We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Continental

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Continental
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

393 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 388: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Continental
 Click to rate
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed at the Continental whilst I Whitstable and it was very positive. The staff were friendly, very welcoming and the staff were excellent. Room was a good size and the breakfast was excellent. Only negative was the very weak shower.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugDW
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely clean hotel with superb views out to sea. Right on the seafront and a short walk into the main part of Whitstable with choices of different pubs and restaurants. Rooms have been refurbished and are nice and clean. Staff are very friendly and breakfast was very good. Small car park to the back which is a bonus. It's a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Thank you for positive comments. It's lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes

Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for three nights as a couple. Told on arrival had been upgraded to Room 12. It was very warm and cosy, but a bit of a challenge storage-wise as were staying more than one night. Not much of a view and am guessing the "family rooms" were above us, as sounded like a troupe of Irish dancers had moved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacky M
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave comments regarding your recent stay. We apologise that it was not entirely peaceful but it's great to hear you enjoyed the food and views. Best wishes

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Lovely sea view room (3) recently renovated, well appointed,but the shower was neither hot or sufficiently strong for a decent wash. Disappointing really given so much about the hotel was spot on. Nice staff good breakfast great location.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stuart r
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to leave a review of your stay. It's good to hear there are aspects of your stay that you enjoyed. We apologise about the shower, it is something we are aware of and are currently working towards rectifying. Best wishes

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed in room 17, which is a nice room overall. However, what lets this hotel down is the staff, who are not at all welcoming. As for the room, no toiletries and the shower was a dribble at best. When I mentioned (note, I did not complain, merely mentioned) that the shower wasn't working all I got was "oh, nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KAK12
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and apologise that you did not consider your stay to be good value for money. We generally receive very positive feedback about our staff, in particular how friendly they are, so it is surprising to hear that this was not your experience. Best wishes.

Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Love the Hotel! Newly refurbished to a high standard. Great friendly staff and the breakfast was amazing. Only issue was that the room we had 17 was a box room not suitable in my opinion for a couple. It was clean and tidy ,Ok for getting your head down for the night? But definitely not a short break room. Also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ironman2626
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We do have larger rooms available and reception would be happy to advise on which room would be most suitable if you are planning a longer stay. The water pressure is a problem that we are aware of and are working towards rectifying. Kind regards.

London
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely pre-Christmas stay here, 3 nights. We stayed in room number 7 with a balcony overlooking the sea, cute room with wooden floors and comfy (although a bit soft) bed. Staff are so friendly and happy - always greeting you with a smile. Fab breakfast and cosy bar downstairs too. We'll definitely come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HelenaHLondon
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay in room 7. Best wishes.

Wormshill
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We stayed in the family room for 5. The room was very well laid out, comfortable and very well equipped. The staff were all very friendly and the night porter was very helpful when my husband needed letting into our room in the early hours of the morning after giving someone a lift to hospital and back! The windows would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happyshopper65
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We arrived early on Boxing Day and were given a parking permit. Enjoyed a post Christmas stretch of legs to Herne Bay and back (approx 6/7 miles return) with a pit stop at the Hampton Inn - (highly recommended). Checked in to Room 2: clean, comfortable, lots of storage, nicely decorated. Overlooked the quiet side road and could see the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roserose3
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay, particularly the breakfast. The jams are locally sourced from a small company in a nearby village called Wye. We are aware of the problem with the water pressure and are working towards rectifying it. Many thanks.

Reviewed 1 December 2016

Had eaten here before but never stayed. Had lovely (compact but functional) delux sea view room with terrace. Nice and clean, decent sized bathroom, very cute, would stay again. Staff all friendly. Had mussels in restaurant - excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian F
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay and meal in the restaurant. Kind regards

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
0.8 km away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
806 reviews
3.4 km away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
334 reviews
2.7 km away
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 km away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
639 reviews
7.9 km away
Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel
10.0 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Hotel Continental Restaurant
Hotel Continental Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, International
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Continental is the only hotel in Whitstable that enjoys a seafront location within 5 mins walk of the centre of the town. The rooms are currently undergoing a major refurbishment so be sure to ask reception for details. We also manage the very popular Fisherman's Huts accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: 29 Beach Walk, Whitstable CT5 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Price Range: ₹ 7,022 - ₹ 14,712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Whitstable
Hotel Continental Whitstable, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Continental staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Continental staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a sea view room with decent water pressure”
 of 5 bubbles stuartr271, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sea view room was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 17”
 of 5 bubbles ilove2travelalways, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a deluxe room or a full sea view not partial or both if you can!”
 of 5 bubbles Nik48, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“sleep on the beach”
 of 5 bubbles TerryNewmarket, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5