We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Continental

Booking.comUS$ 110*
View Deal
May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 110*
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
Panoramas (96)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

410 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 405: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Continental
 Click to rate
Gravesend
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Hotel Continental is a lovely place for a short break, well decorated throughout the room was bright and airy with the added bonus of a small balcony. Although small, they were perfectly formed! The shower was a disappointment however there was a bath which made a nice change! The service was good and the food was excellent, with generous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your comments. Kind regards

Canberra
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Continental is set right on the water and we were fortunate to have a view directly onto the water from the top floor. However it is a long rambling walk up quite a few steps (no lift) to get there. The hotel is a delightful old-style hotel that has been tastefully renovated (in our case with a walk-in shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KandTCanberra
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay. Best wishes

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took the kids to Whitstable for a couple of days. Booked the Continental as my partner and I had enjoyed one of the Fishermen's huts many years ago. Lovely 3 adjoining rooms and terrific choice at breakfast - everything to keep even the fussiest eaters happy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SarahLM007
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

It's lovely to hear you and your family enjoyed your break at the hotel, particularly the breakfast. Best wishes

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Helpful staff, comfortable hotel with great atmosphere. Local beers and fish, and a great breakfast. Just what you need when away from home. Lovely rooms, and if you get one at the front, you'll have a treat with the sea view.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback from your recent stay. We are really pleased you enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere at the hotel and found the staff to be helpful. Kind regards

London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I came here with my daughter, reasonably priced, nice room, perfect location, quiet, wonderful view, very friendly and accommodating staff made for a great stay, good restaurant, decent breakfast, i'll definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan086
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

It's great to hear you and your daughter had a peaceful stay and enjoyed your meals in the restaurant. Best wishes

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After spending a night here, I have to say I have mixed opinions. The room was nice worthy of a 3 star. The food and staff were very nice worthy of a 5 star but the huge let down was that there is next to no water pressure in the shower. Totally not acceptable and something seriously needs to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Travel_999
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the food and staff. We apologise for the low water pressure in your shower, we are aware that this a problem in some rooms and are working to improve this. Kind regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel for a 3 day break. The location is amazing - right on the beach. Lovely, chilled out ambience in the bar and bistro. Good quality food. Small but spotless room. A short walk from really good restaurants. £3 in a cab from railway station.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be well located. Best wishes

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very very tiny room and dispite booking a medium room when I checked on website they had in fact given us a cheaper room than rate paid parking is an issue if you plan to stay for a few days and go for walks you have to move your car before 8am unless you are lucky enough to be given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hollie666
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Parking permits are available and offered to all of our guests at check-in. The permits are valid from 1pm on the day of arrival and until 1pm on the day of departure. We have 2 car parks, one behind the hotel and the other just around the corner. Parking is allocated on a first come first serve basis and is...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Our room was very small. You could only just get around the bed. The balcony was far larger than the room! Staff were friendly and helpful to us although they were not flexible to guests arriving even 10 minutes before check in time. Night porter dealt with fire alarm evacuation at 3am really well. It is reassuring that the system...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

It's great to hear you had a good stay although sorry to hear you had to evacuate at 3am. I will pass your kind comments on to our night porter about how well this was dealt with. Some of our rooms are larger than others so it is worth ringing the hotel directly for advice if you require a larger...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Smart boutique hotel with good food and attentive staff. Refurbishment has produced comfortable modern rooms with lovely little touches. Only low water pressure for showers lets it down but it was adequate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sgp54321
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay. Kind regards

618 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (65)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (505)
Viewed
Deluxe Sea View Room (31)
Viewed
Deluxe Sea View Room (With Balcony) (31)
Viewed
Family Non Sea View Room (45)
Viewed
Fisherman's Hut 10 (Two Double Bed Sea View) (65)
Viewed
Fisherman's Hut 5 (Two Adults Two Children) (53)
Viewed
Fisherman's Hut Andersons Shed (Family Sea View) (78)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
Retro Apartment (Penny Lodge) (85)
Viewed
Small Non Sea View Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
0.8 km away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
817 reviews
3.4 km away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
358 reviews
2.7 km away
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 km away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
661 reviews
7.9 km away
Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel
10.0 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Hotel Continental Restaurant
Hotel Continental Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, International
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Continental is the only hotel in Whitstable that enjoys a seafront location within 5 mins walk of the centre of the town. The rooms are currently undergoing a major refurbishment so be sure to ask reception for details. We also manage the very popular Fisherman's Huts accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: 29 Beach Walk, Whitstable CT5 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Price Range: ₹ 6,880 - ₹ 14,341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Whitstable
Hotel Continental Whitstable, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Continental staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Continental staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea views are nice but other rooms are also very good value, and the sea is spectacular from the dining room and bar area.”
Y3555KVdebbiec, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for a water view.”
KandTCanberra, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We chose the cheapest room, it was really small.”
955AmandaC, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra for a sea view!”
sgp54321, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pay extra for sea views”
816malcolmp, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 110* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Hotwire.com
TripAdvisorUS$ 110
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates