We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

732 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
See the most recent reviews
Showing 725: English reviews
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2016

We booked this hotel well in advance and paid £99 for B&B in an Executive Suite for one night and used as a stopping off point on journey from Scotland to Buckinghamshire. Check in was very smooth, largest hotel room I have ever stayed in, tastefully decorated with complimentary water, orange juice and kit-kat, also a well stocked fridge, crisps,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Philippa H
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

I arrived after having driven for almost 5 hours, through heavy traffic, desperately hungry & thirsty! I was given a wonderfully warm welcome and a very quick & efficient check in. I stayed in an Executive room which was generously sized, modern & perfectly clean with plenty of toiletries, drinks and even a much needed, complimentary Kit-Kat! I ordered a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank belldoodles
Reviewed 13 July 2016

I stayed for one week and every day i enjoyed a different great meal. As i was there for business only i had no chance to get to know the late night hours at the bar, but it seemed like there is quite a lot going on also.... i would recommend it (at least as i didnt have to pay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
Manchester
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We visited this hotel on 8th and 9th July to attend a wedding in the area. Apart from the dreadful roadworks on the A1 the whole experience was a fantastic one. Check in was fast and painless with very friendly and helpful receptionists. Our room on the first floor was very spacious and had everything we could have wanted, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BevnPhil
ruthin
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Pros huge car park and a bit further from the road than some of the other motels so a bit quieter . A health complex and swimming pool on site which you can use. Reasonable size rooms , good bed hard enough for me but too hard for my husband . Phones in room , good bath and shower although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daffyhedgehog
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2016

We were on a tour with Newmarket staying for 3 nights. When we were told our room it was on the ground floor which was good. Unfortunately the 'double bed' seemed to be a 3/4 bed. We were both sleeping right on the edge of the bed it was so small. When we arrived for our evening meal no matter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chaddy1980
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Dear chaddy1980, Thank you for leaving a candid review about our hotel on TripAdvisor. It is with utter regret to know that your experience was not as pleasant as it should have been. I am sorry for not being able to provide a good dining experience. I also apologize for the disappointments you had with the bed and regret the...

Crieff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

It's the little things that count. The tap in the sink in my room was very loose to almost falling into the sink. The breakfast team cannot do poached eggs on toast. They will.poach the ages but you have to make the toast with the challenge of getting them both ready and hot at the same time, seemingly chef can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham_Crieff
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review

Dear Graham_Crieff, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during breakfast. Let us assure you that we want nothing more than to ensure your satisfaction from the time you arrive, up until you leave our property. So we truly appreciate that you have shared...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2016

What a really swanky hotel so pleased we did not stay in b and b in Richmond.The reception team were wonderful and even provided me with hair conditioner which I forgot.The rooms were modern with a fridge and safe had a very comfortable night sleep.After a delicious breakfast used the swimming pool,sauna and steam room.They also provide towels ,the lockers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz h
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Arrived at the hotel in pouring rain but received a very warm welcome from the male receptionist. The hotel is positioned off the A1/M junction with The A66 and although there are roadworks in the area they weren't heard from the modern rooms which are a good size. Wi fi is available free in the room . The hotel has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iandorothy
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and couldn't be more accommodating. On arrival they were quick and efficient to check us in. We stopped here for one night to break up the journey for our newborn baby on our way up to Scotland for a wedding. They were also happy to store my frozen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaurenPatz

175 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotch Corner
17.2 km away
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
18.2 km away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
2,998 reviews
6.0 km away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
1.8 km away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#2 of 8 in Richmond
138 reviews
8.2 km away
Clow Beck House
Clow Beck House
#5 of 21 in Darlington
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Darlington-A1 Scotch Corner is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller. This landmark hotel is on the junction of the A1 and the A66 near Darlington, and close to the towns of Catterick and Stockton-on-Tees with Middlesbrough just a short drive away. Whether you are visiting the area for a business or leisure stay or simply breaking your journey you can be assured a great stay. You will be staying on the doorstep to the breathtaking Yorkshire Dales and the delightful medieval market town of Richmond. If you are staying a little longer you won't be disappointed. The hotel has 91 bedrooms, an Italian Restaurant and leisure facilities adjacent to the hotel for guests which include a pool and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Address: Junction A1 / A66 Richmond Scotch Corner | near Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR, England (Formerly Scotch Corner Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scotch Corner
Price Range: ₹ 3,732 - ₹ 7,398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington a1 Scotch Corner Hotel Scotch Corner
Scotch Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel Scotch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Durham, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Newcastle, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room 132 which was perfect”
 of 5 bubbles robertss309, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 213 like the plague”
 of 5 bubbles 466suw, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to upper rooms”
 of 5 bubbles UKVeniceFan, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Just dont bother going for coffee or a snack”
 of 5 bubbles 604johnnyboy, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“202 was fine”
 of 5 bubbles Latin1954, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5