We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

647 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 646: English reviews
Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
133 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Needing a hotel near Rochdale we found this very pleasant solution. The hotel is well placed for views & some peace. There seemed tobe a little slow on check-in, but soon found out that the hotel had lost all communication from the world, due to very, very heavy rainfall a fews days before, in fact damaging 2 cars when trees... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neil03091947
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Can't fault this hotel. Had a great stay and loved the lounge area. Very cosy and authentic. Nice to see the history of a place being preserved. Food great, staff friendly and rooms very comfy. Will definitely stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Simon B
St.Paul, MN, USA
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant has great food for a reasonable price. The hotel is located on the bluff with a great view. The hotel and rooms are well maintained with the antique feel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank amandamN341UT
HtrappGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review of our hotel, I am delighted you had an excellent stay with us and you enjoyed the charm of our country hotel. We would love to welcome you back in the future, Warm Regards Jamie Proctor General Manager More 

Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Disappointing considering rated top hotel in Burnley. Small room for so many guests, not enough tables and chairs for everyone, average buffet, small portions of meat pie and desserts. Pretty average really.

Helpful?
Thank 24Senior24
HtrappGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, I am sorry you were underwhelmed by your experience. The seating plan was prearranged with the Bride & Groom and second helpings of the buffet are always offered to the guests. We did receive excellent feedback from the Bride & Groom, but we thank you for your comments, we welcome all feedback to continuously improve our... More 

Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just back from staying at the Higher Trapp again, all 17 of us had an amazing time again....trust me you will not be disappointed with this hotel or it's fabulous staff members. We are a family group that travel on weekends away together quite a bit....our ages ranging from 10 to 82......and before we left yesterday we all booked to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emer E
HtrappGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us. I am absolutely delighted to read your positive feedback, and I will be passing this onto all the team that served you during your stay. Ray, Sheila, Jess, Ann and the rest of the team all work extremely hard to offer our guests a fantastic experience... More 

Beaminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Quite a find to be close to motorways but still in the countryside surrounded by fields, close to Pendle Hill. Originally would have been an interesting old house but it has been (I think) over modernised under the Best Western branding, with little left. Unfortunately when we visited (midweek) there was a lively Wedding on which rather took over the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rauma
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

attended a wedding at this hotel this weekend and whist the venue / setting is great, I have to say that at a rate of £100.00 per night the rooms / bathrooms are tired / dated and in need of a upgrade The staff were very friendly and helpful and did their best to make the wedding a success, but... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steven T
East Lancs
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Four of us had a birthday lunch today. We were very warmly welcomed both at reception and in the dining room. Everyone looked happy and made us feel relaxed. We chose from the lunch offer and it represented excellent value for money as well as being well presented, plentiful and tasty. Two had gammon, one had cheese pie and another... More 

Helpful?
Thank EastLancsExplorer
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A weekend break was spent here. Not far from Burnley and the motorway. Easy access to Pendle hills and the Witches.Plenty of local walking available. Friendly staff and good restaurant a nice warm atmosphere.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andy A
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,153 reviews
274 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 613 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Probably not the best time of year to enjoy what they have to offer and when the Winter does come I'd be concerned about getting in or out on an icy morning. Generally a bit dated throughout the public areas and bedroom. Also some noise from Fitzys below my room (hand dryer from toilets for example). Other than that a... More 

Helpful?
Thank sleep007

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnley
6.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
5.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Burnley
7.3 km away
Premier Inn Burnley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
7.0 km away
Rosehill House Hotel
Rosehill House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Burnley
286 reviews
6.7 km away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel

Address: Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Trapp Lane | Simonstone, Burnley BB12 7QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Burnley
Price Range: ₹ 4,651 - ₹ 8,002 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Burnley
Burnley Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Stroud, United Kingdom
Shaw, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 8 great views.”
 of 5 bubbles Neil03091947, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The lodge is just as good as the main hotel however it is a little walk across the car park”
 of 5 bubbles emere2013, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No lift, so check if there are rooms on the ground floor if you need to.”
 of 5 bubbles Rauma, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room nice but none of the well publicized views, ours was of a hedge a few feet away! ”
 of 5 bubbles Jacqui13Blackpool, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Aim for one in the main house overlooking the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles 286mauricea, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay