We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Crofter's Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Crofter\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 192: English reviews
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel combines professionalism with a friendly service. The recent upgrade to the rooms and on ensuite facilities is most tasteful. Whilst the hotel is always busy the staff have always time to deal with my requirements.

Helpful?
Thank ingnatius
TEL1478, Owner at Crofter's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We have thousands of lovely guests staying throughout the year, many of whom are regular stays, and it is always heartwarming to hear that our efforts are being noticed. I know that it is a real effort to take the time to praise, with sites being used for critical means all too often instead... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016

The duty manager (a young lady) was very helpful and she was acting in many roles. Wifi is free throughout the hotel which is a bonus. The whole hotel is tired and could do with a good revamp and get rid of the awful carpet that runs throughout the whole hotel. Our room (Room 10) was clean but the television... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sirjon30
TEL1478, Owner at Crofter's Hotel, responded to this review

Our oldest Tv is 18 months old but I do realise that technology can be challenging, however hard we try and I am sorry if you were unable to get the channel of your choice on your visit. What a shame you didn't try our lovely tavern before passing judgement, as it is renowned in the area for our home... More 

Travellers are raving about these Garstang hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Hotel is lovely and old . Food fantastic. Lovely lady at breakfast very welcoming couldn't do enough .rooms are lovely and large . But very dusty and shower curtain shocking . Dirty . Top of wardrobe so dusty . Breakfast room curtains at bottom got mould on . Room cleaner leaves keys and room departure list at top of stairs... More 

Helpful?
Thank polly123182
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Stayed at this hotel as it is close to family. Clean and comfortable and great location for visiting the Lakes and Lytham St Annes/Blackpool. Newly fitted bathroom and the room was surprisingly peaceful, considering the size of the hotel. Good atmosphere and food in the pub and the breakfast was excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Geraldine S
TEL1478, Owner at Crofter's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Geraldine for taking the time to review and highlight our new bathroom and great food. I hope to see you again next time you are in the area. kind regards - Nicola - owner More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here bank holiday weekend. At first everything seemed fine until we got to our room. The taps were loose on the sink the shower head was disgusting covered in gunk. Had to clean that before used it & even then no pressure to it was like rain water. Breakfast in morning was disappointing. Wasn't busy but all the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kimpdillon
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Stayed at the Crofters Hotel to attend a wedding evening reception being held there. Whilst the actual event/reception was very good especially the evening buffet and the pleasant staff but.... The room (number 15) was tired,grubby,dated,dusty and not very pleasant at all. The Bathroom was tatty and needed a good clean the fixtures and fittings were old,dirty,full of cobwebs a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenny5988
TEL1478, Owner at Crofter's Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad that you enjoyed the wedding. We do put on a good party! I will have a look into your concerns for you. It is always better to mention something on check in at any hotel and small issues will then not become large. Virtually all of the bathrooms have now been recently replaced on our refurbishment programme.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

What Crofters lacks in facilities it makes up in the helpfulness of the staff and quality of food in the Tavern. The rooms are functional but need investment to match the Premier Inn chain which is in the same market space. A basic place to stopover when heading north.

Helpful?
Thank Howard M
TEL1478, Owner at Crofter's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Howard for your review and I am pleased that the staff were helpful and that you enjoyed the food. We hope that you visit again on your next visit north. kind regards - Nicola, owner More 

Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

MASSIVE thank you, to Nicola and Derek for making our wedding day so special and magical. Everything went to plan and ran so smoothly. Your planning with us and professionalism helped us have our perfect day. The food was absolutely amazing and everyone I have spoke to since has commented on how nice it was. The whole day was magical... More 

Helpful?
Thank samanthalouise85
TEL1478, Owner at Crofter's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fab review. We love doing weddings and I am so pleased that you had a great day as you do make a lovely couple. many thanks, Nicola - owner More 

Blackpool
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2016

I always read reviews before booking any accommodation but had a few reservations about this hotel but went ahead with booking it anyway. There are plenty of parking spaces. on entering the hotel the receptionist was very friendly and even offered to see if our room was ready even though we decided to walk into Garstang first. Our room was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kaz1061
TEL1478, General Manager at Crofter's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kaz1061, Thanks for highlighting our friendly staff and large rooms and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Most of our guests ask for the eggs that they require and we are always happy to poach, scramble or fry. All our breakfasts are cooked to order so that they are hot and fresh, rather than lukewarm bain maries,... More 

Melrose, Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Stayed here last weekend. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was VERY average. Staff friendly enough but not the most efficient. The outside seating area was dirty with uncleared ashtrays and cigarette ends all over the decking. NOT the best. Problem is if you need to stay in Garstang there is nowhere else.

Helpful?
1 Thank georgie0
TEL1478, Owner at Crofter's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Georgie0, Thanks for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed your bedroom. Our breakfasts are cooked to order, with guests being able to order their requirements following cereal, juices, yoghurts, fruit, toast and unlimited tea and coffee. We are able to keep our prices down to the lowest in the area and do try as a family... More 

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garstang
2.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre
7.2 km away
Premier Inn Preston North Hotel
17.8 km away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#5 of 7 in Lancaster
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#4 of 15 in Preston
585 reviews
15.3 km away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
287 reviews
13.1 km away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#10 of 15 in Preston
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small family owned hotel, ideally situated for Preston, Lancaster, Blackpool and the Lake District. We have an on site free-house Tavern, with home cooked, award winning food, function room to accommodate conferences, weddings and parties and a team of lovely friendly staff. We are able to organise golf trips, cheese factory visits, walking tours and even skydiving. Although all our bedrooms are on the first floor and we don't have a lift, we are always happy to help with bags. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crofter's Hotel

Address: Crofters Hotel Garstang By-Pass Road, Garstang PR3 1PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Garstang
Price Range: ₹ 4,091 - ₹ 7,569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crofter's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crofter's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crofters Hotel Garstang
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crofter's Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Crofter's Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not have a room facing the main road - the rear rooms are very quite.”
 of 5 bubbles Sirjon30, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
  • shower head resting against a broken hanging off soap dish Water just dripped out of this
  • Dirty/dusty windows
  • Dirt and grime behind sink
  • Patched up Bath panels
  • Filthy heated towel rail
  • Bottom of kettle!
  • Broken mirror
 of 5 bubbles Jenny5988, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at back are quietist”
 of 5 bubbles georgie0, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“One at the front, such stunning views”
 of 5 bubbles pur31pon, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 was good.”
 of 5 bubbles Lathan1, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay