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise D
GeneralManagerThame, Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Louise D, Thank you very much for your recent review.. It is a pleasure to see such rewarding and encouraging comments. We hope to see you your company's 11th anniversary! Best regards

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 June 2015

What a wonderful hotel, as soon as we stepped in the door we were meeted and greeted by a very friendly receptionist, who dealt with promptly and efficiently. We had a special deal which included a wonderful dinner on the night of our stay. Beautifully served by very sweet waitrose and waiter. The morning breakfast was superb, which was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janette B
GeneralManagerThame, Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jeanette B, Many thanks for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you here at Thame and The Spread Eagle Hotel. You are always welcome. Best regards

Reviewed 17 June 2015 via mobile

Lovely little hotel in a nice town. Slightly disappointed when the room we were allocated was one of the ones they had not upgraded. When asked for one of the those they show on the website we were told they were fully booked. The restaurant was nicely decorated and had a vibrant buzz. The food was nice and staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naleesha73
GeneralManagerThame, Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Naleesah73, Thank you very much for your review. We are a very high occupancy hotel and unfortunately there were no other rooms available to offer. Perhaps you have noticed that our refurbishment programme is in progress and soon we will have all of the rooms refurbished. There are only a few rooms left to complete. We will be very...

essex
Reviewed 14 June 2015

stayed at this hotel for two nights with my wife,at reception we were greeted with a smile and shown to our room,the room was clean tidy very well presented not a great view but the rest of the hotel made up for it,the room needed a little tlc but rooms were being renovated while we were there but no noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nick m
GeneralManagerThame, Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nick M, Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about your 2 night stay. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed The Spread Eagle and Thame. We will be delighted to seeing you back in the near future. Best regards

Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2015

Stayed at this hotel for two nights for a friends wedding, we were planning on coming back and booking four rooms to stay for a week while we visit again later in the summer. I now think we will be looking elsewhere. On arrival we were shocked to have to pay for parking. £3 per 24 hours, its pain to...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Nichola H
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2015

We specifically booked this hotel because we are big Midsomer Murders fans and the exterior and interior of the hotel had featured extensively in one of the episodes. However, we didn't know the hotel had been refurbished, so we expected the bar to be wood panelling and hunting trophies and it was more like a boudior so that was disappointing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Teresa W
Derbyshire
Reviewed 3 June 2015 via mobile

We needed a break and booked into this accommodation in the delightful village of Thame. The Spread Eagle is lovely and the food delightful. I would describe it as a quirky boutique style hotel. There's plenty of restaurants/pubs but we had dinner in the hotel and it was delicious. The bed was very comfortable and the staff welcoming and helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GinnieC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2015

I booked this hotel for myself and a colleague as we had a meeting near by. As i had a confirmation email from both the Spread Eagle and hotel booking site, i thought nothing more of it (booked and paid upfront by the way) i then checked Trip Advisor and noticed a few of the recent reviews stated that once...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank dhpinder
Reviewed 26 May 2015

Very tired, needing much improvement. Window blinds in room didn't work, and the wardrobe had to be kept closed by using the waste bin! Lighting in room was abysmal - had to remove lamp shade in order to see what I was doing. This was an overnight Amazon deal with evening meal and full English included, so just about value...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pwilde

170 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thame
7.9 km away
The Lambert Hotel
The Lambert Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lewknor
558 reviews
0.9 km away
Travelodge Thame Hotel
6.3 km away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.4 km away
Pinewood Hotel
Pinewood Hotel
#12 of 21 in Slough
465 reviews
3.3 km away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
8.6 km away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about The Spread Eagle Hotel

Address: 16-17 Cornmarket, Thame OX9 2BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Thame
Price Range: ₹ 7,386 - ₹ 11,499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spread Eagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Spread Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Spread Eagle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask if window open”
 of 5 bubbles maxinebonta, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Garden rooms have patio door opening to grassed area.”
 of 5 bubbles debbiecoughlin, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you fancy steak try to pick a Wednesday as its steak night, great value.”
 of 5 bubbles Larryp44, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“if you can get a room, you are lucky”
 of 5 bubbles 789darrenw, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our garden room was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles cottage11, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay