We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pheasant Inn

Hotels.comUS$ 142*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 142*
US$ 142*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Pheasant Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

509 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 508: English reviews
Start your review of The Pheasant Inn
 Click to rate
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A warm welcome, considerate hosts, good sound pub cooking, cosy atmosphere. We had the family room with bunk, not huge amounts of space, but it had all we needed with comfortable bed with immaculate bed linen, tea tray with biscuits, tv, storage, shower room. The pub is in a hamlet of houses about 3 miles from Leaplish park (best for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank c__h2008-12
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Lovely Northumbrian comfort food. Brioche Marmalade Bread and Butter pudding was a delight! 😋 Only 15 minutes away from the Kielder Observatory makes it the perfect location for a pre-stargazing dinner 😊

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zephaniep
Robin K, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us your review.great to hear you enjoyed your pre-Observatory stop off. Some really good nights recently but it can be cold and a hearty dinner is essential. Thanks again.

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Managed to get in for some much needed tea with the family. The staff were pleasant and welcoming, and a new member (Italian i think) was honest enough to say he was learning the ropes so needed some help. That was fine by me and i was glad to assist where i could. The menu was good, not as broad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mr S
Robin K, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, delighted you enjoyed your meal. The game season comes to an end for us early February so prior to that you would expect to see Pheasant,Partridge and Game Pie. We move on to some lighter choices with perhaps some Duck still in evidence. Timothy Taylors Landlord is our house bitter and never lets us down....

United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights as we were visting Kielder Observatory. The rooms are in an adjacent building/annex to the main pub, which is great when you roll in at 0230 am after a dark skies event at the observatory. The room was impeccably clean, lovely thick bathroom tiles, toiletries and coffee/tea. The staff are lovely and very friendly, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatherineH655
Robin K, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After a lovely walk with the dogs at Kielder Forest we called into The Pheasant Inn, we received a very warm and friendly greeting and despite not having pre booked were offered a delightful table, the pub like the staff were absolutely charming, the choice and variety of food was good and the prices very reasonable. We both chose the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alansan
Robin K, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking time to leave us your comments, these are important to us and much appreciated. Thank you again

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

Terrible meal. We read the reviews prior to booking and thought it would be great. Maybe we chose an off night. My duck was so overcooked it resembled pulled pork lol. Cheese souffle was swimming in cheese sauce?? Pudding was the only half decent part of the meal. Don't bother!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annrannard
Robin K, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

I was surprised and genuinely sorry to read your comments, I only wish you had spoken with us when you were dining. The souffle is topped with Northumbrian cheesse and cream before being re-baked but it does need this to give the dish moisture. The Duck is confit so is not pink but should not be dry either. My apologies...

Reviewed 24 March 2017

Apologies for not writing this sooner. I returned with my wife for a two night stay, having previously stayed with my son a couple of years ago, and it was a wonderful break in every sense. The owner and his father made us extremely welcome and the food was 'off the chart' good as I remembered. The room was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pmilly2
Robin K, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, my dad is 82 now and there are not many days he misses. Both he and I are just coming to terms with the loss of our third partner my mum and so its great to know that together with our staff we are still doing a good job. Thanks again

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Thankfully we had booked our table for on this chilly night it appeared that lots of people had sought refuge here. Right from our initial welcome it was evident that we would not be disappointed. The menue was very inviting but we settled for, first course off goats cheese and caralamised onions and double baked cheese soufflé. Mains of sea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goodfoody2015
Robin K, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave us your review, great to hear you enjoyed the food and that you found us so cosy and welcoming. Thanks again

Washington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2017

I stayed here last night with some work colleagues after spending the day at the Calvert Trust in the wind and rain. The pub is lovely, open fires, lovely atmosphere, delicious food and friendly helpful staff.. We were in the family room which was warm and comfortable. I'll definitely come back here, hopefully very soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aunty_Nita
Robin K, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. great to know we are doing a good job it makes the hard work worthwhile.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Good location for Kielder Water. The room was clean,warm and comfortable, the bathroom had a good shower with plenty of hot water. All the staff were polite and attentive. There was a good choice at breakfast and the evening meals were really nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V8665ETMichelle_S
Robin K, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. delighted you enjoyed your break with us.

146 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (39)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stannersburn
23.9 km away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
140 reviews
11.4 km away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
16.8 km away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,068 reviews
16.8 km away
The Black Bull Hotel
0.8 km away
Falstone Barns
Falstone Barns
#4 of 20 in Hexham
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charming 16th-century country inn has exposed stone walls, original beams, low ceilings and open fires. Run by the Kershaws since 1985, the inn was originally a farmhouse and has been refurbished to a very high standard. Using only the finest and freshest locally sourced produce and ingredients some of the house specialties to savour are simply cooked fresh fish, game and mushroom pie and slow roasted Northumbrian lamb. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Address: Stannersburn NE48 1DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Stannersburn
Price Range: ₹ 8,656 - ₹ 11,789 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pheasant Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pheasant Hotel Stannersburn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Pheasant Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Sheffield, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Pheasant Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms upstairs facing North East have stunning views”
Pmilly2, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms are not accessed through the hotel which is handy for late nights after visiting the observatory for example”
V8665ETMichelle_S, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The Pheasant Innhas B&B rooms but if you prefer self catering then you wont be disaapointed with the Garden Cottage.”
Crinan03, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Unsure about other rooms , smallish but well enough for us and we had a view from our ground floor room👍🏻”
silverspanner64, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are only 9 I think, and they are all separate from the pub so no real issue.”
mynameisalwaystaken, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 142* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Expedia.comUS$ 142
TripAdvisorUS$ 142
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates