We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

482 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 475: English reviews
Worksop
Reviewed 12 June 2016

Superb room, amazing meals, wonderful service. Cannot be improved in any way.The rooms have a mixture of antique furniture and modern pieces, all rooms having tvs, telephones, hairdryers, free wifi, and beautiful bathrooms. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RedJulie12Worksop
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

That's very kind of you, thank you very much. We think our hotel is amazing too but are always delighted and reassured to hear that our guests agree! Hope to see again soon. Kind regards Kate Firth

Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

We got married here on the 23rd of May and we can't recommend the venue enough. The staff are friendly, attentive and can not do enough for you. Special mention to Ben who made sure our day went perfect and couldn't do enough for us. Also Megan who was so lovely with our little girl and guests. All our guests...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Opheliabo
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

You are very welcome, I'm delighted your wedding was everything you dreamed it would be. Ben and Megan will be thrilled with your comments. We hope to see you again soon....we're not just for weddings!! Kind regards Kate Firth

Bonnybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2016

This hotel has plenty of parking on site and roughly 60 odd rooms. The rooms are clean and tidy. Probably the highlight of our stay at this hotel was the food which exceeded everyone in our groups expectations. Worth visiting for the food alone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Love the title! Thank you for visiting us recently and leaving such a glowing review, we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Kate Firth

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Thought we would try this restaurant as it had good reviews. I'm at a loss really, overpriced drinks. The beer they have brewed for them is like dish water, horrible. The starters were nothing special, very small for the price. The main meal was mixed, a beautiful steak to a pie with a lovely filling but the pastry was rock...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your very constructive feedback, I'm sorry there were aspects of your visit which were disappointing. Our 'Barnby Moorish' ale is fairly light and therefore perhaps not to everyone's taste but nevertheless very popular, when my cousin drives up from the south coast he makes a beeline for the St Leger Bar and his first pint makes the...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2016

We held our 125th Anniversary Ball for the Golf Club last night & we booked most of the Bedrooms for the Evening. Not only is this Hotel fantastically clean but the general ambiance is apparent as soon as you walk in. All the Staff we met were fantastic & treated us like Royalty. The High Tea is a must. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annmoody
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

We were thrilled and honoured that you chose Ye Olde Bell Hotel to host your Anniversary Ball, it was a very prestigious event for us and I'm delighted we met all your expectations. It was an absolute pleasure to work with your dedicated and professional committee to jointly produce a memorable occasion. I look forward to the next one!! Kind...

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2016

The service and friendliness of the staff here was great! There is plenty of parking too. This is an old building though, so if you are a light sleeper this might not be for you. There is no double glazing to block out road noise and there are a lot of creaky floor boards, so you hear everyone walking past...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SWard_13
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your feedback. I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit, found the food excellent and the team friendly and helpful. Ye Olde Bell welcomed its first guest as long ago as 1650 so yes we do have a few creaky floor boards...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2016

We attended a wedding in Doncaster in May this year and the reception and evening party were held at Ye Olde Bell in Barmby Moor. We booked a superior room which although a little costly gave us the luxury we were looking for, for this weekend.The hotel itself is full of character, the rooms are spacious and very tastefully appointed,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm delighted you enjoyed the wedding we hosted recently, thank you for writing such a detailed and glowing review. We are a very popular venue for weddings and celebrations of every variety however we also offer relaxing weekend breaks with plenty of quiet rooms. Choose to dine in the elegant Restaurant 1650 or cosy Bistro by the Bar where you...

doncaster
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Visited ye olde bell for Sunday lunch with 28 members of the Retfird U3A. If you want to feel special this is the place to go, attentive and pleasant staff, excellent food, lavish furnishings, lovely grounds to walk off your excellent meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marjoriedoncaster
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I just love Sunday lunch and I'm delighted you did too. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Kate Firth

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Tidy and clean. Hotel lives up to its name and is feeling a little on the Olde side. Restaurant and bar good, food very good with a very nice wine list. The pork steak with black pudding and chorizo risotto is recommended. Rooms a little olde and a little basic but clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James R
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us recently and taking the time to write a review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Kate Firth

Sheffield United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2016

We arrived to celebrate our 46th wedding anniversary we were welcomed by very friendly reception staff and directed to our room. The room was beautiful very spacious and comfortable and a huge bathroom we wished we had booked a longer stay. Pre dinner we had drinks in the bar then enjoyed a lovely meal. Leaving after breakfast we really felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janandroy42
Kate F, General Manager at Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you so much for choosing to spend your anniversary with us. I'm delighted the team looked after you so well and I hope you will visit us again soon. Kind regards Kate Firth

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnby Moor
10.0 km away
Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Clumber Park
1,079 reviews
4.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel
13.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 km away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
159 reviews
8.6 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bawtry
394 reviews
9.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
17Th century hotel now passionately restored throughout by local owners to AA 4-Star + Rosette and combining history with contemporary style. Sheer luxury everywhere with rich fabrics, chandeliers, antiques and period features. Individually styled bedrooms and stunning suites, all with flatscreen TVs and contemporary bathrooms with walk-in power showers. Lounges with real log fires in winter and smart Garden Terrace Bar for summer drinks and dining al fresco. Trendy Restaurant Bar 1650 and rich ambient St Leger Bistro-by-the-Bar with extensive menu inc creative Rosette dishes plus traditional classics. Hotel Fitness Centre and hair and beauty treatment salons - brand new state-of-the-art Luxury Spa opens Spring 2017. Just off the A1 and on the border of Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire and Yorkshire - ideal for Sherwood Forest, Lincoln Cathedral, Nottingham Castle, Chatsworth House and Doncaster and Southwell Races. Just 5 minutes from Retford Mainline Rail Station and close to Robin Hood & East Midlands Airports. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Old Great North Road, Barnby Moor, Retford DN22 8QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford > Barnby Moor
Price Range: ₹ 9,328 - ₹ 17,183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Bell Hotel And Restaurant
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If possible look for offers on the web site. Prefer the rooms in the hotel itself and not the annexed ones.”
 of 5 bubbles 985nigelp, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The bathrooms boutique but the rooms are cosy and victorian style.”
 of 5 bubbles Emily1235, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for superior rooms or check their web site all rooms are good to fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles steveec2016, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is in the country so I would presume all the rooms are fairly quiet, it might be a bit noisy above the banquet hall,”
 of 5 bubbles Mags1055P, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we have stayed in different rooms and can honestly say all dthe bedrooms are beautiful and luxurious.”
 of 5 bubbles 374lyndab, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5