We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shepherds Rest

Save
Traveller (13)
Dining (3)
Room & Suite (3)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good21%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“the pub”(24 reviews)
“huge portions”(3 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
Pool
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
67
22
3
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
67
22
3
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubhuge portionsfabulous weekendlittle gemfull english breakfastcooked to perfectionhigh standardalnwick gardensfirst classshepardscarveryfacilitiessuzycampervanpubslandlady
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here over the weekend and have to say what a little delight it is. From the minute you walk through the door you are welcomed with a smile. The room is ideal size for a couple having a few nights away. Our bed was...More

Thank martinandsarah2018
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a beautiful hidden little gem. Stayed here for four nights and I could not have been welcomed more being a lone traveller Carole made me feel welcome immediately. My room was spectacular with a kitchen area jacuzzi bath (most welcomed after a days walking)...More

Thank sachel37
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Small, grimy, sordid, ugly room, sloping worn out matresses on narrow beds, cramped bathroom with shower door, toilet seat and open room door knocking against each other, no soap, half a toilet roll, tiny delapidated mirror propped up on minute washing basin, non-functioning light, throughout...More

2  Thank DeirdraNwr
Response from Susan M, Owner at The Shepherds RestResponded 30 September 2017

This is not a 5 star hotel we are a small pub B/B very old building but we love it sorry you had a bad stay but we try and make every one happy Thank you for you comments this is from the owner Thank...More

Reviewed 29 August 2017

Stayed here over the bank holiday weekend in our caravan, had an excellent time. The owners, staff and locals were really friendly and helpful. The pub is simple and traditional, with a good atmosphere and reasonable prices. The campsite is peaceful and relatively small. The...More

Thank Richard B
Response from Susan M, Owner at The Shepherds RestResponded 30 September 2017

Thank you very much hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Booked 2 rooms, checked into our twin room first and very disappointed to find a very shabby room, paper coming away from wall, dirty looking carpets, bathroom very small with nowhere to put anything, no soap and no hand towel on the towel ring, filthy...More

3  Thank LizPrior56
Response from Susan M, Manager at The Shepherds RestResponded 1 August 2017

I am very sorry to here this the rooms are clean and comftable and the showers and toilets are small but we inherited these we will take all concerns on board but if you had concerns it would of been good if you had passed...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Alnwick
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 100 - US$ 159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
US$ 100 - US$ 159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (13)
Dining (3)
Room & Suite (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Biddis
22 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Susan M | Property representative |
Yes we are
0
Votes
EmilyJar
31 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Shepherdsrest12 | Property representative |
Hi I have not got bump beds we r new owners I have a family room we have only had this pub 2 years I haven't had a famly in
1
Vote
ANRYorkshire_England
4 April 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Shepherdsrest12 | Property representative |
I think Bob moved to America but has been seen in Alnwick hope that helps
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Both rooms directly next to the road. Both loud. Double room horrible. The other room probably similar."
Read review
"Do NOT stay at the Shepherds Rest"
Read review
"Every room is good."
Read review
"Nice views."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing