We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Board Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Board Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 159: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at The Board Inn one Sunday night on our way to Northumberland and for what we were after, it was perfect and very affordable (£80 per room B&B). The staff were lovely and the room was a really decent size for the two of us and our dog. As the pub doesn't serve food on a Sunday evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KimMarchant
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in their smallest room (single). The price was a bargain, the room was spotless and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed the stay. It's perfect for staying overnight while hiking in the area as I did.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haenning
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Popped in after some shopping in hawes. The pub is very welcoming and cosy with a roaring fire and welcomes dogs. We had already eaten but got chatting to a nice couple who had had lunch and they said it was great and it did look good in have to be honest.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paddy S
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Visited The Board Inn on several lunch times. Always found it to have a good selection of food at reasonable prices and the beer is really good. The service is also good. I would recommend this venue to anybody looking for a relaxing pub lunch and of course a nice pint of beer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David A
Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Turned up on Sunday night looking for a room and some grub. Whilst I couldn't fault the pint that was served the barmaid didn't crack a smile, didn't offer us a room (despite one being available on booking.com - haven't these places heard of smartphones?) and couldn't be bothered to offer much advice on an alternative to eat. Maybe it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hedge1963
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2016

The rooms and public areas very nice and clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent and there was lots of choice. We stayed for two nights and would stay again in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carol s
junkeep1, Owner at The Board Inn, responded to this review

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Staff are so friendly and helpful and the rooms are stunning and the most comfortable beds! Wish we could of stayed longer I m sure we will be back next year. And we will be more organised and not just come up for the sale what a beautiful places! 🐑

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn A
junkeep1, Owner at The Board Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay,we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Tickhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2016

4 guys on a walking weekend stayed here last week. Bedrooms, small but clean and comfortable with everything you need. Food good and reasonably priced. A good choice of ales. Staff very friendly and efficient. Must mention the substantial freshly cooked breakfast, kept us going all day !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BillMartin1912
junkeep1, Owner at The Board Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Good was excellent - I had the steak and ale pie for £10, but my mates had the same half portion for £5.50. All I got for the extra cash was a little more pie, no more chips, no more veg. They then used their remaining £4.50 to buy brownie and ice cream. I was understandably very disappointed. Good cosy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R8555HQsimong
junkeep1, Owner at The Board Inn, responded to this review

Think you have reviewed the wrong pub! We don't sell 1/2 portions of pie or chocolate brownies!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

We picked this hotel for dinner for my birthday whilst on a walking holiday around the Hawes area. Very disappointing serve of crumbed plaice which could have come out of a box and been deep fried. Quite different to the description of "lightly dusted with pepper and lemon seasoning etc" with a serve of frozen peas and boiled potatoes. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Millie779

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
1.4 km away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
364 reviews
1.7 km away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
13.7 km away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#5 of 23 in Hawes
219 reviews
0.0 km away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#16 of 23 in Hawes
87 reviews
0.8 km away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#3 of 23 in Hawes
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a traditional, family run pub located in Hawes in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. We offer a relaxed service that will make you feel like part of the family while you unwind and explore the local area. Don't worry, we understand that dogs are part of many families too. Our comfortable accommodation is designed to suit everyone's needs. You don't need to take our word for it; there are pictures of all rooms on this site. While you're with us it's worth taking the time to enjoy one of our Cask Marque ales or a meal, freshly prepared from the best ingredients Wensleydale has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Board Inn

Address: Market Place, Hawes DL8 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hawes
Price Range: ₹ 6,471 - ₹ 7,628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Board Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Board Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Board Inn Hawes, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Board Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Accrington, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Board Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Corner room above the pub offers views down the main street”
 of 5 bubbles tom_humphs, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 is large room with double bed, and overlooks the main street, and hillside beyond.. I would request this room next time”
 of 5 bubbles sc0tt2016, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Front is sunny and onto main road. Rear is looking onto the dales”
 of 5 bubbles Grahamb6468, 24 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Room 5 great as faces front of the hotel on to the main road”
 of 5 bubbles PattiAnn44, 25 Aug 2015 | Read review
“In the bar the toilet is down some steps so difficult if you have mobility problems”
 of 5 bubbles joanne_hobson, 1 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay