We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kelham House Country Manor Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Kelham House Country Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 266: English reviews
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Booked afternoon tea yesterday as a treat for my wife. We have experienced afternoon tea at many hotels previously so know what to expect. Apart from being the only ones taking tea, we were somewhat disappointed to have a table in the bar rather than a nice lounge or restaurant setting. Others in the bar were having a late fish...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank colin w
Jon-Paul D, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Colin Thanks for the feedback, our afternoon teas are very popular and the vast majority of our guests thoroughly enjoy them. Other guests eating different foods could occur anywhere in any food service environment and as we offer a great selection of dishes, this isn't something we can control. I'll pick up with the team on crockery and service,...

England
Reviewed 14 March 2016

The good points Good breakfast, reasonably good evening meal , nice welcome tray with nespresso machine. Elemis toiletries good water pressure on the shower. The not so good. The room we were in no 7 it looks very tired the bed was uncomfortable and the continual noise from the bar below makes it impossible to relax or get a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GBviaggiatore
Jon-Paul D, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave your review, I'll be sure to look into the points made about your stay and put in place any repairs and renewals that are needed. The bar is open to residents until 4am as per our license, apologies that the noise affected your stay. There is always a duty manager on site...

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2016

We booked this direct with the hotel as it didn't show up on the travel sites we used and I was really pleased when we found it. It looked lovely online and I thought we were going to be able to spoil ourselves a little. We were going to the Newark fair and wanted something nice nearby. We stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Picnic101
Jon-Paul D, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review, we are a small business and look to accommodate any guest that comes and wants to use our services, small meetings and business people using the bar are welcome as much as anyone else. Some of your points we'll review but I'm not willing to accept your comments on our team. We employ a varied...

Eye, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2016

First visit since change of ownership and very please to see the high standards had been maintained, even exceeded. A lovely setting for a small personal wedding. Very peaceful grounds. Directly across from Kelham Hall whose grounds offer further lovely country walks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pat w
Jon-Paul D, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pat Thanks for taking the time to leave your review and we're glad that you were happy with your visit to Kelham House, we hope to see you again soon! All the best The Kelham House Team

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2016

I was an overnight wedding guest at this hotel. With the ceremony starting at 13:30, check in was not until 14:00. So your guests can't get ready in their own room. And at £140 for the room..... that stings! Apparently there was an early check in option but they didn't communicate that. And for one person paying this much for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 396joannac
Jon-Paul D, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed the hotel and it's facilities and I'm sorry you felt there were issues. We always try and accommodate our guests wherever possible but early check ins aren't always a possibility based on the housekeeping teams workload. The accommodation was part of the wedding party package...

Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

Beautiful room lots of space for me and hubby my 1 and 5 year olds and our dog and the price was excellent value for money too. Food is very nice and the staff are super friendly Alex and Kayliegh especially. Very nice breakfast cooked to order we shall be back !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria R
Jon-Paul D, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Victoria Thanks for the taking the time to leave your feedback and we're glad that all people and dogs had a suitable good time, we'll ensure the team see your review and we hope to see you again in the future. All the best The Kelham House team.

Marple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

The Kelham House Country Manor Hotel is in very pleasant surroundings and the accommodation was lovely. The staff are friendly, approachable and can't do enough to help. Food was good and the breakfast one of the best I've had. Certainly worth a visit. Good value, too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trixi29
Jon-Paul D, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the great review and it's good to see that you had such a good time with us at Kelham House, we look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future. All the best The Kelham House team

Suffolk
Reviewed 24 February 2016

We stayed here on business but also taking advantage of a winter break deal - such good value including afternoon tea, B&B and evening meal. The food was of a very high standard. Rooms very comfortable - we stayed in room 3 which overlooks the main drive. Very quiet. The only thing which spoiled it was that the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shaz1Suffolk
Jon-Paul D, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Thanks for the review, we're glad that overall you had a great stay with us at Kelham House. Room 3 is one of our executive rooms and although because the room is so big the bed feels smaller than it is, I can definitely confirm it is a king size bed (150 cm wide), I even measured it...

Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

After an afternoon tea being booked for 3 at Kelham hall we were told by a very rude receptionist they don't do it for a small number and we must have booked at the hotel, so we went to the hotel and we hasn't booked with them but they were so accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
Jon-Paul D, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review, we're glad that we could be of help and hope to see you again in the future! All the best The Kelham House team

Dingwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night the staff were very accommodating releasing our room when we arrived at 11 having flown in from the north of Scotland for an afternoon wedding nearby. Room was clean but only a small double bed in a room that could have taken at least a queen! Breakfast was good staff friendly and helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PAnn57
Jon-Paul D, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay, early check in is a pleasure when we can accommodate it especially after a long journey. We'll review your comments on the bed and see if we can make a change as part of our ongoing improvements as it's becoming more and more the case that a...

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelham
4.1 km away
Premier Inn Newark Hotel
Premier Inn Newark Hotel
#1 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
470 reviews
7.1 km away
Saracens Head Hotel
Saracens Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Southwell
328 reviews
4.2 km away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#2 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Millgate House Hotel
Millgate House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
173 reviews
19.3 km away
Cockliffe Country House Hotel
3.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Deincourt Hotel
BEST WESTERN Deincourt Hotel
#6 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel was built as a private manor house in 1903 and became a hotel about 50 years later. Under new ownership since 2010 the hotel has been totally refurbished and extended to provide luxury accommodation at affordable prices. Situated in the outskirts of the historic Newark on Trent it provides a perfect location for business traveller, visitor to the area or as a venue for weddings, parties and meetings. As of July 2014 we are happy to announce our 3 star AA accreditation, as well as our first dining rosette awarded by the AA inspector for our a la carte menu. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kelham House Country Manor Hotel

Address: Main Street, Kelham, Newark-on-Trent NG23 5QP, England (Formerly Red House Country Manor)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent > Kelham
Price Range: ₹ 6,586 - ₹ 11,762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kelham House Country Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kelham House Country Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Hotel Country Manor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kelham House Country Manor Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Crowland
11 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Kelham House Country Manor Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room 1, and possibly 2 which is next door”
 of 5 bubbles FY8Craig, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Liked the coach house plenty of space”
 of 5 bubbles debs186342, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid eating here”
 of 5 bubbles briang463, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid Room 1”
 of 5 bubbles raygraham1945, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“South(Front) facing rooms have great views!”
 of 5 bubbles stephenearls, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5