We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Salutation

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Salutation
The Salutation
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

404 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 404: English reviews
Start your review of The Salutation
 Click to rate
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

No regrets about choosing the Salutation for my birthday treat. An amazing building and gardens that are truely enchanting. Staff were all dedicated and charming as more than willing to sort out some query needs. Can't really give 5 stars as the plumbing in our en suite had an inexplicable fault hence no hot water and overall poor heating. Great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
Dartford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stunning house, set in beautiful gardens in the heart of Sandwich. We stayed for 2 nights in a large room called Gertrude, recently refurbished, with modern walk in shower and huge bed. Homemade shortbread left in room with the tea and coffee facilities. Lovely views of the gardens out of double aspect windows. Breakfast on both morning s was superb...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stapleman
Whittlebury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely setting, very friendly staff, this place could be amazing but some eye to detail required in the rooms,bar and dining area. Also some local information regarding where to go and what to see in the local area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JL1008
surrey
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Spent one night at the Salutation for my 50th Birthday treat. Called ahead to check if we had a bath in our room, staff informed me that there was only a shower but were more than happy to change our room to the William room. The room and bathroom were amazing. Disappointed that the restaurant was closed and would like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank angel32
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

What a fantastic couple and stunning place. There is a genuinely lovely atmosphere here and I wish I was closer so I could visit again and again. Very friendly hosts and facilities are second to none.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emmalizi
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Firstly one cannot deny what a beautiful house in an outstanding setting, within a stunning town. Secondly one cannot deny the service by the management. However we were suprised at the lady bird colony living in the bathroom, although the lady bird may not be considered a "dirty" bug, they still have no place en mass in such an establishment?...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mooman1
Dartford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We stayed here for one night as a birthday treat. A few weeks before we received an email informing us that due to the Kitchen being refurbished the restaurant was closed so we booked a table at The George & Dragon in Fisher Street about a 10min walk. We had booked the Gertrude room and was informed that it and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chromedome183
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017

A birthday treat turned nightmare. We were not informed at point of booking or in the long run in-between booking and stay that the restaurant was closed. Having booked particularly to experience the hotel in particular a meal out in the local pub was not what we had driven over 2 hours for. The receptionist was understanding and agreed that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LisaCheek
jonl70, Guest Relations Manager at The Salutation, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to post your comments . Since 1st December 2016, a new management team has been in place at The Salutation and a full scale refurbishment is also underway. We are extremely disappointed to hear that your experience here in back in October did not meet your expectations, and that you did not enjoy your birthday...

Essex, England
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We stayed for one night but wished we had stayed for longer. Having read some unfavourable reviews we were a little concerned as to what we might find but we were thrilled with our whole experience. We stayed in William which we understand was the best room in the house overlooking the lovely gardens, and it didn't disappoint with its...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KathrynandKarl
London
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed in knight rider cottage with my partner and friends, such a treat. The views from the cottage are beautiful, we looked on to the frosty gardens and the church in sandwich. Knightrider cottage is stunning, and worked well for us as a group. We went out to eat in sandwich, a lovely town. And had drinks afterwards in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fashionchic99

798 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (265)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (146)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (498)
Viewed
Extreme Luxury Double Room (33)
Viewed
Extreme Luxury Double Room (Bath and Shower) (33)
Viewed
Luxury Double Room (30)
Viewed
Luxury King Room (Front) (37)
Viewed
Luxury King Room (Rear) (37)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (102)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Cottage (140)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Cottage (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
0.2 km away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandwich
657 reviews
0.4 km away
Fleur de Lis Hotel & Restaurant
8.5 km away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
491 reviews
2.5 km away
The Lodge at Princes Golf Club
3.3 km away
Goss Hall Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Salutation is perhaps one of the finest places to stay in Kent. With eight new beautiful bedrooms in the Salutation manor house and nine beautiful bedrooms within three charming self-contained cottages which feature a fully-fitted kitchen, spacious living areas and a complimentary bar, The Salutation accommodation provides a truly bespoke, relaxing and eloquent stay. Every room is furnished with duck down pillows and duvets and sumptuous Egyptian cotton sheets for a relaxing night's stay, and many overlook the glorious three-and-a-half acres of Lutyens and Jekyll gardens. Expect nothing but the highest standards and exceptional service when staying at any one of the properties and enjoy full access to The award-winning Secret Gardens of Sandwich, located to the rear of the main house. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Salutation

Address: The Salutation Knightrider Street | Kent, Sandwich CT13 9EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sandwich
Price Range: ₹ 10,366 - ₹ 27,211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salutation 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Salutation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salutation Sandwich, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Salutation staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Salutation staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Speak to the staff they are very accommodating to guests requirements”
angel32, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The top floor rooms give an excellent view of the grounds”
chromedome183, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Henry room is lovely”
jennotwork, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check which floor your on.”
carolv91, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose somewhere else until new management in place.”
Josh049, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5