We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oxford Abingdon Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 394: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The place was very nice and quite, the price was good, and the service was very good. We knew a wonderful women named Helen there, she works at the breakfast service and help me a lot in order to feel me like home. If I get back to Abingdon I will reserve again in OAH.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antonio R
Newcastle
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This review is my own opinion of a there day stay whilst on business, you get what you pay for to an extent but make your own mind up. Upon arrival - The room I stayed in room 22 which immediately was pitch black when I arrived. It became apparent that there was no main light in the room only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarlGustard
GeneralManagerOAH, Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Gustard, I would like to take the time to thank you for your review and assure you that your comments will be taken on board and used constructively to help better our service and offering to our guests. Regarding your room, I will have maintenance go through your findings and rectify these issues. I would always recommend to...

Wellington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was really beautiful, most of the rooms are on the ground floor laid out really well and sumptuous in every way. There was mugs and tea and coffee as usual. Also an iron, ironing board trouser press. The beds were so comfortable too. The staff were really lovely, and the food was tip top and so much of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
GeneralManagerOAH, Operations Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, as always we do what we can for all of our guests and its great to be appreciated. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our team. Best regards Karl Fox Operations Manager

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was great for what we needed, a one night stay near Oxford but not too fancy or expensive. The restaurant was actually lovely, we had a green curry which tasted amazing and was presented really well. The beds were lovely and cozy and the room was really sweet with tea and coffee facilities and toiletries for free. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Izzo123
GeneralManagerOAH, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We aim to deliver all the basics of a hotel as well as we can. It is great to be appreciated and I have shared your comments with the team. See you soon. Andy Gelleburn General Manager

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What would you expect? It's not a top end resort hotel with a pool and gym! It's a down to earth working hotel just out of Abingdon! So the bathroom is a little tired, so the billing/inclusive's are a little weird, but the staff are nice and helpful, the in house restaurant/breakfast rooms were good with good food. You gets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonny W
GeneralManagerOAH, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review of our hotel. As you say you don't see a beautiful view from our hotel or have additional extras in the hotel such as a spa. (If you do find a swimming pool then let us know as we probably have a burst pipe that needs attention immediately) However, we as a team do all we...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel.very comfortable rooms.great staff.angie + phillys were so lovely at breakfast couldnt do enough for us thank you both.great location for oxford,abingdon was a beautiful place and i will return very swn

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel J
GeneralManagerOAH, Front Office Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Mel, Thank you for writing such a positive review about your stay at our hotel, especially your kind words about Angie and Phyliss they are definitely an asset to our team. We look forward to seeing you in the near future. Kind Regards Nick Clarke-Romeo Reception

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good location for shops and supermarkets but quite a way form the nearest rail station, £10.00 taxi ride away. Clean and neat rooms, very quiet, Breakfast is good, with plenty of choice, ate in the evening too, pizza a little over cooked but OK. Would stay heer again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig P B
GeneralManagerOAH, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, Thanks for your review of our hotel. If you have any issue with any aspect of your stay then please let any of the team know and we will be happy to rectify it. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Andy Gelleburn General Manager

UK
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Easy to find, this hotel sits by a couple of supermarkets and a DIY / Home furnishings shopping area. By the main road, it got a bit noisy at times as too did the herd of elephants that were upstairs and banging doors. Menu in restaurant is varied and simple, but staffing meant a couple of stars were doing all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Orisinal
GeneralManagerOAH, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your recent stay. I am sorry you were disturbed by some other guests. We would probably be able to move your room away from the main stairwell if asked. Our team in the restaurant do all they can for our guests, but as in all restaurants can be...

Chester, Cheshire, England
Reviewed 27 October 2016

My wife and I stopped here for one night on a journey to Southampton towards the end of September. The hotel is ideally situated just off the A34 and has a large car park. We arrived on a Tuesday afternoon and it seems to be well patronised by works peple, judging by the large amount of company vans in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank digger194900
GeneralManagerOAH, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comprehensive review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Andy and the team

Reviewed 21 October 2016

Been staying in this hotel ,due to work.Breakfast is good.Evening meals are good but,better value for money in near by areas.Drinks are Expensive too. Rooms are in need of new decor as very dated and poorly light.Beds are so uncomfy,you can feel the springs.Bathroom showers and curtains are very dated.Stayed in several rooms and they are all the same regards...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William T
GeneralManagerOAH, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about our hotel. Our hotel is due to be fully refurbished in the near future and although a bit dated, we do all we can to make sure it is a comfortable experience. If you have any issues with the quality of your sleep then please speak to the duty manager or reception team who...

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel
5.6 km away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
1.7 km away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#2 of 5 in Abingdon
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
De Vere Oxford Thames
#5 of 44 in Oxford
949 reviews
8.8 km away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#13 of 44 in Oxford
1,536 reviews
6.7 km away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Looking for a charming three star Oxford hotel which offers great value accommodation in the heart of Oxfordshire? Then look no further than the Oxford Abingdon Hotel. With a number of places to eat and drink, meeting and event spaces, and 66 bedrooms we're proud to say our excellent hotel offers a range of modern facilities welcoming both leisure and business guests. The hotel can be found in Abingdon-On-Thames, a quaint market town in the heart of Oxfordshire which is conveniently only 6 miles from Oxford with its wide range of activities and places to see and enjoy. The rooms are modern and calm with all the mod-cons you would expect from such a great value hotel. Relax on the terrace with a glass of wine, enjoy a delicious meal in our top-notch restaurant or join us for one of our lively events with friends and family. Whatever you are looking for, Oxford Abingdon Hotel has something for you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oxford Abingdon Hotel

Address: Marcham Road, Abingdon OX14 1TZ, England (Formerly Oxford Abingdon Four Pillars Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon
Price Range: ₹ 5,190 - ₹ 9,705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Abingdon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Oxford Abingdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abingdon 4 Pillars Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oxford Abingdon Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Oxford Abingdon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a room on the ground floor as I said and it was perfect”
 of 5 bubbles MaryB933, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“we were in room 52, which was at the end of the corridor,overlooking treelined main road.”
 of 5 bubbles debs_59England, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“Not much in it, we were away from the road and had a good night”
 of 5 bubbles franky17, 25 May 2016 | Read review
“You can get a bus into Oxford across the road from the hotel if you dont wish to drive”
 of 5 bubbles hodgeyWarrington, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother, the Premier Inn is 2 mins further down the road, go there!”
 of 5 bubbles PAC1961, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay