We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler

Save
Share
Cottage Rd, Wooler NE71 6AD England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Priceline
eDreams
$214
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Lol.travel
FindHotel
Agoda.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (63)
Dining (19)
Room & Suite (14)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled by the Cheviot Hills in the quaint town of Wooler, this family-run former Coaching Inn offers a welcoming ambiance with cosy log fires, seasonal cuisine, stunning scenery, free Wi-Fi and parking. Originally built in the 17th Century by the Earl of Tankerville, it has a long history of providing comfort and warmth to travellers wishing to explore the beauty of the Northumbrian countryside. To this day, the hotel has retained this traditional spirit of hospitality and has garnered a fantastic reputation for its friendly and helpful service. Central to this is the cultivation of a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere supported by some wonderful views, lovely gardens and a sense of charm and style that effortlessly evokes the captivating allure of its vibrant past. The Hotel offers 17 en-suite bedrooms and, as benefits a building of this age, each one is wonderfully unique and full of individual character. Tastefully decorated in a style reflective of the wider property, what these rooms do share is a commitment to providing a high standard of comfort and a peaceful night's sleep. Every room also features complimentary Wi-Fi access, freeview TV, hairdryer, direct-dial telephone and tea and coffee making facilities as well as some fantastic views of the gardens and the surrounding countryside. There are room types to suit all kinds of traveller, including single, classic and superior double or twin options. What's more there is also a separate 2-bedroom Garden House in the grounds.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
447Reviews3Q+A87Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 162
  • 135
  • 63
  • 56
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
David F wrote a review Aug 2022
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
The room was tiny and in need of updating. The grubby and stained bedspread and cushions were disconcerting. The bed had no mattress cover. The bathroom wasn't clean with dust and mould in places. £125 per night was way over the top. If a Premier Inn was built close by they'd be dead in the water. On the plus side the evening meals were good and the staff were excellent. The 'full english' was a bit on the skimpy side, although beautifully cooked. If you didn't want a cooked breakfast your choice was cereal (but only cornflakes, rice crispies or cocopops, Weetabix), yoghurt, toast. They did have grapefruit, which so many people can't eat who are on blood pressure medication. All in all a poor experience. My feeling is they are more in the £50-£75 bracket due to the look of neglect and poor decorative order. They are, it seems, trading on past, but now faded, glories. Perhaps they should call in Alex Polizzi!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Allan B wrote a review Aug 2022
Amble, United Kingdom355 contributions112 helpful votes
Called in for drinks and food on a hot Sunday afternoon. Great large car-park and outside seating. Staff were polite and took orders swiftly. Had drinks and the homemade soup which was lovely. Must admit the whole place does look rather dated but each to there own.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lara wrote a review Aug 2022
7 contributions2 helpful votes
The wifi wasnt working in my room. The receptionst said she didnt understand wifi and couldnt help.many guests were complaining like me. Our toilet wasnt flushing properly, so had to report that too. No towel rails to hang towels on. Toilet paper holder was on opposite side of bathroom, impossible to reach,! Room was extremely hot even with window wide open,. Very uncomfortble night. Had to getdressed, go right downstairs to use toilet in the bar! They eventually upgraded us to a chalet outside, but it was clear the staff thought I was just a nuisance. At £140 a night, for no toilet or wifi?
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Hancoll81 wrote a review Jul 2022
Hebburn, United Kingdom24 contributions6 helpful votes
Absolutely love this place, it’s authentic and very familiar when we visit we feel at home. They make our dog Bessie feel extremely welcome also which is a huge plus for us! Elaine, David and Paddy are always very welcoming and friendly and can’t do enough, highly recommended this absolute gem!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Very good car park, lovely beer garden
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
welovetravel2013 wrote a review Jul 2022
Derby, United Kingdom211 contributions127 helpful votes
We were here as part of a walking holiday which was not cheap so we expected a better standard of food. The staff were all lovely and very helpful and it is in no way their fault that the owners don't see fit to invest in refurbishing the rooms (although my room was ok I heard from other guests that others left a lot to be desired) or employing a properly trained chef. The food was like school dinners and consisted of very little fresh veg or fruit and lots of repetitive 'stodge' - the final night menu was mince/potatoes/peas or pasta bolognaise (more mince) or vegetarian lasagne (more pasta) and followed the previous evening's mince-fest of beef lasagne and burgers! Breakfast lacked even the basics of muesli and natural yoghurt until we asked for it. On the plus side the packed lunch sandwiches were very tasty. Good location for touring Northumberland and large car park.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Kevin J wrote a review Jun 2022
Cork, Ireland44 contributions14 helpful votes
This is a shabby and sad venue in need of refurbishment and a refreshed decor. In our room we failed to get our window to close and using the toilet need flexibility as it was so cramped.....The menu needs updating coupled with the ability to cook and serve food. Yes, you can “bugger up” fish and chips. My wife’s meal was largely inedible.We had lunch meals elsewhere. Breakfast, we are omnivores but friends who are vegetarian their meals were subject to delay, a shortage of veggie sausages and invariably an incorrect order at both breakfast servings. The concept of vegetarian food seemed not to be understood. The venue was understaffed and we were told that there was only one person in the kitchen. The hotel knew a large group we’re staying for a wedding - elsewhere, happily. This is not a cheap venue and compared to many other hotels we have stayed in around the region, it falls down on the provision of basic service and food quality. Room information sheets, and basic equipment, a hair dryer, would be useful additions. The Tankerville Arms Hotel reflects poorly on the Northumbria hospitality sector and the exciting developments happening in Wooler.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Room Tip: Ask if the window closes properly....otherwise very draughty.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from TheTankerville ArmsHotel, Owner at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
Responded 14 Jun 2022
Thank you for your comments. We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. I can only say that the service you received is an exception and that we do everything we can to make our guests feel welcome, comfortable and well looked after.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CanadaRockies wrote a review Jun 2022
Lewes, United Kingdom13 contributions11 helpful votes
Lovely friendly staff gave us a cheerful welcome but the rooms were tired and dreary - our bed was like sleeping on a piece of wood. The food was grim- grey steaks and lasagne straight from the freezer, with stale prunes at breakfast. Really hard working staff being let down by owners who need to look at what people expect now it’s 2022 and not 1952……
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a bed with a decent mattress!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Terence L wrote a review Jun 2022
Retford, United Kingdom49 contributions27 helpful votes
Arrived late and food just finished..... chef opened up to ensure we got a SUPERB lunch . Very friendly staff and the young lady behind the bar was so pleasant, friendly and helpful. Two local real ales available to wash down the excellent lunch. Chef even came out before going home to ask if we had enjoyed the food....
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
valsean wrote a review Apr 2022
8 contributions4 helpful votes
Arrived with another 7 tired women walkers after a 17 mile stretch of St Cuthberts Way. Very friendly reception and service. Accommodated us for an evening meal although we were not pre booked. Lovely food. We all enjoyed our stay
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
TrailBlazer137218 wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I was a member of the quilting group who spent two nights at the Tankerville. It is the third time we have stayed there. I had a lovely weekend. We had the use of a room for sewing and a small sitting room to meet in the evening. My bedroom was very comfortable and clean and I found the staff friendly and helpful. The food was basic but the weekend was not about the food and we did get everything for a very reasonable price.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$98 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNorthumberlandWooler
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
Which popular attractions are close to Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler?
Nearby attractions include The Chocolate Box (0.6 km) and Tw Brand Of Wooler Ltd (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler?
Conveniently located restaurants include Milan Restaurant, Doddington Dairy Milk Bar, and No. 1 Hotel and Wine Lounge.
Is Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Wooler.
Are pets allowed at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Gefrin (7.7 km) and Maelmin Henge And Trail (7.6 km).