We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Spread Eagle Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Spread Eagle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

507 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Spread Eagle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 500: English reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Met sister and brother in law here for our Christmas Lunch of roast turkey and trimmings. Lovely friendly staff in restaurant and food served on hot plates which is a real bonus and all very tasty. Our third year here and will certainly be back next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sparkie154
Alcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Came back to this hotel, due to it being in a good location, and the only place that would take AMEX. I have had previous bad stays here due to the very dated and poorly maintained older part of the hotel. On this occasion I was without heating for 1 night (although a small electrical heater was supplied - not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank William H
GeneralManagerThame, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear William H, Thank you for your recent review. I am very sorry to hear your comments about our bedrooms. We have completed the refurbishment of 30 bedrooms out of 35 in the hotel and minimised such issues. We hope to see you in the near future so that we can demonstrate the improvements we made. Best regards

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 8 December 2015

I was here 2 nights and unfortunately had to change rooms because of hotel occupancy. I started out in a suite, which was great. Very spacious and had everything that I would want in a cozy little country hotel. The second night I was in a normal hotel room, not nearly as nice. My recommendation is to splurge for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Austin W
GeneralManagerThame, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Austin W, Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry that the suite was not available for your second night when you booked. As they are very popular it is best to book well in advance. We look forward to seeing you here again. Best regards

Reviewed 6 December 2015

Breakfast was good but the room was run down. The bathroom was probably updated in 1960. The toilet didn't flush properly, the taps didn't work properly and the heating in the bedroom didn't work properly. Expensive at £95/night I would rather have stayed at the Travel Lodge for £50. This is why I don't holiday in my own country.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank roy b
GeneralManagerThame, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roy B, Thank you very much for your recent review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast. As far as the bathroom concern the bedroom you stayed is one of the four traditional bedrooms left to refurbish. We have recently refurbished 30 out of 35 bedrooms in the hotel. I am expecting to complete the refurbishment of...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2015 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel, we stayed 2 nights on arrival check was good, lovely friendly receptionist. Rooms were beautiful, breakfast was very good, the evening dinner was great, 80,s night was fabulous. All the staff were friendly and very efficient and a special thanks to Ryan who arranged mum a special sandwich as she was in bed poorly, I will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara C
South-East
Reviewed 25 November 2015

Always love having a drink in the bar here as it has comfy chairs and a nice restful atmosphere. Unfortunately we've worked our way through many dishes on the menu now and many of them are very under par. The pasta with blue cheese, for example hardly tastes of blue cheese but is swimming in double cream. This is exacerabated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BecomingMe
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2015

We stayed last night and frankly they have alot to improve on. We arrived to book in to find the spelling of our names on the computer the receptionist almost said we were not booked in! Following this we went to our room which has been re decorated but extremely badly, particularly the bathroom with new but broken tiled floor,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank OJS1
Esher, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2015

A very disappointing visit especially when for the cost. Room was scruffy, stuffy and noisy, bed was terrible and very small for a double, with out doubt the worst I've ever stayed in. Check in staff where rude and unhelpful. Food was ok, and the coffee was terrible.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tim S
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Having a nostalgic attachment to this place and not having visited this hotel so nice the '60's, it was interesting to see how it had moved with the times. We were pleased, at first, to be given a room on the front. The bed was lovely but the room was cramped, too hot and very noisy and the loo seat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sylvia K
Reviewed 16 October 2015 via mobile

The spread eagle did a great job of hosting my brother's wedding reception, in spite of the fact the wedding party arrived late! We were greeted with good quality prosecco and really rather nice canapés. The bar was fairly reasonably priced and was a nice place to enjoy a drink, as was the well presented garden. As wedding food goes,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WilliamHarv

170 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thame
7.9 km away
The Lambert Hotel
The Lambert Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lewknor
570 reviews
6.0 km away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,590 reviews
3.3 km away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Travelodge Thame Hotel
37.4 km away
Pinewood Hotel
Pinewood Hotel
#12 of 21 in Slough
470 reviews
11.1 km away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Spread Eagle Hotel

Address: 16-17 Cornmarket, Thame OX9 2BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Thame
Price Range: ₹ 7,922 - ₹ 11,841 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spread Eagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Spread Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Spread Eagle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was no 20”
 of 5 bubbles 198carolew, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the upper of restaurant have WI-FI acces. Rooms on the building of the reception have private garden.”
 of 5 bubbles benoitc906, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Garden rooms very nice”
 of 5 bubbles colinbW631UX, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Website shows clearly the different rooms/suites that are available, very helpful”
 of 5 bubbles janiswalton, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask if window open”
 of 5 bubbles maxinebonta, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5